A parent's read

  • Built for the AI economy. About 1 in 11 degrees here is already in AI, computer science, or data fields. This campus is leaning into the shift, not waiting for it.
  • Almost everyone who starts here finishes. 90% graduate within six years — the standard federal measure. Nationally about a third of students who start a bachelor's never finish one, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision: the debt stays, the credential doesn't.
  • The 8× payoff headline requires aid. Without aid this runs ~$90,382/yr. There's no income cutoff for need-based aid — whether you qualify depends on the gap between a school's price and your family's finances, so at a price like this even six-figure incomes often show need. Families who receive aid average ~$25,314/yr — against that, ten years of median earnings run ~8× the cost. Run the college's own net-price calculator before anchoring on the multiple.
  • Ask the submit question deliberately. This college is test-optional — but at many such colleges, applicants who submit strong scores are admitted at meaningfully higher rates. “Optional” is a strategy decision, not a pass.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Get your child's odds at Haverford College Free Family Decision Report — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + your real net price. Haverford College starts already on the list. Start →
Odds at Haverford College

Put in your child's GPA and score — we'll show where they land here. Free, and nothing to sign up for.

Most families report the weighted one — it's the higher number, with honors and AP credit in it.

This reads the numbers — admit rate, scores, GPA. The real decision also weighs essays, recommendations, activities, and course rigor.

Get their full list — free Family Decision Report →

The free report adds every college on your list — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds, your real net price, and merit-scholarship eligibility. About a minute.

Live odds from each college's own published admissions data.

Parent/student verdict

Highly selective

Highly selective reach for nearly every applicant.

Best for

  • Strong academic profiles — students here cluster in the top test and GPA tiers (bands above)
  • Students drawn to Social Sciences or Biological & Biomedical Sciences (the two biggest majors)
  • Families wanting a small liberal-arts experience
  • A long-term payoff that holds even at full price — ten years at the $79,966 median runs about $438K ahead of four years at the ~$90,382/yr sticker (aid recipients average ~$25,314/yr)

The reality

  • You'd be near the bottom of their admitted class if: SAT below 1430, or ACT below 33, or unweighted GPA below ~3.80 (test bands are the school's own; the GPA floor is our estimate, not a published figure)
  • With selective universities, build a balanced college list of Reaches, Targets, and Safeties
  • High cost — full price is ~$90,382/yr without aid, and aid-receiving families still average ~$25,314/yr — verify the major's earnings track record before committing

Verdict is composed from this college's structured data (admit rate, SAT bands, net price with aid and at full price, Carnegie classification, scholarship grids) using transparent rule thresholds — not a chat-bot's opinion.

What are your child's odds here?

Enter their numbers once — this and every college page shows their verdict, and the UC campus cards on California school pages light up with it too. Free, no email.

Weighted is the higher GPA, with honors/AP credit in it — pick whichever your school reports. PSAT scores work in the SAT box.

Institutional snapshot

What kind of college is this?

Carnegie classification
Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus
Undergraduates
1,430
1,000 - 4,999 including graduate students
TuitionThe published full price before any aid. Families who don't qualify for need-based aid at a given college pay this, minus any merit scholarships — whether you qualify depends on the college's price and policies, not on any fixed income line.
$70,688
flat rate (no in/out-of-state split) · 2023–24 federal figure
Admit rateThe share of applicants a college accepts. Useful context, but your student's odds depend on their own grades and scores, not the average.
12.9%
Highly selective
SAT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
1430–1540
EBRW + Math composite
ACT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
33–35
composite
Test policyApplicants choose whether to send SAT/ACT scores. At many such colleges, students who submit strong scores are still admitted at higher rates.
Test-optional
2023
10-yr earningsMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$79,966
median, after entry

40% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 14% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class.

Source: federal IPEDS Admissions 2023 for scores + admit rate; federal College Scorecard (20260606 vintage) for earnings + outcomes. SAT/ACT bands are the 25th–75th percentile of enrolled submitters.

Outcomes & cost

What graduates actually earn, finish, and owe.

Federal College Scorecard data. Earnings are median annual income measured years after entering. Debt is for federal-aid borrowers only (cash-pay students aren't counted).

Earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$53,353
Earnings, 10 yrs after entryMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$79,966
Graduate within 6 yrsThe share of students who start here and finish a bachelor's within six years — the standard federal measure, and the one College Scorecard publishes. It is not a four-year rate. Read it as the odds of finishing at all: nationally about a third of students who start never do, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision.
90%
Median debt (completers)The federal-loan balance of the typical graduating borrower. Families who pay cash aren't counted, so read it as "among those who borrowed."
$13,621

The real cost

What Haverford College actually costs

If you qualify for need aidGrant money based on your family's finances (via FAFSA and the college's own forms), not your student's stats.
$25,314/yr
average among aid-receiving families, all incomes — your number depends on your finances
If you don't
$90,382/yr
the full published price

Which side your family lands on isn't set by any national income line — it's set by Haverford College's own aid decision: the gap between its price and your family's finances.

