At a glance · All states

  • 91 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's dental hygiene program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: West Coast University-Orange County (70), Oregon Institute of Technology (64), MCPHS University (62).
  • 6 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
  • Lowest average net price with aid: Indiana University-Northwest, $5,130 per year.

Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (6 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →

Lowest net price with aid

$5,130
Indiana University-Northwest
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
West Coast University-Orange County
CA · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
70 graduates
— — $32,879 — —
Oregon Institute of Technology
OR · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
64 graduates
— 92% $15,706 $27,524 —
MCPHS University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
62 graduates
— 85% $39,545 $65,022 —
Minnesota State University-Mankato
MN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
61 graduates
— 91% $19,139 $23,995 —
Careers Unlimited
UT · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
59 graduates
— — — — —
West Los Angeles College
CA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
56 graduates
— — — — —
Wichita State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
56 graduates
— 95% $13,194 $21,780 —
Foothill College
CA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
54 graduates
— — — — —
Texas Woman's University
TX · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
51 graduates
— 95% $11,963 $22,234 —
Old Dominion University
VA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
47 graduates
— 90% $14,638 $29,446 —
Eastern Washington University
WA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
46 graduates
— 92% $13,886 $24,478 —
University of Oklahoma-Health Sciences Center
OK · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
46 graduates
— — — — —
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
43 graduates
— 51% $17,339 $30,305 —
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
43 graduates
— 96% $15,489 $21,259 —
Indiana University-Indianapolis
IN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
38 graduates
— 81% $11,668 $23,316 —
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
38 graduates
— 91% $14,158 $29,933 —
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New Orleans
LA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
37 graduates
— — — — —
Herzing University-Minneapolis
MN · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
35 graduates
— — $16,670 — —
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
TN · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
35 graduates
— — — — —
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
AR · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
35 graduates
— — — — —
University of New England
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
35 graduates
— 89% $38,107 $63,245 —
East Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
34 graduates
— 87% $15,983 $27,042 —
West Liberty University
WV · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
34 graduates
— 72% $15,366 $23,809 —
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
33 graduates
— 18% $13,138 $34,654 —
University of Missouri-Kansas City
MO · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
32 graduates
— 75% $13,310 $25,320 —
University of South Dakota
SD · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
32 graduates
— 99% $19,858 $24,422 —
Western Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
32 graduates
— 97% $10,990 $24,188 —
Clayton State University
GA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
31 graduates
— 71% $8,365 $17,415 —
South College
TN · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
31 graduates
— — — — —
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
31 graduates
— 90% $13,297 $28,329 —
Lake Washington Institute of Technology
WA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
30 graduates
— — — — —
Pacific University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
30 graduates
— 92% $35,273 $72,374 —
University of Bridgeport
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
30 graduates
— 64% $27,807 $52,957 —
University of Detroit Mercy
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
30 graduates
— 80% $15,232 $42,211 —
Weber State University
UT · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
30 graduates
— — — — —
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
29 graduates
— 63% $21,315 $32,696 —
University of Louisiana at Monroe
LA · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
29 graduates
— 75% $13,466 $24,932 —
University of Louisville
KY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
29 graduates
— 80% $17,988 $32,941 —
Augusta University
GA · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
28 graduates
— 89% $13,787 $23,524 —
Indiana University-Northwest
IN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
28 graduates
— 77% $5,130 $13,989 —
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
27 graduates
— 95% $25,447 $71,515 —
Idaho State University
ID · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
26 graduates
— — $12,193 — —
Pennsylvania College of Technology
PA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
26 graduates
— — — — —
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
TX · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
26 graduates
— — — — —
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
26 graduates
— 77% $16,778 $30,061 —
University of Southern Indiana
IN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
25 graduates
— 95% — $22,383 —
University of Nebraska Medical Center
NE · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
24 graduates
— — — — —
Utah Tech University
UT · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
24 graduates
— — — — —
University of New Haven
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
23 graduates
— 80% $34,192 $66,962 —
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
23 graduates
— 86% $15,634 $26,415 —
Clark College
WA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
22 graduates
— — — — —
Loma Linda University
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
22 graduates
— — — — —
Pierce College District
WA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
22 graduates
— — — — —
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
TX · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
22 graduates
— — — — —
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
22 graduates
— 80% $12,767 $21,708 —
San Joaquin Valley College-Visalia
CA · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
21 graduates
— — — — —
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
NC · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
21 graduates
— 19% $11,655 $26,055 —
Georgia Highlands College
GA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
20 graduates
— — — — —
Tyler Junior College
TX · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
20 graduates
— — — — —
University of Mississippi
MS · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
20 graduates
— 98% $13,314 $28,660 —
University of Wyoming
WY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
20 graduates
— 97% $13,599 $24,818 —
Utah Valley University
UT · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
20 graduates
— — — — —
Indiana University-South Bend
IN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
19 graduates
— 86% $8,653 $17,364 —
Midwestern State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
18 graduates
— 87% $11,656 $22,652 —
Regis College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
18 graduates
— 89% $27,477 $65,546 —
Yakima Valley College
WA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
18 graduates
— — — — —
Tennessee Wesleyan University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
17 graduates
— 59% $14,836 $39,440 —
Columbia Basin College
WA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
16 graduates
— — — — —
Vermont State University
VT · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
15 graduates
— 83% $18,212 $25,988 —
Farmingdale State College
NY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
14 graduates
— 69% $10,867 $18,966 —
Ferris State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
14 graduates
— 81% $8,624 $27,048 —
University of Arkansas-Fort Smith
AR · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
14 graduates
— 82% — $19,048 —
University of Maryland, Baltimore
MD · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
13 graduates
— — — — —
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
13 graduates
— 93% $23,433 $38,954 —
Truckee Meadows Community College
NV · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
12 graduates
— — — — —
Metropolitan State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
11 graduates
— 96% $16,863 $25,172 —
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
11 graduates
— 9% $37,050 $84,374 —
University of Alaska Anchorage
AK · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
10 graduates
— 66% $15,301 $24,096 —
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
9 graduates
— 50% $30,434 $38,105 —
Community College of Denver
CO · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
8 graduates
— — — — —
Concorde Career College-Kansas City
MO · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
8 graduates
— — — — —
University of Maine at Augusta
ME · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
7 graduates
— — $10,924 — —
College of Southern Nevada
NV · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
6 graduates
— — — — —
Marian University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
5 graduates
— 67% $21,937 $44,450 —
Plaza College
NY · Private for-profit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
5 graduates
— 30% — $26,525 —
Pueblo Community College
CO · Public
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
4 graduates
— — — — —
Rhode Island College
RI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
2 graduates
— 81% $9,478 $17,454 —
Siena Heights University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
2 graduates
— 67% $17,124 $44,449 —
Georgia State University
GA · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
1 graduate
— 62% $15,931 $28,241 —
Lewis University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
1 graduate
— 73% $17,028 $47,313 —
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Dental Hygiene/Hygienist
1 graduate
— 70% $15,664 $26,433 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/dental-hygiene, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a dental hygiene applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

With 91 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359