By major · Mechanical Engineering Technology
Where can your student actually get into mechanical engineering technology?
In 2022-23, 65 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering technology, one of them in California. The biggest program that year was Purdue University-Main Campus, with 158 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 65 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's mechanical engineering technology program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Purdue University-Main Campus (158), CUNY New York City College of Technology (96), Rochester Institute of Technology (92).
- 1 of them is in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State Polytechnic University-Pomona — Mechanical Engineering Technology, Fall 2025: 270 applied, 259 admitted (95.9%).
- Lowest average net price with aid: Texas A&M University-Central Texas, $1,300 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (1 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Mechanical Engineering Technology, Fall 2025: 270 applied, 259 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mechanical Engineering Technology
Fall 2025: 270 applied, 259 admitted
impacted
|
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
53 graduates
|
95.9% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
158 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
CUNY New York City College of Technology
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
96 graduates
|
— | 81% | $5,127 | $14,110 | — |
|
Rochester Institute of Technology
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
92 graduates
|
— | 71% | $34,906 | $74,626 | — |
|
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
73 graduates
|
— | 72% | $15,649 | $26,243 | — |
|
Indiana State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
71 graduates
|
— | 92% | $10,873 | $24,535 | — |
|
ECPI University
VA · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
67 graduates
|
— | 83% | — | $30,055 | — |
|
University of Toledo
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
66 graduates
|
— | 95% | $17,249 | $26,512 | — |
|
University of Houston
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
65 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,276 | $26,185 | — |
|
Ferris State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
61 graduates
|
— | 81% | $8,624 | $27,048 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
58 graduates
|
— | 80% | $15,435 | $23,010 | — |
|
Kennesaw State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
49 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,048 | $24,008 | — |
|
University of Akron Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
48 graduates
|
— | 71% | $13,946 | $26,284 | — |
|
Farmingdale State College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
47 graduates
|
— | 69% | $10,867 | $18,966 | — |
|
Indiana University-Indianapolis
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
44 graduates
|
— | 81% | $11,668 | $23,316 | — |
|
University of Dayton
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
39 graduates
|
— | 62% | $29,533 | $65,881 | — |
|
Montana State University
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
38 graduates
|
— | 87% | $22,499 | $25,905 | — |
|
SUNY Polytechnic Institute
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
38 graduates
|
— | 78% | $14,164 | $23,741 | — |
|
Metropolitan State University of Denver
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
37 graduates
|
— | 99% | $15,327 | $24,622 | — |
|
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
37 graduates
|
— | 71% | $17,447 | $28,290 | — |
|
SUNY Buffalo State University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
33 graduates
|
— | 76% | $11,346 | $24,279 | — |
|
SUNY College of Technology at Alfred
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
32 graduates
|
— | 82% | — | $25,385 | — |
|
Purdue University Fort Wayne
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
30 graduates
|
— | 86% | $13,171 | $22,183 | — |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
28 graduates
|
— | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | — |
|
University of Maine
ME · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
28 graduates
|
— | 96% | $17,510 | $27,328 | — |
|
Michigan Technological University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
23 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,182 | $34,152 | — |
|
Purdue University Northwest
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
23 graduates
|
— | 71% | $6,079 | $15,571 | — |
|
Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology
NY · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
23 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Erie-Behrend College
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
20 graduates
|
— | 96% | $24,558 | $34,081 | — |
|
North Central State College
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
19 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Central Connecticut State University
CT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
18 graduates
|
— | 76% | $16,857 | $24,870 | — |
|
Northern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
18 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,085 | $27,841 | — |
|
Tarleton State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
17 graduates
|
— | 94% | $20,783 | $24,100 | — |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
17 graduates
|
— | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | — |
|
New England Institute of Technology
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
16 graduates
|
— | 73% | — | $48,543 | — |
|
Pittsburg State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
16 graduates
|
— | 88% | — | $22,099 | — |
|
SUNY College of Technology at Canton
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
15 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,268 | $24,906 | — |
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
14 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | — |
|
Fairmont State University
WV · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
14 graduates
|
— | 99% | $9,032 | $20,018 | — |
|
Weber State University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
14 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Colorado Mesa University
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
13 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,103 | $24,046 | — |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
12 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | — |
|
Grand Canyon University
AZ · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
11 graduates
|
— | 60% | $22,472 | $32,702 | — |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
11 graduates
|
— | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | — |
|
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
11 graduates
|
— | 58% | $17,248 | $22,519 | — |
|
University of New Hampshire at Manchester
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
11 graduates
|
— | 87% | $9,992 | $20,020 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
11 graduates
|
— | 87% | $14,305 | $19,652 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
9 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
8 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,404 | $50,305 | — |
|
Oregon Institute of Technology
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
8 graduates
|
— | 92% | $15,706 | $27,524 | — |
|
Bluefield State University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
6 graduates
|
— | 87% | $13,684 | $21,839 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
6 graduates
|
— | 88% | $13,369 | $19,366 | — |
|
Eastern Washington University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
4 graduates
|
— | 92% | $13,886 | $24,478 | — |
|
LeTourneau University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
4 graduates
|
— | 41% | $28,185 | $51,124 | — |
|
South Carolina State University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,097 | $30,015 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
4 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,225 | $25,210 | — |
|
Wenatchee Valley College
WA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Missouri State University-Springfield
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
3 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,613 | $25,048 | — |
|
Texas A&M University-Central Texas
TX · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
3 graduates
|
— | — | $1,300 | — | — |
|
Indiana Institute of Technology
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
2 graduates
|
— | 57% | $23,206 | $45,879 | — |
|
Savannah State University
GA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
2 graduates
|
— | — | $8,172 | — | — |
|
Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Northeastern University Professional Programs
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Point Park University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
1 graduate
|
— | 98% | $25,942 | $52,643 | — |
|
United States Military Academy
NY · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mechanical/Mechanical Engineering Technology/Technician
1 graduate
|
— | 14% | — | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/mechanical-engineering-technology, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a mechanical engineering technology applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 65 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359