By major · Dance
Where can your student actually get into dance?
Dance is one of the few majors where California is genuinely selective. 233 colleges awarded a bachelor's in it in 2022-23. There are 28 colleges in California on this page and 18 of them publish an admit rate into the major. UCLA reports the hardest door: 319 students applied for Fall 2025 and 42 were admitted, 13%. Cal State Fullerton admitted 62 of its 63 applicants, 98.4%.
At a glance · All states
- 239 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's dance program: 233 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 6 more report a dance admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Point Park University (71), University of the Arts (64), University of Utah (42).
- 28 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Dance, Fall 2025: 319 applied, 42 admitted (13%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fullerton — 98.4% (63 applied, 62 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of Iowa, $60,188.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.
Most dance programs ask for an audition, and the rate on this page is the college system's count of who applied and who was admitted, not a measure of the audition itself. Several campuses report two rows, a general dance major and a professional performance track, and both are shown. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (28 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Dance, Fall 2025: 319 applied, 42 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Dance, Fall 2025: 63 applied, 62 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 319 applied, 42 admitted · admit GPA 3.81–4.22
|
Dance, General
24 graduates
|
13% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $36,277 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 182 applied, 50 admitted · admit GPA 4.04–4.25
|
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
27% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 256 applied, 82 admitted · admit GPA 3.77–4.24
|
Dance, General
18 graduates
|
32% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $44,858 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 155 applied, 61 admitted
impacted
Dance: 38.5%
|
Dance, General
7 graduates
|
39.4% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 308 applied, 122 admitted
impacted
Dance (Professional Performance): 35.0% (transfer)
|
Dance, General
37 graduates
|
39.6% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $46,387 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 270 applied, 112 admitted · admit GPA 3.78–4.22
|
Dance, General
29 graduates
|
41% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $40,466 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Theatre And Dance
Fall 2025: 292 applied, 187 admitted · admit GPA 3.82–4.21
|
— | 64% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 29 applied, 23 admitted
|
— | 79.3% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 64 applied, 52 admitted
|
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
81.2% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $44,627 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 34 applied, 28 admitted
impacted
Dance (Professional Performance): 73.3%
|
Dance, General
23 graduates
|
82.4% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 69 applied, 57 admitted
|
— | 82.6% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 121 applied, 101 admitted · admit GPA 3.36–3.95
|
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
83% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $45,804 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 27 applied, 23 admitted
|
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
85.2% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 30 applied, 26 admitted
|
— | 86.7% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 46 applied, 42 admitted
|
— | 91.3% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 59 applied, 54 admitted
|
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
91.5% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 39 applied, 37 admitted
|
— | 94.9% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Dance
Fall 2025: 63 applied, 62 admitted
impacted
|
Dance, General
11 graduates
|
98.4% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | $60,188 |
|
Stephen F Austin State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,260 | $25,791 | $57,593 |
|
Muhlenberg College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
17 graduates
|
— | 64% | $28,905 | $77,270 | $56,503 |
|
University of South Carolina-Columbia
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
15 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,811 | $31,638 | $55,274 |
|
Texas Woman's University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
16 graduates
|
— | 95% | $11,963 | $22,234 | $53,072 |
|
Texas State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
36 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,805 | $28,073 | $53,057 |
|
The University of Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
22 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,420 | $33,382 | $51,744 |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
24 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | $51,736 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
31 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $50,612 |
|
The Juilliard School
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
21 graduates
|
— | 9% | $43,571 | $83,892 | $50,287 |
|
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 72% | $15,649 | $26,243 | $49,063 |
|
Sam Houston State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
27 graduates
|
— | 85% | $16,404 | $25,505 | $48,568 |
|
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
18 graduates
|
— | 80% | $15,435 | $23,010 | $48,518 |
|
Hofstra University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
11 graduates
|
— | 71% | $34,176 | $70,624 | $48,086 |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | $48,069 |
|
Fordham University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
29 graduates
|
— | 56% | $44,338 | $82,762 | $47,036 |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, Other +1
16 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | $45,108 |
|
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
23 graduates
|
— | 90% | $10,965 | $21,373 | $45,084 |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
16 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | $43,987 |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
14 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | $42,785 |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
35 graduates
|
— | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | $42,624 |
|
Columbia College Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
15 graduates
|
— | 91% | $26,598 | $51,889 | $41,842 |
|
Anderson University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 53% | $25,021 | $51,585 | $41,772 |
|
