By major · Industrial Technology
Where can your student actually get into industrial technology?
In 2022-23, 54 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in industrial technology, 4 of them in California. The biggest program that year was East Carolina University, with 164 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 54 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's industrial technology program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: East Carolina University (164), University of Southern Mississippi (69), Vincennes University (62).
- 4 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo — Industrial Technology, Fall 2025: 312 applied, 115 admitted (36.9%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fresno — 100.0% (42 applied, 42 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (4 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Industrial Technology, Fall 2025: 312 applied, 115 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Industrial Technology, Fall 2025: 42 applied, 42 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Industrial Technology
Fall 2025: 312 applied, 115 admitted
impacted
|
Industrial Technology/Technician
36 graduates
|
36.9% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Industrial Technology
Fall 2025: 42 applied, 42 admitted
|
Industrial Technology/Technician
34 graduates
|
100.0% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
164 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | — |
|
University of Southern Mississippi
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
69 graduates
|
— | 99% | $21,708 | $26,566 | — |
|
Vincennes University
IN · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
62 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
58 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
57 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | — |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
53 graduates
|
— | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | — |
|
Mississippi State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
51 graduates
|
— | 76% | $17,595 | $29,267 | — |
|
Lamar University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
45 graduates
|
— | 86% | $9,366 | $22,254 | — |
|
Tarleton State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
34 graduates
|
— | 94% | $20,783 | $24,100 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Tyler
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
33 graduates
|
— | 92% | $13,323 | $24,505 | — |
|
Southeastern Louisiana University
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
31 graduates
|
— | 94% | $13,154 | $23,604 | — |
|
Southeast Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
26 graduates
|
— | 78% | $15,882 | $25,177 | — |
|
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
26 graduates
|
— | 58% | $12,653 | $21,129 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-Kingsville
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
25 graduates
|
— | 92% | $12,090 | $24,060 | — |
|
Central Connecticut State University
CT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
21 graduates
|
— | 76% | $16,857 | $24,870 | — |
|
The University of Texas Permian Basin
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
21 graduates
|
— | 84% | $12,723 | $23,886 | — |
|
Farmingdale State College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
19 graduates
|
— | 69% | $10,867 | $18,966 | — |
|
Pittsburg State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
17 graduates
|
— | 88% | — | $22,099 | — |
|
Western Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
17 graduates
|
— | 97% | $10,990 | $24,188 | — |
|
Ferris State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
16 graduates
|
— | 81% | $8,624 | $27,048 | — |
|
Jackson State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
16 graduates
|
— | 91% | $23,836 | $32,415 | — |
|
University of Dayton
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
13 graduates
|
— | 62% | $29,533 | $65,881 | — |
|
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
13 graduates
|
— | 89% | $13,530 | $24,884 | — |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
12 graduates
|
— | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | — |
|
SUNY Buffalo State University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
12 graduates
|
— | 76% | $11,346 | $24,279 | — |
|
Virginia State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
12 graduates
|
— | 89% | $15,840 | $27,661 | — |
|
Indiana State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
11 graduates
|
— | 92% | $10,873 | $24,535 | — |
|
Illinois State University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
10 graduates
|
— | 89% | $19,398 | $34,309 | — |
|
Saint Cloud State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
10 graduates
|
— | 95% | $13,529 | $21,116 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
10 graduates
|
— | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
Bemidji State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
9 graduates
|
— | 71% | $15,261 | $22,744 | — |
|
Mississippi Valley State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
9 graduates
|
— | 51% | $9,686 | $21,154 | — |
|
Northwestern State University of Louisiana
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
9 graduates
|
— | 94% | $13,606 | $25,431 | — |
|
Siena Heights University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
9 graduates
|
— | 67% | $17,124 | $44,449 | — |
|
University of Northern Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
8 graduates
|
— | 94% | $15,901 | $22,278 | — |
|
Oklahoma Panhandle State University
OK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
7 graduates
|
— | — | $7,413 | — | — |
|
Fitchburg State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
6 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,262 | $25,555 | — |
|
Missouri Southern State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
6 graduates
|
— | 97% | $12,007 | $19,568 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-Commerce
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
6 graduates
|
— | 93% | $11,841 | $23,438 | — |
|
Texas Southern University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
6 graduates
|
— | 93% | $16,590 | $27,052 | — |
|
North Carolina A & T State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
5 graduates
|
— | 46% | $10,846 | $20,427 | — |
|
Sul Ross State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
5 graduates
|
— | 96% | $13,286 | $24,529 | — |
|
University of Rio Grande
OH · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
5 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
4 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | — |
|
University of Idaho
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
4 graduates
|
— | 79% | $14,831 | $23,738 | — |
|
University of Southern Maine
ME · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
4 graduates
|
— | 79% | $13,596 | $23,717 | — |
|
Central State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
3 graduates
|
— | 46% | $13,096 | $21,929 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Northern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
3 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,085 | $27,841 | — |
|
Purdue University Fort Wayne
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
3 graduates
|
— | 86% | $13,171 | $22,183 | — |
|
Pennsylvania Western University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
2 graduates
|
— | 94% | $18,256 | $26,916 | — |
|
William Penn University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial Technology/Technician
2 graduates
|
— | 57% | $22,601 | $42,874 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/industrial-technology, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a industrial technology applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 54 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359