At a glance · All states

  • 168 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's classics program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Missouri-Columbia (17), College of Charleston (16), Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus (14).
  • 14 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
  • Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State University-Long Beach — Classics, Fall 2025: 18 applied, 18 admitted (100.0%).
  • Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.

Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (14 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →

Hardest reported gate

100.0%
California State University-Long Beach
Classics, Fall 2025: 18 applied, 18 admitted

Lowest net price with aid

$2,984
CUNY Hunter College
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
Classics
Fall 2025: 18 applied, 18 admitted
impacted
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
100.0% 47% $10,440 $22,679 —
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
17 graduates
— 77% $20,268 $31,713 —
College of Charleston
SC · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
16 graduates
— 72% $18,960 $32,362 —
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
14 graduates
— 54% $32,875 $39,694 —
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
14 graduates
— 29% $19,857 $31,247 —
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
14 graduates
— 86% $16,674 $29,423 —
University of Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
14 graduates
— 5% $14,860 $90,360 —
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
14 graduates
— 24% $6,541 $22,523 —
William & Mary
VA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
14 graduates
— 33% $19,096 $43,035 —
Brown University
RI · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
12 graduates
— 5% $25,184 $87,648 —
Harvard University
MA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
11 graduates
— 4% $19,066 $85,540 —
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
11 graduates
— 37% $13,936 $27,993 —
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
11 graduates
— 43% $17,354 $28,679 —
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
10 graduates
— 25% $11,297 $25,720 —
Princeton University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
10 graduates
— 4% $6,128 $84,040 —
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
10 graduates
— 83% $25,346 $37,684 —
College of the Holy Cross
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
9 graduates
— 21% $38,782 $80,334 —
Gustavus Adolphus College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
9 graduates
— 62% $22,900 $67,613 —
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
9 graduates
— 4% $13,807 $87,833 —
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
9 graduates
— 58% $22,383 $34,549 —
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
9 graduates
— 6% $28,699 $89,028 —
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
9 graduates
— 42% $14,091 $32,446 —
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
8 graduates
— 54% $2,984 $13,905 —
Georgetown University
DC · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
8 graduates
— 13% $40,815 $88,741 —
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
8 graduates
— 50% $30,434 $38,105 —
University of Virginia-Main Campus
VA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
8 graduates
— 17% $21,565 $39,926 —
Montclair State University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
7 graduates
— 87% $15,566 $28,305 —
Oberlin College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
7 graduates
— 33% $38,645 $87,404 —
Reed College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
7 graduates
— 27% $33,013 $86,376 —
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
7 graduates
— 65% $24,406 $36,993 —
Trinity University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
7 graduates
— 28% $23,464 $68,224 —
Yale University
CT · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
7 graduates
— 4% $23,777 $88,300 —
Ave Maria University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 45% $24,860 $46,129 —
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 69% $15,564 $22,690 —
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 4% $21,590 $89,472 —
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 8% $28,690 $88,140 —
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 6% $29,519 $87,793 —
Gonzaga University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 76% $35,119 $73,178 —
Hamilton College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 12% $28,985 $84,230 —
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 51% $17,339 $30,305 —
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 63% $21,315 $32,696 —
University of Massachusetts-Boston
MA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 83% $17,707 $30,544 —
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
NC · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 19% $11,655 $26,055 —
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
NC · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 90% $10,965 $21,373 —
University of Puget Sound
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 76% $38,394 $78,378 —
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 60% $19,343 $35,649 —
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
WI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
6 graduates
— 88% $15,014 $22,756 —
Boston College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 16% $41,704 $89,493 —
Grinnell College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 13% $17,648 $83,440 —
Haverford College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 13% $25,314 $90,382 —
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 7% $29,167 $91,250 —
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 7% $19,285 $85,300 —
Rice University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 8% $13,370 $79,788 —
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 46% $18,976 $33,678 —
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 82% $17,890 $41,179 —
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 88% $25,648 $32,171 —
University of Dallas
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 54% $22,610 $68,583 —
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 70% $15,664 $26,433 —
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 44% $14,355 $33,642 —
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 85% $22,531 $28,596 —
University of Kansas
KS · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 88% $18,059 $26,751 —
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 45% $15,678 $29,299 —
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
5 graduates
— 76% $15,300 $28,872 —
Ball State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 72% $14,940 $26,146 —
Bowdoin College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 8% $14,398 $85,100 —
Bryn Mawr College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 31% $31,759 $83,250 —
Hofstra University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 71% $34,176 $70,624 —
Kenyon College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 31% $38,512 $87,590 —
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 82% $28,384 $38,757 —
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 44% $50,062 $82,026 —
Truman State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 80% $12,780 $25,115 —
Union College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 44% $34,561 $84,561 —
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 44% $16,109 $41,573 —
University of Mary Washington
VA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 86% $20,667 $31,137 —
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 36% $29,278 $85,962 —
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
4 graduates
— 87% $16,200 $25,557 —
CUNY Brooklyn College
NY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 54% $3,103 $14,151 —
Carleton College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 22% $25,407 $84,893 —
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 29% $41,190 $85,851 —
Colby College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 7% $17,180 $85,420 —