Mercyhurst University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
12 graduates
|
— | 83% | $19,444 | $59,557 | $41,049 |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
18 graduates
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | $40,892 |
|
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
14 graduates
|
— | 75% | $19,608 | $25,537 | $40,797 |
|
SUNY Brockport
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
— | 71% | $16,353 | $26,046 | $40,516 |
|
Pace University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
20 graduates
|
— | 77% | $30,892 | $69,550 | $39,716 |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
19 graduates
|
— | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | $39,576 |
|
Montclair State University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
33 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,566 | $28,305 | $39,064 |
|
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
41 graduates
|
— | 9% | $37,050 | $84,374 | $38,571 |
|
University of the Arts
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
64 graduates
|
— | 78% | — | — | $38,520 |
|
Marymount Manhattan College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General +2
29 graduates
|
— | 79% | $36,861 | $65,767 | $38,227 |
|
Minnesota State University-Mankato
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 91% | $19,139 | $23,995 | $37,959 |
|
Point Park University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
71 graduates
|
— | 98% | $25,942 | $52,643 | $37,205 |
|
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
16 graduates
|
— | 96% | $10,359 | $19,638 | $36,925 |
|
George Mason University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
15 graduates
|
— | 89% | $17,915 | $28,604 | $36,901 |
|
Dean College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
33 graduates
|
— | 74% | $30,684 | $64,889 | $36,644 |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
17 graduates
|
— | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | $36,524 |
|
DeSales University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 79% | $31,643 | $62,745 | $36,515 |
|
Berklee College of Music
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
36 graduates
|
— | 50% | $49,465 | $72,700 | $35,702 |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | $35,288 |
|
Ball State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 72% | $14,940 | $26,146 | $34,518 |
|
Cornish College of the Arts
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 70% | $40,062 | $60,273 | $34,503 |
|
American Musical and Dramatic Academy
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, Other
25 graduates
|
— | 25% | — | $65,647 | $34,107 |
|
Oklahoma City University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
27 graduates
|
— | 70% | $22,857 | $47,247 | $34,105 |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
33 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | $34,010 |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
20 graduates
|
— | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | $33,269 |
|
University of North Carolina School of the Arts
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
34 graduates
|
— | 33% | $14,906 | $26,470 | $32,463 |
|
Belhaven University
MS · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 53% | $15,676 | $39,793 | $32,324 |
|
SUNY at Purchase College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
41 graduates
|
— | 73% | $18,913 | $29,043 | $30,406 |
|
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
— | 88% | $15,014 | $22,756 | $29,695 |
|
University of Missouri-Kansas City
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
— | 75% | $13,310 | $25,320 | $28,834 |
|
CUNY Lehman College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
14 graduates
|
— | 55% | $3,148 | $14,121 | $23,522 |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General +1
42 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General +1
29 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
24 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
22 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
Southern Methodist University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
22 graduates
|
— | 61% | $40,892 | $85,606 | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Idaho
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
20 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $15,246 | — |
|
Kennesaw State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
20 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,048 | $24,008 | — |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
20 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | — |
|
Rider University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
19 graduates
|
— | 79% | $24,792 | $55,967 | — |
|
Texas Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Ballet +1
19 graduates
|
— | 43% | $36,660 | $76,604 | — |
|
Towson University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
19 graduates
|
— | 83% | $17,413 | $28,535 | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
18 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
18 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
16 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | — |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
16 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | — |
|
New Jersey City University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
15 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,053 | $28,255 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
15 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | — |
|
Utah Valley University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
15 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Butler University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
14 graduates
|
— | 86% | $36,041 | $65,970 | — |
|
Loyola University Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
14 graduates
|
— | 81% | $36,079 | $67,408 | — |
|
Adelphi University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 78% | $30,783 | $63,189 | — |
|
Alabama State University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 96% | $20,435 | $23,586 | — |
|
Bennington College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 48% | $30,947 | $87,284 | — |
|
California Institute of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 26% | $46,080 | $77,560 | — |
|
SUNY at Fredonia
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 79% | $15,897 | $25,879 | — |
|
University of Central Oklahoma
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,309 | $26,392 | — |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
13 graduates
|
— | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | — |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General +1
12 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
12 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,559 | $20,079 | — |
|
Brenau University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
11 graduates
