By major · Italian Language and Literature
Where can your student actually get into Italian language and literature?
In 2022-23, 55 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in Italian language and literature, 5 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus, with 7 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 55 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's Italian language and literature program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus (7), University of Rhode Island (7), Arizona State University Campus Immersion (5).
- 5 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (5 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 77% | $21,440 | $34,321 | — |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | — |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | — |
|
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 54% | $2,984 | $13,905 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | — |
|
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 68% | $4,195 | $14,367 | — |
|
St. John's University-New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,999 | $65,527 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
University of Virginia-Main Campus
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 17% | $21,565 | $39,926 | — |
|
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 6% | $29,519 | $87,793 | — |
|
Drew University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 69% | $24,280 | $65,301 | — |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | — |
|
Georgetown University
DC · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 13% | $40,815 | $88,741 | — |
|
Haverford College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 13% | $25,314 | $90,382 | — |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | — |
|
Montclair State University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,566 | $28,305 | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
Smith College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 20% | $27,579 | $86,030 | — |
|
Southern Connecticut State University
CT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 81% | $20,857 | $29,673 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 88% | $15,014 | $22,756 | — |
|
Vassar College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 18% | $39,343 | $87,419 | — |
|
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 38% | $21,620 | $30,345 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
Central Connecticut State University
CT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $16,857 | $24,870 | — |
|
College of the Holy Cross
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 21% | $38,782 | $80,334 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
DePaul University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $30,902 | $63,052 | — |
|
DePauw University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $22,264 | $74,320 | — |
|
Duke University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 7% | $29,612 | $87,072 | — |
|
Fairfield University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 45% | $48,095 | $76,074 | — |
|
Middlebury College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $31,483 | $85,880 | — |
|
Mount Holyoke College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 38% | $26,441 | $84,926 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
Salem State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $15,996 | $28,291 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Southern Adventist University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $24,345 | $38,618 | — |
|
Southern Methodist University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 61% | $40,892 | $85,606 | — |
|
Syracuse University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 42% | $38,793 | $84,517 | — |
|
Trinity College
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 34% | $34,832 | $87,840 | — |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | — |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | — |
|
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 6% | $28,699 | $89,028 | — |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Italian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/italian, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a Italian language and literature applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 55 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359