By major · African-American Studies
Where can your student actually get into African-American studies?
In 2022-23, 147 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in African-American studies, 20 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of California-Los Angeles, with 25 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 150 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's African-American studies program: 147 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 2 more report an African-American studies admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Los Angeles (25), University of Virginia-Main Campus (19), University of North Carolina at Charlotte (16).
- 23 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State University-Long Beach — African-American Studies, Fall 2025: 45 applied, 22 admitted (48.9%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Dominguez Hills — 90.9% (22 applied, 20 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Brooklyn College, $3,103 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (23 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
African-American Studies, Fall 2025: 45 applied, 22 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
African-American Studies, Fall 2025: 22 applied, 20 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 45 applied, 22 admitted
impacted
|
African-American/Black Studies
8 graduates
|
48.9% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 53 applied, 32 admitted · admit GPA 3.66–4.07
|
African-American/Black Studies
8 graduates
|
60% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 71 applied, 44 admitted
impacted
|
African-American/Black Studies
7 graduates
|
62.0% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 18 applied, 13 admitted
|
African-American/Black Studies
15 graduates
|
72.2% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 13 applied, 10 admitted
|
— | 76.9% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 24 applied, 19 admitted
impacted
|
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
79.2% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 52 applied, 43 admitted · admit GPA 3.25–3.79
|
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
83% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 20 applied, 17 admitted
impacted
|
— | 85.0% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 32 applied, 29 admitted
|
African-American/Black Studies
13 graduates
|
90.6% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
African-American Studies
Fall 2025: 22 applied, 20 admitted
|
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
90.9% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
25 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
University of Virginia-Main Campus
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
19 graduates
|
— | 17% | $21,565 | $39,926 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
16 graduates
|
— | 80% | $15,435 | $23,010 | — |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
12 graduates
|
— | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | — |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | — |
|
CUNY Lehman College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
10 graduates
|
— | 55% | $3,148 | $14,121 | — |
|
Georgia State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
10 graduates
|
— | 62% | $15,931 | $28,241 | — |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
10 graduates
|
— | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | — |
|
Amherst College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 10% | $23,367 | $87,640 | — |
|
State University of New York at New Paltz
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 59% | $18,809 | $28,428 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 90% | $10,965 | $21,373 | — |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
Howard University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 35% | $50,539 | $54,630 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | — |
|
Smith College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 20% | $27,579 | $86,030 | — |
|
University of Memphis
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 93% | $12,397 | $25,169 | — |
|
Oberlin College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 33% | $38,645 | $87,404 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 19% | $11,655 | $26,055 | — |
|
Brandeis University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 35% | $35,736 | $86,448 | — |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | — |
|
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 6% | $29,519 | $87,793 | — |
|
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 21% | $13,739 | $23,970 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
Princeton University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 4% | $6,128 | $84,040 | — |
|
Rutgers University-Newark
NJ · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,703 | $35,654 | — |
|
SUNY Oneonta
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 70% | $19,158 | $28,821 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | — |
|
The University of Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,420 | $33,382 | — |
|
Washington University in St Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 12% | $21,786 | $88,488 | — |
|
Boston College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 16% | $41,704 | $89,493 | — |
|
Gettysburg College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 48% | $31,490 | $81,960 | — |
|
Lake Forest College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 59% | $28,673 | $70,655 | — |
|
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 9% | $37,050 | $84,374 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
Tufts University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 10% | $39,998 | $88,300 | — |
|
University at Albany
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 70% | $17,167 | $28,802 | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | — |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | — |
|
University of Puget Sound
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 76% | $38,394 | $78,378 | — |
|
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 77% | $21,440 | $34,321 | — |
|
Yale University
CT · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 4% | $23,777 | $88,300 | — |
|
Bates College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 13% | $29,351 | $83,532 | — |
|
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 38% | $21,620 | $30,345 | — |
|
Cleveland State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 96% | $14,764 | $27,159 | — |
|
Emory University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 11% | $22,585 | $83,622 | — |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | — |
|
Georgetown University
DC · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 13% | $40,815 | $88,741 | — |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | — |
|
Indiana University-Indianapolis
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $11,668 | $23,316 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Mount Holyoke College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 38% | $26,441 | $84,926 | — |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
University of Maryland-Baltimore County