|
— | 87% | $18,924 | $46,010 | — |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
11 graduates
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | — |
|
Troy University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
11 graduates
|
— | 93% | $16,527 | $23,165 | — |
|
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
11 graduates
|
— | 88% | $25,648 | $32,171 | — |
|
University of Houston
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
11 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,276 | $26,185 | — |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
11 graduates
|
— | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | — |
|
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
10 graduates
|
— | 54% | $2,984 | $13,905 | — |
|
Hope College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
10 graduates
|
— | 76% | $27,182 | $55,646 | — |
|
Radford University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
10 graduates
|
— | 91% | $14,578 | $28,405 | — |
|
Shenandoah University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
10 graduates
|
— | 78% | $30,298 | $51,928 | — |
|
Texas Tech University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
10 graduates
|
— | 71% | $19,070 | $27,443 | — |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
10 graduates
|
— | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | — |
|
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
10 graduates
|
— | 86% | $15,634 | $26,415 | — |
|
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 90% | $21,279 | $31,642 | — |
|
Connecticut College
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 38% | $36,175 | $84,623 | — |
|
Jacksonville University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 57% | $25,180 | $63,969 | — |
|
Johns Hopkins University
MD · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 8% | $18,809 | $85,947 | — |
|
Manhattanville College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 85% | $20,991 | $53,499 | — |
|
Nazareth University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,357 | $58,254 | — |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | — |
|
University of Southern Mississippi
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 99% | $21,708 | $26,566 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
Wright State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
9 graduates
|
— | 95% | $15,415 | $24,373 | — |
|
Goucher College
MD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
— | 73% | $22,470 | $70,544 | — |
|
Hobart William Smith Colleges
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
— | 57% | $31,563 | $82,602 | — |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
— | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | — |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
— | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | — |
|
University of Maryland-Baltimore County
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
— | 74% | $16,467 | $28,576 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
8 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | — |
|
Grand Valley State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
7 graduates
|
— | 95% | $16,317 | $28,367 | — |
|
Oakland University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
7 graduates
|
— | 70% | $9,120 | $25,182 | — |
|
St Olaf College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
7 graduates
|
— | 52% | $23,874 | $71,843 | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
7 graduates
|
— | 70% | $15,664 | $26,433 | — |
|
University of Kansas
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
7 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,059 | $26,751 | — |
|
Western Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
7 graduates
|
— | 97% | $10,990 | $24,188 | — |
|
Winthrop University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
7 graduates
|
— | 75% | $15,343 | $30,710 | — |
|
Appalachian State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,836 | $23,169 | — |
|
College of Charleston
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,960 | $32,362 | — |
|
Elon University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 67% | $41,555 | $62,266 | — |
|
George Washington University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 44% | $36,586 | $83,856 | — |
|
Roger Williams University
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 88% | $37,999 | $61,950 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
The University of Texas at El Paso
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 100% | $9,403 | $19,836 | — |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
Webster University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 58% | $27,047 | $51,188 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
6 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Bridgewater State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,383 | $26,160 | — |
|
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 29% | $41,190 | $85,851 | — |
|
Lindenwood University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 66% | $19,638 | $35,436 | — |
|
Mount Holyoke College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 38% | $26,441 | $84,926 | — |
|
Oberlin College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 33% | $38,645 | $87,404 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
The University of Montana
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 96% | $16,784 | $23,570 | — |
|
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 85% | $4,831 | $16,830 | — |
|
University of Akron Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 71% | $13,946 | $26,284 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Reno
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,927 | $25,786 | — |
|
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,489 | $21,259 | — |
|
Utah Tech University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
West Texas A & M University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
5 graduates
|
— | 97% | $19,487 | $23,482 | — |
|
Cleveland State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $14,764 | $27,159 | — |
|
Columbia College
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $18,408 | $35,258 | — |
|
Drexel University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, Other
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $38,509 | $76,835 | — |
|
Georgian Court University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 70% | $19,285 | $50,671 | — |
|
Kenyon College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 31% | $38,512 | $87,590 | — |
|
Long Island University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 90% | $33,062 | $55,424 | — |
|
Meredith College
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 75% | $22,488 | $57,313 | — |
|
Messiah University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $26,502 | $55,875 | — |
|
Palm Beach Atlantic University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 88% | $28,354 | $53,827 | — |