Get your family's number — Haverford College's Net Price Calculator ↗ 10–15 minutes; have a tax return handy. It's still an estimate — but it's this college's own, built from your family's numbers, not anyone's average.
Start your Family Decision Report →

Your odds + estimated cost across your whole college list, side by side.

The payoffTen years of typical graduate pay minus four years of cost — how many dollars ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten. Check both the full-price and with-aid versions to see which applies to you; median pay reflects who a college admits and what they study as much as the college itself., both ways

+$438K ahead at full price +$698K with aid
Full price, no aidThe all-in yearly price — tuition, housing, food, books, fees — before any aid. This is the real "full price," not just the tuition line. (4 yrs)
$361,528
~$90,382/yr all-in
Aid recipients pay (4 yrs)
$101,256
$25,314/yr average
10-yr earnings total
$799,660
$79,966/yr median, 10 yrs out
Years to recoup the cost
4.5 yrs
at full price (1.3 with aid), at the median earnings rate

Source: College Scorecard (average net price among Title IV first-time, full-time undergraduates who received aid) and each college's published cost of attendance. We don't show the federal net-price-by-income brackets: their categories were fixed in 2008 and never adjusted, and none of the averages is your family's own number — the full story. Payoff = (10-yr median earnings × 10) − (4 years of cost), in dollars — how far ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten; medians travel with the students a college admits and the majors they choose as much as with the college itself. Full price is the published cost of attendance; earnings are 10 years after enrollment, all majors combined.

What students study here

Most popular majors at Haverford College

Top 5 fields of study by bachelor's degrees awarded (most recent IPEDS Completions). Use this to see what Haverford College actually graduates — not just what it markets.

1. Social Sciences
76 degrees · 32.2%
Economics + poli sci sub-disciplines pay much more than sociology + anthropology.
2. Biological & Biomedical Sciences
55 degrees · 23.3%
Many bio majors → med school / grad school. Direct-employment bio roles are lower-paid than that pipeline.
3. Mathematics & Statistics
37 degrees · 15.7%
Quant-heavy paths — actuarial, data, finance, research. High starting wages.
4. Physical Sciences
37 degrees · 15.7%
Chemistry, physics, geology — strong wages especially in industry roles.
5. Computer & Information Sciences
31 degrees · 13.1%
High-paying tech roles dominate. Median software roles cluster in the $90k-$130k range.

What those majors earn here

Median earnings 4 years after entry, by major — Haverford College's own graduates, not national averages.

Major (CIP) Credential Cohort 1-yr earnings 4-yr earnings
Economics. Bachelor's Degree 23 $112,050
Psychology, General. Bachelor's Degree $63,040
Political Science and Government. Bachelor's Degree 35 $62,242

Sources: IPEDS Completions (C2023_a; bachelor's-level first majors, 2-digit CIP family — share is of the top 5 only) · College Scorecard program-level outcomes (PP-FOS). Full college-vs-major comparison: /college-outcomes →

Student body & economic mobility

Who attends here — and what the campus adds.

Opportunity Insights data. It measures two things at once: how many lower-income students a college enrols, and how many of them reach the top earnings quintile later. A high rate says the college does both — it does not establish that the campus caused the earnings, because the students it admits differ from the students it doesn't. Read it as a signal about access and destination, not as proof of value added.

Top-1% access
12.3%
from top-1% households
Mobility rateThe share of ALL students who arrived from the bottom 20% of family incomes AND reached the top 20% themselves by their early 30s — access and lift in one number, and a sign the campus itself adds earnings power.
1.8%
bottom 20% → top 20% by age 32
Upward rate
39.4%
of lower-income students who reach the top 20%
Pell recipientsStudents receiving federal Pell grants, which go to lower- and middle-income families — the standard shorthand for a college's economic mix.
15%
on federal need grants — context for these numbers

Full leaderboards: /college-mobility →

Alternatives to Haverford College

Matched not just by selectivity, but by strategic goal — what a family actually decides on.

