By major · Latin American Studies
Where can your student actually get into Latin American studies?
In 2022-23, 64 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in Latin American studies, 11 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Brigham Young University, with 13 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 65 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's Latin American studies program: 64 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Brigham Young University (13), University of Utah (12), University of Central Florida (8).
- 12 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): San Diego State University — Latin American Studies, Fall 2025: 28 applied, 15 admitted (53.6%).
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (12 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Latin American Studies, Fall 2025: 28 applied, 15 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Latin American Studies
Fall 2025: 28 applied, 15 admitted
impacted
|
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
53.6% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
13 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
12 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | — |
|
University of Central Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 40% | $10,411 | $23,133 | — |
|
Middlebury College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 10% | $31,483 | $85,880 | — |
|
Davidson College
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 14% | $17,379 | $79,475 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 80% | $15,435 | $23,010 | — |
|
Boston University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 11% | $24,402 | $86,285 | — |
|
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 54% | $2,984 | $13,905 | — |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | — |
|
Hobart William Smith Colleges
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 57% | $31,563 | $82,602 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | — |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | — |
|
University of Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 5% | $14,860 | $90,360 | — |
|
University of Illinois Chicago
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 78% | $10,974 | $27,521 | — |
|
University of Nebraska at Omaha
NE · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 87% | $13,441 | $21,120 | — |
|
Washington University in St Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 12% | $21,786 | $88,488 | — |
|
Wesleyan University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 17% | $30,177 | $89,020 | — |
|
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 38% | $21,620 | $30,345 | — |
|
Bowdoin College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 8% | $14,398 | $85,100 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
Carleton College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 22% | $25,407 | $84,893 | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
College of the Holy Cross
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 21% | $38,782 | $80,334 | — |
|
Fordham University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 56% | $44,338 | $82,762 | — |
|
Gettysburg College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 48% | $31,490 | $81,960 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
Smith College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 20% | $27,579 | $86,030 | — |
|
Tulane University of Louisiana
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 15% | $39,949 | $87,004 | — |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 72% | $15,649 | $26,243 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 6% | $28,699 | $89,028 | — |
|
Vanderbilt University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 6% | $15,846 | $89,590 | — |
|
Vassar College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 18% | $39,343 | $87,419 | — |
|
Wellesley College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 14% | $25,496 | $86,290 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
William Paterson University of New Jersey
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,745 | $28,476 | — |
|
Albion College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 83% | $14,301 | $69,986 | — |
|
Amherst College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $23,367 | $87,640 | — |
|
Bates College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $29,351 | $83,532 | — |
|
Brandeis University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 35% | $35,736 | $86,448 | — |
|
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 57% | $3,203 | $14,212 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
Colby College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 7% | $17,180 | $85,420 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
DePaul University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $30,902 | $63,052 | — |
|
Dickinson College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 43% | $37,607 | $82,902 | — |
|
Emory University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 11% | $22,585 | $83,622 | — |
|
Macalester College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 28% | $32,149 | $82,991 | — |
|
Oberlin College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 33% | $38,645 | $87,404 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
Rice University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 8% | $13,370 | $79,788 | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
SUNY at Purchase College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 73% | $18,913 | $29,043 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
University of Idaho
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $14,831 | $23,738 | — |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | — |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Latin American Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/latin-american-studies, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a Latin American studies applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 64 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359