By major · Forensic Science
Where can your student actually get into forensic science?
In 2022-23, 97 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in forensic science, one of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of Central Oklahoma, with 130 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 97 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's forensic science program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Central Oklahoma (130), Farmingdale State College (106), University of New Haven (102).
- 1 of them is in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): San Jose State University — Forensic Science, Fall 2025: 1,181 applied, 841 admitted (71.2%).
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice, $3,203 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (1 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Forensic Science, Fall 2025: 1,181 applied, 841 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Forensic Science
Fall 2025: 1,181 applied, 841 admitted
impacted
|
Forensic Science and Technology
35 graduates
|
71.2% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
University of Central Oklahoma
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
130 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,309 | $26,392 | — |
|
Farmingdale State College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
106 graduates
|
— | 69% | $10,867 | $18,966 | — |
|
University of New Haven
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
102 graduates
|
— | 80% | $34,192 | $66,962 | — |
|
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
85 graduates
|
— | 86% | $15,634 | $26,415 | — |
|
University of Maryland Global Campus
MD · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
70 graduates
|
— | — | $22,063 | — | — |
|
American Public University System
WV · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
60 graduates
|
— | — | $9,597 | — | — |
|
University of Southern Mississippi
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
55 graduates
|
— | 99% | $21,708 | $26,566 | — |
|
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
52 graduates
|
— | 57% | $3,203 | $14,212 | — |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
48 graduates
|
— | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
47 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,032 | $21,266 | — |
|
Hilbert College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
43 graduates
|
— | 98% | $22,723 | $42,114 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
43 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
Utah Valley University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
40 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Grand Canyon University
AZ · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
38 graduates
|
— | 60% | $22,472 | $32,702 | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
37 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
George Mason University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
35 graduates
|
— | 89% | $17,915 | $28,604 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
35 graduates
|
— | 63% | $21,315 | $32,696 | — |
|
University of Central Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
32 graduates
|
— | 40% | $10,411 | $23,133 | — |
|
Indiana University-Indianapolis
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
29 graduates
|
— | 81% | $11,668 | $23,316 | — |
|
Loyola University Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
28 graduates
|
— | 81% | $36,079 | $67,408 | — |
|
Keiser University-Ft Lauderdale
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
27 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $43,251 | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Carolina
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
26 graduates
|
— | 53% | $12,945 | — | — |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
25 graduates
|
— | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | — |
|
St. Mary's University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
24 graduates
|
— | 89% | $21,145 | $47,999 | — |
|
University of North Dakota
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
24 graduates
|
— | 77% | $18,551 | $25,605 | — |
|
The University of Texas at El Paso
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
22 graduates
|
— | 100% | $9,403 | $19,836 | — |
|
Lewis University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
21 graduates
|
— | 73% | $17,028 | $47,313 | — |
|
SUNY College of Technology at Alfred
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
21 graduates
|
— | 82% | — | $25,385 | — |
|
Fayetteville State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
19 graduates
|
— | 80% | $7,892 | $16,652 | — |
|
Chaminade University of Honolulu
HI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
18 graduates
|
— | 93% | $28,856 | $45,798 | — |
|
Mercyhurst University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
18 graduates
|
— | 83% | $19,444 | $59,557 | — |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
17 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | — |
|
Roger Williams University
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
16 graduates
|
— | 88% | $37,999 | $61,950 | — |
|
The University of Tampa
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
16 graduates
|
— | 41% | $36,211 | $51,614 | — |
|
Loyola University Maryland
MD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
15 graduates
|
— | 76% | $30,574 | $74,055 | — |
|
Madonna University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
15 graduates
|
— | 93% | $17,755 | $41,038 | — |
|
Saint Edward's University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
15 graduates
|
— | 84% | $25,578 | $66,719 | — |
|
Savannah State University
GA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
15 graduates
|
— | — | $8,172 | — | — |
|
Liberty University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
14 graduates
|
— | 99% | $29,357 | $42,025 | — |
|
Lynn University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
14 graduates
|
— | 74% | $44,089 | $67,880 | — |
|
Saint Louis University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
14 graduates
|
— | 82% | $24,398 | $71,932 | — |
|
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Prescott
AZ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
13 graduates
|
— | 75% | $40,287 | $62,798 | — |
|
Point Park University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
13 graduates
|
— | 98% | $25,942 | $52,643 | — |
|