Better merit-aid options
These similar-selectivity schools publish merit scholarships your family can plan around — your kid’s stats could unlock real scholarship dollars.
University of Alabama in Huntsville
AL · Public
39 stats-based merit scholarships
Auburn University
AL · Public
3 stats-based merit scholarships
University of Arizona
AZ · Public
1 stats-based + 2 competitive scholarships
Lower full price
Similar selectivity, but a meaningfully lower full sticker price — the comparison that matters most for families who won't qualify for much need-based aid.
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public
$13,905/yr full price (in-state) · $76,477 less before aid for NY residents
CUNY Bernard M Baruch College
NY · Public
$14,170/yr full price (in-state) · $76,212 less before aid for NY residents
CUNY City College
NY · Public
$14,403/yr full price (in-state) · $75,979 less before aid for NY residents
Safer in-state options
Same state and similar selectivity, but with a more forgiving admit rate — useful safety / match anchors.
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public
50% admit rate (vs 13% here)
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public
54% admit rate (vs 13% here)
More students move up here
Per Opportunity Insights, a larger share of these campuses' lower-income students reach the top earnings quintile than at Haverford College. That reflects who they admit as well as what they do, so read it as a destination signal rather than proof of value added.
CUNY Bernard M Baruch College
NY · Public
12.9% mobility rate (vs 1.8% here)
CUNY City College
NY · Public
11.7% mobility rate (vs 1.8% here)
Stony Brook University
NY · Public
8.4% mobility rate (vs 1.8% here)

Or compare any college side-by-side

Deciding on Haverford College?

Get the full picture in one free report — your child's Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds and your real net price, for Haverford College and every other college on your list.

Get your child's odds at Haverford College →

Score-odds calculator · Improve the score first · Find merit aid

Feeder high schools

Which high schools send graduates to Haverford College?

Enrolled — from the schools' matriculation lists

87 high schools publish a numbered matriculation list — where their graduates actually enrolled, counted, in the school's own School Profile — and name Haverford College on it. Between them they printed 195 enrolled graduates. Ranked by graduates per class year enrolling at Haverford College, from each school's own published list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, so a one-year list and a five-year list can sit on the same page. A list whose class years we cannot read is not divided by a guess — it is listed below with its total instead.

High school · years its list covers Enrolled per class year
Crossroads School · classes of 2023-25 As published 2.3 · 7 over 3 class years
Germantown Friends School · 2023-25 1.7 · 5 over 3 class years
Friends Seminary · The Classes of 2021–2025 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Moorestown Friends School · Classes of 2021-2025 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
San Francisco University High School · 2021-2025 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Westtown School · 2022-2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Germantown Academy · Classes of 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Maret School · classes of 2022–2026 As published 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Poly Prep Country Day School · Classes of 2020–2024 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Newark Academy · 2023-2026 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
and 75 more
University of Chicago Laboratory Schools · past four years 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
Springside Chestnut Hill Academy · 2022-2026 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
The Cambridge School Of Weston · Classes of 2022-2026 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Avenues New York · CLASSES OF 2023–2026 · counted column: CLASS OF 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Brooks School · Class of 2024 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Brunswick School · Class of 2026 Matriculation; Composite Matriculation List of 2022-2026 · counted column: Class of 2026 Matriculation 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Chadwick School · Class of 2025 As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Dana Hall School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Dwight-Englewood School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Friends School of Baltimore · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Harvard-Westlake School · BY THE CLASSES OF 2021-2025 · counted column: CLASS OF '25 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Hopkins School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Isidore Newman School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Oak Knoll School Of The Holy Child · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
St. Luke's School (New Canaan) · Class of 2026 / Classes 2021-2025 · counted column: Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Bryn Mawr School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Galloway School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Ethical Culture Fieldston School · Classes of 2022–2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Catlin Gabel School · last four years 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Nightingale-Bamford School · 2022–2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Winsor School · 2022–2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Dalton School · 2019-2024 0.7 · 4 over 6 class years
Riverdale Country School · Higher Ed Enrollment 2021-2026 0.7 · 4 over 6 class years
Kent School · College Matriculations 2023-2025 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
Choate Rosemary Hall · Class of 2021-2025 As published 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Durham Academy · 2021–2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Friends Central School · 2019-2023 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Moravian Academy · the last five years 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
University Prep · 2022–2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Bush School · 2020-2025 0.5 · 3 over 6 class years
Kent Place School · 2022-2025 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
The Potomac School · past four years 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Wheeler School · College Matriculation for the Classes of 2022-25 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Ellis School · 2019–2023 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Head-Royce School · (2021–25) 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Polytechnic School · Class of 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
St. George's School · Classes of 2022-2026 As published 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
St. Stephen's Episcopal School (Austin) · Classes of 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Chapin School · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Northwest School · classes of 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Waynflete School · Five-Year Matriculation (2021–2025) 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
William Penn Charter School · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Canterbury School · 2019-2024 0.3 · 2 over 6 class years
St. Mark's School of Texas · Classes of 2023-2025 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
The Hockaday School · 2024 – 2026 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
The Putney School · (2023-2025) 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
Albany Academies · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Albuquerque Academy · Classes of 2021-2024 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Beaver Country Day School · Five Year Summary 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Berwick Academy · past five graduating classes (2021 – 2025) 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Dublin School · 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Eastside Preparatory School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Episcopal High School · Classes of 2022 through 2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Fort Worth Country Day School · 2020-23 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Francis Parker School · 2022-2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Harrisburg Academy · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
John Burroughs School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Keystone School (San Antonio) · 2020-2025 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
Lakeside School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Landon School · College Admittance 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Lick Wilmerding High School · past four years 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Montgomery Bell Academy · 2022 – 2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Packer Collegiate Institute · 2021 - 2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Parker School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Saddle River Day School · 2020-2024 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Agnes Irwin School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Berkeley Carroll School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Blake School · Classes 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Brearley School · 2022–2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Browning School · Classes of 2022-26 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Derryfield School · 2022-2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
The Roxbury Latin School · 2021-2026 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
Vermont Academy · Matriculation List (2021-2026) 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
Washington International School · 2022–2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
York Country Day School · The Classes of 2015-2024 0.1 · 1 over 10 class years