Hillsdale College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 21% — — —
Hope College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 76% $27,182 $55,646 —
Monmouth College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 87% $17,133 $57,157 —
Saint Anselm College
NH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 78% $34,779 $67,213 —
Smith College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 20% $27,579 $86,030 —
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 83% $28,198 $40,903 —
The University of Montana
MT · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 96% $16,784 $23,570 —
Tulane University of Louisiana
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 15% $39,949 $87,004 —
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 10% $13,481 $45,619 —
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 27% $12,470 $38,701 —
University of Mississippi
MS · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 98% $13,314 $28,660 —
University of New Hampshire-Main Campus
NH · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 87% $23,805 $35,537 —
University of North Carolina Asheville
NC · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 94% $12,250 $21,685 —
University of Notre Dame
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 12% $26,780 $83,271 —
Williams College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
3 graduates
— 10% $17,716 $84,860 —
Agnes Scott College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 67% $24,754 $63,283 —
Baylor University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 51% $41,104 $74,226 —
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 38% $21,620 $30,345 —
Brandeis University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 35% $35,736 $86,448 —
Bucknell University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 32% $40,766 $83,756 —
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 68% $4,195 $14,367 —
Carthage College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 84% $26,565 $50,822 —
Colgate University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 12% $28,786 $87,070 —
Connecticut College
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 38% $36,175 $84,623 —
DePauw University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 54% $22,264 $74,320 —
Denison University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 17% $40,007 $81,900 —
Dickinson College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 43% $37,607 $82,902 —
Grand Valley State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 95% $16,317 $28,367 —
Hendrix College
AR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 53% $24,149 $55,013 —
Hollins University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 71% $20,896 $58,698 —
Johns Hopkins University
MD · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 8% $18,809 $85,947 —
Knox College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 71% $24,595 $68,134 —
Lawrence University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 63% $23,401 $69,849 —
Loyola University Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 81% $36,079 $67,408 —
Macalester College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 28% $32,149 $82,991 —
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 85% $21,637 $30,586 —
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 17% $34,191 $86,466 —
Rhodes College
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 50% $28,585 $71,136 —
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 34% $15,364 $27,780 —
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 34% $36,294 $87,564 —
Trinity College
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 34% $34,832 $87,840 —
Tufts University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 10% $39,998 $88,300 —
University of Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 72% $18,209 $27,767 —
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 18% $13,138 $34,654 —
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 77% $16,778 $30,061 —
University of South Carolina-Columbia
SC · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 62% $22,811 $31,638 —
Wabash College
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 63% $24,336 $65,144 —
Wake Forest University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 22% $28,719 $87,499 —
Washington and Lee University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
2 graduates
— 17% $23,781 $87,000 —
Asbury University
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 64% $21,401 $47,459 —
Augustana College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 68% $22,736 $63,553 —
Austin College
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 47% $21,107 $61,607 —
Beloit College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 57% $21,526 $71,365 —
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 81% $24,022 $33,007 —
Colorado College
CO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 20% $33,375 $86,921 —
Creighton University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 72% $31,568 $63,423 —
Davidson College
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 14% $17,379 $79,475 —
Fordham University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 56% $44,338 $82,762 —
Franklin and Marshall College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 32% $36,425 $85,776 —
Gettysburg College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 48% $31,490 $81,960 —
Hanover College
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 84% $21,829 $58,821 —
Hobart William Smith Colleges
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 57% $31,563 $82,602 —
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 80% $16,264 $28,801 —
Lewis & Clark College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 74% $36,013 $79,987 —
Mercer University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 66% $23,847 $58,204 —
Millsaps College
MS · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 49% $26,034 $60,061 —
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 9% $37,050 $84,374 —
Randolph College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 95% $15,921 $45,040 —
Randolph-Macon College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 83% $27,866 $63,985 —
Saint Joseph's University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 86% $29,689 $67,954 —
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 96% $12,278 $26,488 —
Siena College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 71% $33,733 $64,870 —
Skidmore College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 23% $32,297 $85,270 —
St Olaf College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 52% $23,874 $71,843 —
The College of Wooster
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 54% $23,458 $75,656 —
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 69% $20,995 $30,785 —
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 30% $14,251 $38,632 —
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 54% $25,097 $39,426 —
University of Miami
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 18% $37,244 $86,078 —
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 96% $15,489 $21,259 —
University of North Dakota
ND · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 77% $18,551 $25,605 —
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 85% $22,182 $34,793 —
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 77% $21,440 $34,321 —
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 10% $32,740 $90,300 —
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 82% $12,766 $27,350 —
Wheaton College (Massachusetts)
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 71% $29,822 $79,311 —
Whitman College
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 50% $33,313 $78,092 —
Willamette University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, General
1 graduate
— 79% $25,121 $67,501 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/classics, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a classics applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

With 168 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359