By major · Aviation
Where can your student actually get into aviation?
In 2022-23, 54 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in aviation, 2 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Worldwide, with 888 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 55 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's aviation program: 54 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report an aviation admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Worldwide (888), Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Daytona Beach (516), Liberty University (441).
- 3 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): San Jose State University — Aviation, Fall 2025: 604 applied, 482 admitted (79.8%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Los Angeles — 91.0% (244 applied, 222 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: San Diego Christian College, $992 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (3 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Aviation, Fall 2025: 604 applied, 482 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Aviation, Fall 2025: 244 applied, 222 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aviation
Fall 2025: 604 applied, 482 admitted
impacted
|
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
52 graduates
|
79.8% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aviation
Fall 2025: 244 applied, 222 admitted
|
— | 91.0% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | — |
|
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Worldwide
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
888 graduates
|
— | 62% | $18,725 | $24,878 | — |
|
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Daytona Beach
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
516 graduates
|
— | 66% | $41,272 | $64,632 | — |
|
Liberty University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
441 graduates
|
— | 99% | $29,357 | $42,025 | — |
|
University of North Dakota
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
219 graduates
|
— | 77% | $18,551 | $25,605 | — |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
212 graduates
|
— | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | — |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
182 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | — |
|
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Prescott
AZ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
143 graduates
|
— | 75% | $40,287 | $62,798 | — |
|
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
120 graduates
|
— | 71% | $17,447 | $28,290 | — |
|
Minnesota State University-Mankato
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
105 graduates
|
— | 91% | $19,139 | $23,995 | — |
|
Metropolitan State University of Denver
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
102 graduates
|
— | 99% | $15,327 | $24,622 | — |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
100 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | — |
|
Middle Georgia State University
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
99 graduates
|
— | 100% | $12,361 | $19,617 | — |
|
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
89 graduates
|
— | 94% | — | $21,654 | — |
|
Florida Institute of Technology
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
81 graduates
|
— | 62% | $35,639 | $62,440 | — |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
81 graduates
|
— | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | — |
|
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
69 graduates
|
— | 81% | $24,022 | $33,007 | — |
|
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
69 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,406 | $27,402 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
66 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
Eastern Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
59 graduates
|
— | 78% | $11,040 | $23,735 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
57 graduates
|
— | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
Everglades University
FL · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
54 graduates
|
— | — | $27,371 | — | — |
|
University of Nebraska at Omaha
NE · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
51 graduates
|
— | 87% | $13,441 | $21,120 | — |
|
LeTourneau University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
49 graduates
|
— | 41% | $28,185 | $51,124 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
44 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | — |
|
Bridgewater State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
42 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,383 | $26,160 | — |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
40 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | — |
|
Saint Louis University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
36 graduates
|
— | 82% | $24,398 | $71,932 | — |
|
Elizabeth City State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
34 graduates
|
— | 70% | $6,364 | $17,701 | — |
|
Henderson State University
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
34 graduates
|
— | 82% | $23,405 | $27,385 | — |
|
Broward College
FL · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
31 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
29 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
Polk State College
FL · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
26 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Alaska Anchorage
AK · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
25 graduates
|
— | 66% | $15,301 | $24,096 | — |
|
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
24 graduates
|
— | 72% | $15,649 | $26,243 | — |
|
Green River College
WA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
21 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
19 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
Lynn University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
18 graduates
|
— | 74% | $44,089 | $67,880 | — |
|
Delaware State University
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
15 graduates
|
— | 62% | $13,910 | $27,939 | — |
|
Lewis University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
14 graduates
|
— | 73% | $17,028 | $47,313 | — |
|
Florida Memorial University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
13 graduates
|
— | 74% | $23,238 | $35,809 | — |
|
Indiana State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
13 graduates
|
— | 92% | $10,873 | $24,535 | — |
|
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
12 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,338 | $25,941 | — |
|
Andrews University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
9 graduates
|
— | 87% | $12,547 | $45,218 | — |
|
Delta State University
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
9 graduates
|
— | 100% | $13,540 | $22,445 | — |
|
University of Nebraska at Kearney
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
8 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,242 | $25,808 | — |
|
University of Memphis
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
7 graduates
|
— | 93% | $12,397 | $25,169 | — |
|
Fairmont State University
WV · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
6 graduates
|
— | 99% | $9,032 | $20,018 | — |
|
University of Louisiana at Monroe
LA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
6 graduates
|
— | 75% | $13,466 | $24,932 | — |
|
Geneva College
PA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $25,890 | — | — |
|
Hampton University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
1 graduate
|
— | 48% | $25,319 | $46,027 | — |
|
San Diego Christian College
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $992 | — | — |
|
South Dakota State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
1 graduate
|
— | 99% | $19,841 | $24,636 | — |
|
Westminster University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aeronautics/Aviation/Aerospace Science and Technology, General
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $27,094 | $57,616 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/aviation, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a aviation applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 54 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359