By major · Computer Programming
Where can your student actually get into computer programming?
In 2022-23, 54 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in computer programming, 2 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Western Governors University, with 661 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 54 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's computer programming program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Western Governors University (661), Brigham Young University-Idaho (194), Farmingdale State College (129).
- 2 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: Caribbean University-Ponce, $4,964 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (2 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Western Governors University
UT · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
661 graduates
|
— | — | $12,548 | — | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Idaho
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
194 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $15,246 | — |
|
Farmingdale State College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
129 graduates
|
— | 69% | $10,867 | $18,966 | — |
|
DePaul University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
125 graduates
|
— | 74% | $30,902 | $63,052 | — |
|
Rowan University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
117 graduates
|
— | 78% | $22,408 | $35,842 | — |
|
Fort Hays State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
82 graduates
|
— | 92% | $12,569 | $19,909 | — |
|
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
79 graduates
|
— | 88% | $25,648 | $32,171 | — |
|
Bellevue University
NE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
74 graduates
|
— | — | $17,550 | — | — |
|
Grand Canyon University
AZ · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
59 graduates
|
— | 60% | $22,472 | $32,702 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Dearborn
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
48 graduates
|
— | 59% | $9,492 | $24,040 | — |
|
Neumont College of Computer Science
UT · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
36 graduates
|
— | 89% | $35,205 | $45,890 | — |
|
Green River College
WA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
35 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
33 graduates
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | — |
|
Southwestern College
KS · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
23 graduates
|
— | 65% | $29,824 | $58,432 | — |
|
University of Akron Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
22 graduates
|
— | 71% | $13,946 | $26,284 | — |
|
New England Institute of Technology
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
19 graduates
|
— | 73% | — | $48,543 | — |
|
Shawnee State University
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
17 graduates
|
— | — | $14,381 | — | — |
|
Champlain College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
15 graduates
|
— | 67% | $35,860 | $65,009 | — |
|
Lake Washington Institute of Technology
WA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
14 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Universidad Adventista de las Antillas
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
13 graduates
|
— | — | $9,919 | — | — |
|
Austin Community College District
TX · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
12 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Utah Valley University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
12 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Baker College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
11 graduates
|
— | 88% | $13,157 | $24,526 | — |
|
Limestone University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
11 graduates
|
— | 98% | $19,588 | $40,671 | — |
|
Gannon University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
9 graduates
|
— | 77% | $22,553 | $52,869 | — |
|
University of Silicon Valley
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
9 graduates
|
— | — | $27,815 | — | — |
|
Morningside University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
8 graduates
|
— | 71% | $31,320 | $52,577 | — |
|
Columbia College Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
7 graduates
|
— | 91% | $26,598 | $51,889 | — |
|
NUC University
PR · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Mount Union
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
7 graduates
|
— | 80% | $23,280 | $49,276 | — |
|
Cascadia College
WA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
6 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Hardin-Simmons University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
6 graduates
|
— | 96% | $19,555 | $45,904 | — |
|
Missouri Valley College
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
5 graduates
|
— | 53% | $18,086 | $37,899 | — |
|
Caribbean University-Bayamon
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Husson University
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
4 graduates
|
— | 86% | $21,005 | $35,852 | — |
|
Caribbean University-Ponce
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
3 graduates
|
— | — | $4,964 | — | — |
|
Herzing University-Madison
WI · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Herzing University-Akron
OH · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Herzing University-New Orleans
LA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $22,866 | $44,776 | — |
|
Mount Vernon Nazarene University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
2 graduates
|
— | 84% | $22,421 | $49,858 | — |
|
Olivet Nazarene University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
2 graduates
|
— | 67% | $20,729 | $51,981 | — |
|
University of Phoenix-Arizona
AZ · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | $13,520 | — | — |
|
Western Connecticut State University
CT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
2 graduates
|
— | 81% | $17,604 | $24,877 | — |
|
Capitol Technology University
MD · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $22,102 | — | — |
|
Dewey University-Carolina
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Herzing University-Atlanta
GA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $21,679 | — | — |
|
Herzing University-Brookfield
WI · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $20,514 | — | — |
|
Herzing University-Orlando
FL · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Metropolitan State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $16,863 | $25,172 | — |
|
Siena Heights University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $17,124 | $44,449 | — |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | — |
|
Winthrop University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | 75% | $15,343 | $30,710 | — |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Programming/Programmer, General
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/computer-programming, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a computer programming applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 54 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359