|
Seton Hill University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,204 | $56,183 | — |
|
Springfield College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 70% | $30,587 | $60,729 | — |
|
Tulane University of Louisiana
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 15% | $39,949 | $87,004 | — |
|
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 58% | $17,248 | $22,519 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 36% | $29,278 | $85,962 | — |
|
Washington University in St Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
4 graduates
|
— | 12% | $21,786 | $88,488 | — |
|
Anderson University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 53% | $23,544 | $50,192 | — |
|
Barnard College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,800 | $89,538 | — |
|
Coker University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 97% | $20,286 | $45,805 | — |
|
Coppin State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 50% | $9,977 | $23,748 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Florida Southern College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 59% | $28,551 | $60,768 | — |
|
Gonzaga University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 76% | $35,119 | $73,178 | — |
|
La Roche University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 78% | $20,794 | $47,111 | — |
|
Metropolitan State University of Denver
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 99% | $15,327 | $24,622 | — |
|
Middlebury College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 10% | $31,483 | $85,880 | — |
|
Northwestern State University of Louisiana
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 94% | $13,606 | $25,431 | — |
|
SUNY College at Potsdam
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 86% | $13,624 | $25,083 | — |
|
Skidmore College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 23% | $32,297 | $85,270 | — |
|
Smith College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 20% | $27,579 | $86,030 | — |
|
Spelman College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 34% | — | $50,952 | — |
|
The University of Tampa
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 41% | $36,211 | $51,614 | — |
|
University of Hartford
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 83% | $30,282 | $64,729 | — |
|
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,851 | $34,391 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 60% | $19,343 | $35,649 | — |
|
Valdosta State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 84% | $10,945 | $20,801 | — |
|
Weber State University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Western Oregon University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
3 graduates
|
— | 99% | $17,237 | $25,062 | — |
|
Alma College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 66% | $20,694 | $63,650 | — |
|
Baldwin Wallace University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 77% | $27,603 | $55,606 | — |
|
Duke University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,612 | $87,072 | — |
|
Emory University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 11% | $22,585 | $83,622 | — |
|
Grand Canyon University
AZ · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 60% | $22,472 | $32,702 | — |
|
Gustavus Adolphus College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,900 | $67,613 | — |
|
Johnson C Smith University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 43% | $20,894 | $34,923 | — |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | — |
|
Northern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,085 | $27,841 | — |
|
Rowan University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 78% | $22,408 | $35,842 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Flint
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 69% | $7,007 | $20,915 | — |
|
Agnes Scott College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $24,754 | $63,283 | — |
|
Bard College at Simon's Rock
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Bates College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $29,351 | $83,532 | — |
|
Beloit College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 57% | $21,526 | $71,365 | — |
|
Cedar Crest College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 99% | $18,659 | $57,206 | — |
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, Other
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | — |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | — |
|
Colorado College
CO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 20% | $33,375 | $86,921 | — |
|
Colorado Mesa University
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 81% | $15,103 | $24,046 | — |
|
Denison University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $40,007 | $81,900 | — |
|
Dickinson College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 43% | $37,607 | $82,902 | — |
|
Hamilton College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 12% | $28,985 | $84,230 | — |
|
Harvey Mudd College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $35,924 | $90,165 | — |
|
Haverford College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $25,314 | $90,382 | — |
|
High Point University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 77% | $38,707 | $65,548 | — |
|
Hollins University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $20,896 | $58,698 | — |
|
Madonna University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $17,755 | $41,038 | — |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | — |
|
Ohio Wesleyan University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 51% | $20,897 | $68,424 | — |
|
Pacific University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 92% | $35,273 | $72,374 | — |
|
Reed College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 27% | $33,013 | $86,376 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | — |
|
Universidad del Sagrado Corazon
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 53% | $12,924 | — | — |
|
University of Richmond
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 23% | $31,309 | $80,961 | — |
|
University of St Thomas
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $19,359 | $45,672 | — |
|
Ursinus College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $30,536 | $76,815 | — |
|
Wesleyan University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Dance, General
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $30,177 | $89,020 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/dance, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a dance applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A dance list has to be built audition by audition, which is why the spread here matters: the same degree ran from 13% to 98.4% across California in one year. Pick campuses from both ends, and read each program's audition requirements before the application goes in. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359