By major · Diagnostic Medical Sonography
Where can your student actually get into diagnostic medical sonography?
In 2022-23, 54 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in diagnostic medical sonography, 10 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Oregon Institute of Technology, with 81 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 54 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's diagnostic medical sonography program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Oregon Institute of Technology (81), Smith Chason College (57), Fort Hays State University (52).
- 10 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus, $7,646 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (10 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Oregon Institute of Technology
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
81 graduates
|
— | 92% | $15,706 | $27,524 | — |
|
Smith Chason College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
57 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Fort Hays State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
52 graduates
|
— | 92% | $12,569 | $19,909 | — |
|
Keiser University-Ft Lauderdale
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
52 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $43,251 | — |
|
Grand Valley State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
43 graduates
|
— | 95% | $16,317 | $28,367 | — |
|
Weber State University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
37 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
MCPHS University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
36 graduates
|
— | 85% | $39,545 | $65,022 | — |
|
Platt College-Riverside
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
32 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
St Catherine University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
26 graduates
|
— | 94% | $19,764 | $60,476 | — |
|
Seattle University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
23 graduates
|
— | 76% | $34,662 | $72,124 | — |
|
Siena Heights University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
22 graduates
|
— | 67% | $17,124 | $44,449 | — |
|
South College
TN · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
19 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Kettering College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
18 graduates
|
— | 83% | $21,650 | $32,839 | — |
|
Rochester Institute of Technology
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
18 graduates
|
— | 71% | $34,906 | $74,626 | — |
|
Platt College-Ontario
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
17 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Carolina Campus
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
17 graduates
|
— | — | $7,761 | — | — |
|
Marian University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
16 graduates
|
— | 67% | $21,937 | $44,450 | — |
|
Nova Southeastern University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
16 graduates
|
— | 73% | $30,371 | $56,692 | — |
|
Washburn University
KS · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
16 graduates
|
— | — | $15,280 | — | — |
|
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
AR · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
15 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Loma Linda University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
14 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
TX · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
14 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Baptist Health Sciences University
TN · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
13 graduates
|
— | 68% | $11,212 | $22,227 | — |
|
Platt College-Anaheim
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
13 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Regis College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
13 graduates
|
— | 89% | $27,477 | $65,546 | — |
|
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
13 graduates
|
— | — | $7,646 | — | — |
|
Eastern International College-Jersey City
NJ · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
12 graduates
|
— | — | $21,111 | — | — |
|
Long Island University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
12 graduates
|
— | 90% | $33,062 | $55,424 | — |
|
The University of Findlay
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
11 graduates
|
— | 86% | $27,221 | $54,580 | — |
|
Lewis-Clark State College
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
10 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,635 | $21,925 | — |
|
Lincoln University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
10 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Misericordia University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
10 graduates
|
— | 85% | $37,485 | $53,648 | — |
|
Mount Aloysius College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
10 graduates
|
— | 90% | $22,344 | $40,435 | — |
|
University of Southern Indiana
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
10 graduates
|
— | 95% | — | $22,383 | — |
|
Bryan College of Health Sciences
NE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
9 graduates
|
— | — | $26,919 | — | — |
|
American Medical Sciences Center
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
8 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Bellin College
WI · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
8 graduates
|
— | — | $37,408 | — | — |
|
Newman University
KS · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
8 graduates
|
— | — | $19,971 | — | — |
|
Platt College-Los Angeles
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Upstate Medical University
NY · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Allen College
IA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
6 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Concordia University-Wisconsin
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
6 graduates
|
— | 68% | $36,201 | $53,315 | — |
|
Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
6 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Rhode Island College
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
6 graduates
|
— | 81% | $9,478 | $17,454 | — |
|
Nebraska Methodist College of Nursing & Allied Health
NE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
5 graduates
|
— | — | $21,863 | — | — |
|
University of Nebraska Medical Center
NE · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
5 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Widener University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
5 graduates
|
— | 84% | $25,759 | $70,621 | — |
|
Great Basin College
NV · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
PCI College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Quinnipiac University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
4 graduates
|
— | 77% | $40,675 | $72,215 | — |
|
Eastwick College-Ramsey
NJ · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Lewis University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
1 graduate
|
— | 73% | $17,028 | $47,313 | — |
|
Roosevelt University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
1 graduate
|
— | 94% | $20,194 | $35,332 | — |
|
University of Rio Grande
OH · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Diagnostic Medical Sonography/Sonographer and Ultrasound Technician
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/diagnostic-medical-sonography, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a diagnostic medical sonography applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 54 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359