By major · Food Science
Where can your student actually get into food science?
In 2022-23, 52 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in food science, 4 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, with 72 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 53 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's food science program: 52 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a food science admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (72), Clemson University (60), University of California-Davis (55).
- 5 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo — Food Science, Fall 2025: 271 applied, 174 admitted (64.2%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fresno — 96.5% (85 applied, 82 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Bakersfield, $5,652 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (5 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Food Science, Fall 2025: 271 applied, 174 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Food Science, Fall 2025: 85 applied, 82 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Food Science
Fall 2025: 271 applied, 174 admitted
impacted
|
Food Science
32 graduates
|
64.2% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Food Science
Fall 2025: 264 applied, 182 admitted · admit GPA 3.90–4.21
|
Food Science
55 graduates
|
69% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Food Science
Fall 2025: 48 applied, 44 admitted
|
— | 91.7% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Food Science
Fall 2025: 189 applied, 174 admitted
|
Food Science
31 graduates
|
92.1% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Food Science
Fall 2025: 85 applied, 82 admitted
impacted
|
Food Science
30 graduates
|
96.5% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
72 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | — |
|
Clemson University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
60 graduates
|
— | 38% | $22,253 | $35,015 | — |
|
Mississippi State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
43 graduates
|
— | 76% | $17,595 | $29,267 | — |
|
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
38 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,406 | $27,402 | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
38 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
36 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
34 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
32 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
29 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | — |
|
Oregon State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
27 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,604 | $31,653 | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
27 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
26 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
22 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
19 graduates
|
— | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Idaho
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
17 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $15,246 | — |
|
Iowa State University
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
17 graduates
|
— | 89% | $18,589 | $24,018 | — |
|
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
17 graduates
|
— | 40% | $17,303 | $26,425 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
17 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
17 graduates
|
— | 57% | $24,953 | $36,951 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
15 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
15 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | — |
|
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
14 graduates
|
— | 46% | $18,976 | $33,678 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
14 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
12 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
University of Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
9 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,209 | $27,767 | — |
|
Alabama A & M University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
8 graduates
|
— | 66% | $17,621 | $27,153 | — |
|
Bay Path University
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
8 graduates
|
— | — | $14,271 | — | — |
|
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
8 graduates
|
— | 21% | $13,739 | $23,970 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-River Falls
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
8 graduates
|
— | 82% | $14,054 | $19,781 | — |
|
Texas Tech University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
7 graduates
|
— | 71% | $19,070 | $27,443 | — |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
7 graduates
|
— | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | — |
|
Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
6 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Delaware Valley University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
6 graduates
|
— | 92% | $28,278 | $59,933 | — |
|
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
6 graduates
|
— | 71% | $17,447 | $28,290 | — |
|
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
6 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,851 | $34,391 | — |
|
Washington State University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
6 graduates
|
— | 85% | $14,971 | $27,648 | — |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
5 graduates
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | — |
|
North Dakota State University-Main Campus
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,543 | $23,716 | — |
|
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
4 graduates
|
— | 94% | — | $21,654 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stout
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
3 graduates
|
— | 85% | $17,490 | $22,797 | — |
|
Framingham State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $16,114 | $27,413 | — |
|
Mount Mary University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
2 graduates
|
— | 93% | $20,144 | $49,270 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
2 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
University of Holy Cross
LA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
2 graduates
|
— | — | $15,635 | — | — |
|
University of Idaho
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
2 graduates
|
— | 79% | $14,831 | $23,738 | — |
|
Bard College at Simon's Rock
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
South Dakota State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
1 graduate
|
— | 99% | $19,841 | $24,636 | — |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Food Science
1 graduate
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/food-science, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a food science applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 52 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359