By major · History Teacher Education
Where can your student actually get into history teacher education?
In 2022-23, 107 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in history teacher education, none of them in California. The biggest program that year was Kennesaw State University, with 33 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 107 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's history teacher education program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Kennesaw State University (33), Appalachian State University (26), Northern Arizona University (26).
- No college in California offers this program in our data. California is the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into a major, so no page-level admit rate is available for this one.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Lehman College, $3,148 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (0 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Kennesaw State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
33 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,048 | $24,008 | — |
|
Appalachian State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
26 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,836 | $23,169 | — |
|
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
26 graduates
|
— | 91% | $14,158 | $29,933 | — |
|
Utah Valley University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
26 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
25 graduates
|
— | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Idaho
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
21 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $15,246 | — |
|
University of Illinois Chicago
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
19 graduates
|
— | 78% | $10,974 | $27,521 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
17 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
University of Central Oklahoma
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
16 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,309 | $26,392 | — |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
15 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Reno
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
13 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,927 | $25,786 | — |
|
Wichita State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
12 graduates
|
— | 95% | $13,194 | $21,780 | — |
|
Boise State University
ID · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
10 graduates
|
— | 84% | $21,610 | $28,224 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
10 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
10 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
9 graduates
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
Valley City State University
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
9 graduates
|
— | 69% | $11,890 | $20,468 | — |
|
Weber State University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
9 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
CUNY Lehman College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
8 graduates
|
— | 55% | $3,148 | $14,121 | — |
|
Montana State University Billings
MT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
8 graduates
|
— | — | $16,524 | — | — |
|
Northern State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
8 graduates
|
— | 93% | $15,812 | $22,077 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
8 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | — |
|
Ottawa University-Kansas City
KS · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Shorter University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | 97% | $16,646 | $35,726 | — |
|
Buena Vista University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,846 | $54,222 | — |
|
College of Staten Island CUNY
NY · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | — | $5,579 | — | — |
|
Pittsburg State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 88% | — | $22,099 | — |
|
Roger Williams University
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 88% | $37,999 | $61,950 | — |
|
University of Arkansas-Fort Smith
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 82% | — | $19,048 | — |
|
Augustana College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 68% | $22,736 | $63,553 | — |
|
Eastern Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 78% | $11,040 | $23,735 | — |
|
Emmanuel University
GA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | — | $20,925 | — | — |
|
McMurry University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 58% | $19,581 | $43,778 | — |
|
Morningside University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 71% | $31,320 | $52,577 | — |
|
Northwest Nazarene University
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 63% | $29,580 | $55,163 | — |
|
Providence College
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 49% | $48,523 | $80,466 | — |
|
Saint Ambrose University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 73% | $24,691 | $51,141 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
University of Jamestown
ND · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 94% | $19,567 | $38,013 | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 53% | $9,175 | — | — |
|
Bryan College-Dayton
TN · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | — | $20,614 | — | — |
|
Culver-Stockton College
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 98% | $21,983 | $44,112 | — |
|
DePaul University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 74% | $30,902 | $63,052 | — |
|
Nevada State University
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 86% | $14,068 | $23,718 | — |
|
Saint Norbert College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 92% | $26,172 | $59,422 | — |
|
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | — | $7,051 | — | — |
|
University of Mobile
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 72% | $22,382 | $41,115 | — |
|
Colorado Christian University
CO · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | — | $29,500 | — | — |
|
Howard Payne University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 68% | $23,627 | $46,766 | — |
|
Marist College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 65% | $41,544 | $67,574 | — |
|
Our Lady of the Lake University
TX · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | — | $16,442 | — | — |
|
Piedmont University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 93% | $20,599 | $46,801 | — |
|
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,192 | — | — |
|
Reinhardt University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 55% | $24,425 | $46,386 | — |
|
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 100% | $14,459 | $23,334 | — |
|
The University of Montana-Western
MT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | — | $16,558 | — | — |
|
University of Evansville
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 78% | $18,499 | $57,451 | — |
|
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 95% | $26,106 | $46,874 | — |
|
Valparaiso University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,578 | $58,437 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Williams Baptist University
AR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 59% | $15,745 | $33,597 | — |
|
Wingate University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 85% | $20,748 | $57,473 | — |
|
Albion College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,301 | $69,986 | — |
|
Cairn University-Langhorne
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 84% | $27,642 | $46,233 | — |
|
Calvin University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $22,992 | $54,222 | — |
|
Campbell University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 94% | $24,516 | $62,187 | — |
|
College of the Ozarks
MO · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 15% | $6,100 | $33,734 | — |
|
Hobe Sound Bible College
FL · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | $12,074 | — | — |
|
Ottawa University-Online
KS · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Ottawa University-Surprise
AZ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 40% | $33,393 | $52,170 | — |
|
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | $11,117 | — | — |
|
Saint Joseph's College of Maine
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $27,555 | $59,782 | — |
|
Saint Joseph's University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 86% | $29,689 | $67,954 | — |
|
Texas Lutheran University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 95% | $24,654 | $50,002 | — |
|
Texas Wesleyan University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 62% | $24,066 | $57,451 | — |
|
Tiffin University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $26,500 | $48,004 | — |
|
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | $7,646 | — | — |
|
Waynesburg University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,235 | $44,397 | — |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | — |
|
Widener University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 84% | $25,759 | $70,621 | — |
|
York University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,951 | $34,268 | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Hawaii
HI · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 38% | $16,774 | $25,098 | — |
|
Cornerstone University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 73% | $20,301 | $42,043 | — |
|
Dominican University New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $41,832 | $47,802 | — |
|
Ferrum College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 100% | $20,082 | $54,526 | — |
|
Hardin-Simmons University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $19,555 | $45,904 | — |
|
Hastings College
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $24,452 | $51,422 | — |
|
Holy Family University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $13,143 | $40,539 | — |
|
Hope College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $27,182 | $55,646 | — |
|
Houston Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 85% | $20,629 | $50,082 | — |
|
King University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $22,347 | $49,004 | — |
|
Lakeland University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $24,212 | $48,840 | — |
|
Lee University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 72% | $18,878 | $35,688 | — |
|
Maryville College
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 66% | $19,360 | $54,622 | — |
|
MidAmerica Nazarene University
KS · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $32,165 | $57,355 | — |
|
Minot State University
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 72% | $12,703 | $19,339 | — |
|
Northern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $14,085 | $27,841 | — |
|
Ohio Wesleyan University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 51% | $20,897 | $68,424 | — |
|
Oklahoma City University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $22,857 | $47,247 | — |
|
Southwestern Christian University
OK · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $20,146 | — | — |
|
Spring Hill College
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 59% | $20,449 | $39,936 | — |
|
Tennessee Wesleyan University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 59% | $14,836 | $39,440 | — |
|
Trinity Christian College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 89% | $19,125 | $35,012 | — |
|
Union Adventist University
NE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $23,716 | — | — |
|
University of Sioux Falls
SD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 82% | $21,383 | $34,274 | — |
|
Virginia Union University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 98% | $13,235 | $29,075 | — |
|
Western New England University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 83% | $27,290 | $60,262 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/history-teacher-education, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a history teacher education applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 107 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359