Tennessee Wesleyan University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
13 graduates
|
— | 59% | $14,836 | $39,440 | — |
|
Florida Gulf Coast University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
12 graduates
|
— | 77% | $12,568 | $20,807 | — |
|
Long Island University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
12 graduates
|
— | 90% | $33,062 | $55,424 | — |
|
Anna Maria College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
11 graduates
|
— | 90% | $28,333 | $61,888 | — |
|
Ferrum College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
11 graduates
|
— | 100% | $20,082 | $54,526 | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
11 graduates
|
— | 36% | $9,284 | — | — |
|
New Jersey Institute of Technology
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
11 graduates
|
— | 67% | $16,504 | $32,859 | — |
|
University of Baltimore
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
11 graduates
|
— | 86% | $13,868 | $26,406 | — |
|
Hofstra University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
10 graduates
|
— | 71% | $34,176 | $70,624 | — |
|
Bay Path University
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
9 graduates
|
— | — | $14,271 | — | — |
|
Cedar Crest College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
9 graduates
|
— | 99% | $18,659 | $57,206 | — |
|
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
9 graduates
|
— | 55% | $4,904 | $18,940 | — |
|
SUNY Buffalo State University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
9 graduates
|
— | 76% | $11,346 | $24,279 | — |
|
Wichita State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
9 graduates
|
— | 95% | $13,194 | $21,780 | — |
|
York College of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
9 graduates
|
— | 94% | $18,556 | $37,319 | — |
|
Curry College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
8 graduates
|
— | 92% | $29,207 | $64,020 | — |
|
Fairmont State University
WV · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
8 graduates
|
— | 99% | $9,032 | $20,018 | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
8 graduates
|
— | 70% | $9,026 | — | — |
|
Ohio Northern University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
8 graduates
|
— | 73% | $24,478 | $53,580 | — |
|
Seton Hill University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
8 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,204 | $56,183 | — |
|
Chestnut Hill College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
7 graduates
|
— | 79% | $27,970 | $58,168 | — |
|
EDP University of Puerto Rico Inc-San Sebastian
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Pace University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
7 graduates
|
— | 77% | $30,892 | $69,550 | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
6 graduates
|
— | 47% | $8,742 | — | — |
|
Marian University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
6 graduates
|
— | 67% | $21,937 | $44,450 | — |
|
The College of Saint Rose
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
6 graduates
|
— | 73% | — | — | — |
|
Trine University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
6 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,355 | $51,109 | — |
|
Miami University-Hamilton
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
5 graduates
|
— | — | $11,286 | — | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Bradford
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
5 graduates
|
— | 91% | $15,350 | $30,478 | — |
|
University of Providence
MT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
5 graduates
|
— | 64% | $17,649 | $43,477 | — |
|
West Virginia University Institute of Technology
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
5 graduates
|
— | 61% | $9,337 | $18,907 | — |
|
Alvernia University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
4 graduates
|
— | 62% | $28,138 | $57,565 | — |
|
Lasell University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $27,511 | $42,434 | — |
|
Miami University-Middletown
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
4 graduates
|
— | — | $10,809 | — | — |
|
Piedmont University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
4 graduates
|
— | 93% | $20,599 | $46,801 | — |
|
Southern University at New Orleans
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
4 graduates
|
— | 60% | $14,810 | $23,905 | — |
|
Southern Wesleyan University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
4 graduates
|
— | 100% | $15,464 | $39,914 | — |
|
Thomas College
ME · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
4 graduates
|
— | — | $18,885 | — | — |
|
Bluefield University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
3 graduates
|
— | 63% | $25,573 | $42,539 | — |
|
Husson University
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
3 graduates
|
— | 86% | $21,005 | $35,852 | — |
|
Roberts Wesleyan University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
3 graduates
|
— | 78% | $23,130 | $52,919 | — |
|
Simpson College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
3 graduates
|
— | 89% | $21,936 | $61,227 | — |
|
Cedarville University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
2 graduates
|
— | 63% | $24,468 | $49,320 | — |
|
Centenary University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
2 graduates
|
— | 97% | $20,503 | $52,362 | — |
|
Columbia College
MO · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
2 graduates
|
— | — | $22,715 | — | — |
|
EDP University of Puerto Rico Inc-San Juan
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Dubuque
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
2 graduates
|
— | 87% | $23,386 | $53,806 | — |
|
Hamline University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $20,744 | $58,110 | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
1 graduate
|
— | — | $8,726 | — | — |
|
King University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $22,347 | $49,004 | — |
|
The University of Findlay
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
1 graduate
|
— | 86% | $27,221 | $54,580 | — |
|
Washburn University
KS · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
1 graduate
|
— | — | $15,280 | — | — |
|
Waynesburg University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Forensic Science and Technology
1 graduate
|
— | 92% | $18,235 | $44,397 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/forensic-science, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a forensic science applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 97 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359