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 74% | $16,467 | $28,576 | — |
|
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 6% | $28,699 | $89,028 | — |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
Wellesley College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 14% | $25,496 | $86,290 | — |
|
American University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 47% | $41,943 | $76,058 | — |
|
Berea College
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 33% | $6,106 | $60,718 | — |
|
CUNY Brooklyn College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 54% | $3,103 | $14,151 | — |
|
Chicago State University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 40% | $12,335 | $29,764 | — |
|
Claflin University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $17,800 | $33,530 | — |
|
College of Charleston
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,960 | $32,362 | — |
|
DePaul University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 74% | $30,902 | $63,052 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Hampshire College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 70% | $24,034 | $74,195 | — |
|
Knox College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $24,595 | $68,134 | — |
|
Metropolitan State University of Denver
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 99% | $15,327 | $24,622 | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
Portland State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 91% | $9,552 | $21,590 | — |
|
Rutgers University-Camden
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 78% | $18,745 | $35,178 | — |
|
SUNY Brockport
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $16,353 | $26,046 | — |
|
SUNY College at Geneseo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 64% | $18,211 | $27,709 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Stony Brook University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 49% | $18,784 | $30,539 | — |
|
Swarthmore College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 7% | $23,149 | $84,103 | — |
|
Syracuse University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 42% | $38,793 | $84,517 | — |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | — |
|
University of Alabama at Birmingham
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,749 | $28,145 | — |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | — |
|
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 88% | $25,648 | $32,171 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | — |
|
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,851 | $34,391 | — |
|
University of Louisville
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $17,988 | $32,941 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | — |
|
University of Mississippi
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 98% | $13,314 | $28,660 | — |
|
University of Northern Colorado
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 86% | $17,760 | $29,254 | — |
|
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 36% | $29,278 | $85,962 | — |
|
University of South Carolina-Columbia
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,811 | $31,638 | — |
|
Vanderbilt University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 6% | $15,846 | $89,590 | — |
|
Wesleyan University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 17% | $30,177 | $89,020 | — |
|
Arizona State University Digital Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 64% | — | — | — |
|
Bennington College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 48% | $30,947 | $87,284 | — |
|
CUNY York College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 59% | $4,456 | $14,330 | — |
|
Clemson University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 38% | $22,253 | $35,015 | — |
|
Coe College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $18,745 | $67,372 | — |
|
College of Staten Island CUNY
NY · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | — | $5,579 | — | — |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | — |
|
Denison University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $40,007 | $81,900 | — |
|
Drew University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $24,280 | $65,301 | — |
|
Earlham College
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $24,714 | $67,684 | — |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | — |
|
Guilford College
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 84% | $22,270 | $55,689 | — |
|
Harvard University
MA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 4% | $19,066 | $85,540 | — |
|
Indiana State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 92% | $10,873 | $24,535 | — |
|
Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $19,151 | $34,705 | — |
|
Mercer University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 66% | $23,847 | $58,204 | — |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | — |
|
Middlebury College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $31,483 | $85,880 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
Rhodes College
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 50% | $28,585 | $71,136 | — |
|
Saint Louis University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 82% | $24,398 | $71,932 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | — |
|
State University of New York at Cortland
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 51% | $22,345 | $28,108 | — |
|
Stockton University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 88% | $20,670 | $35,139 | — |
|
The College of Wooster
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $23,458 | $75,656 | — |
|
University of Central Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $16,511 | $25,029 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
University of Houston
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $14,276 | $26,185 | — |
|
University of Illinois Chicago
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 78% | $10,974 | $27,521 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Boston
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 83% | $17,707 | $30,544 | — |
|
University of Miami
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 18% | $37,244 | $86,078 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Dearborn
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 59% | $9,492 | $24,040 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | — |
|
University of Nebraska at Omaha
NE · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $13,441 | $21,120 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $10,359 | $19,638 | — |
|
University of Notre Dame
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 12% | $26,780 | $83,271 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
William Paterson University of New Jersey
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 92% | $18,745 | $28,476 | — |
|
Winston-Salem State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
African-American/Black Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $13,479 | $23,147 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/african-american-studies, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a African-American studies applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 147 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359