Published, but not ranked — these schools name Haverford College on a list of where their graduates enrolled whose class years we cannot read ("Since 2023", or no class year printed), so their totals are shown rather than divided: Pierrepont School (2, not stated); Woodlawn School (2, not stated).

Admitted — from the schools' acceptance lists

7 high schools publish a numbered list of college acceptances — where their graduates were admitted, not where they enrolled — and name Haverford College on it. Between them they printed 12 admissions. Ranked by admissions per class year to Haverford College, from each school's own published acceptances list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. Admits are counted at each college a student was admitted to, the same way the UC Reach Score counts a student admitted to three UC campuses three times — so this is a count of admissions, not of students. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, and a list whose class years we cannot read is listed below with its total rather than divided by a guess.

High school · years its list covers Admitted per class year
The TASIS School in Dorado · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
National Cathedral School · 2023-2025 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
The Chapin School · 2022-2026 · counted column: Admitted 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Wilmington Friends School · 2023 & 2024 0.5 · 1 over 2 class years
St Anselm'S Abbey School · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Key School · 2021 - 2026 · counted column: Acceptances 2021–2026 0.3 · 2 over 6 class years
The Altamont School · Classes of 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years

All 93 feeder schools, ranked →

Counted from each school's own published document, linked on that school's page. A high school that is not here does not publish a numbered list we could read — that is all absence means, and it says nothing about its graduates. Where a school publishes both, the two lists are shown separately: an acceptances list is not a list of enrollments, and the two are never added together.

For Parents

Get alerts when Haverford College's numbers change

New admit rates, costs, and outcomes — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Haverford College is a private nonprofit four-year college in PA. It admitted 13% of applicants (6,391 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-optional.

Middle 50% of enrolled first-years who submitted that test: SAT 1430–1540, ACT 33–35. 40% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 14% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class.

Cost: about $25,314 a year on average with aid, $90,382 a year at full price.

Median earnings ten years after entry: $79,966 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $698,404 ahead with aid, $438,132 ahead at full price.

Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Economics ($112,050); Psychology, General ($63,040); Political Science and Government ($62,242).

Economic mobility (Opportunity Insights): 5% of students came from families in the bottom fifth of income, and 39% of those reached the top fifth as adults.

High schools that publish a numbered matriculation list and name Haverford College: 87, 195 enrolled students between them — ranked by graduates per class year, most often Crossroads School (2.3 per class year, 7 over 3 class years, classes of 2023-25); Germantown Friends School (1.7 per class year, 5 over 3 class years, 2023-25); Friends Seminary (1.4 per class year, 7 over 5 class years, The Classes of 2021–2025). Each figure is the number that school printed divided by the class years its own list covers; the totals and years are shown. These are the schools that publish such a list, not every school that sends students; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/haverford-college.

High schools that publish a numbered list of college acceptances naming Haverford College: 7, 12 admissions between them — ranked by admissions per class year, most often The TASIS School in Dorado (1.0 per class year, 1 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); National Cathedral School (0.7 per class year, 2 over 3 class years, 2023-2025); The Chapin School (0.6 per class year, 3 over 5 class years, 2022-2026, counted column "Admitted"). Admits are counted at each college, so this counts admissions, not students. These are a different set of documents from the matriculation lists above and the two are never added together; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/haverford-college.

Machine-readable version of this page: https://highschoolreach.com/colleges/haverford-college.json

By major: EconomicsPolitical SciencePsychology
Get your child's odds →

What families ask next