By major · Wildlife Science and Management
Where can your student actually get into wildlife science and management?
In 2022-23, 56 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in wildlife science and management, 2 of them in California. The biggest program that year was California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt, with 98 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 56 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's wildlife science and management program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt (98), University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (83), University of California-Davis (77).
- 2 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus, $4,904 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (2 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
98 graduates
|
— | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
83 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,559 | $20,079 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
77 graduates
|
— | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
Tarleton State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
75 graduates
|
— | 94% | $20,783 | $24,100 | — |
|
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
70 graduates
|
— | 57% | $24,953 | $36,951 | — |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
69 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | — |
|
The University of Montana
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
62 graduates
|
— | 96% | $16,784 | $23,570 | — |
|
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
62 graduates
|
— | 86% | $15,634 | $26,415 | — |
|
Mississippi State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
58 graduates
|
— | 76% | $17,595 | $29,267 | — |
|
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
55 graduates
|
— | 77% | $21,440 | $34,321 | — |
|
Delaware Valley University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
48 graduates
|
— | 92% | $28,278 | $59,933 | — |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
47 graduates
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Reno
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
43 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,927 | $25,786 | — |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
42 graduates
|
— | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
41 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
Tennessee Technological University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
40 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,246 | $25,663 | — |
|
South Dakota State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
37 graduates
|
— | 99% | $19,841 | $24,636 | — |
|
University of Maine
ME · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
37 graduates
|
— | 96% | $17,510 | $27,328 | — |
|
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
36 graduates
|
— | 46% | $18,976 | $33,678 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
35 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
Murray State University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
32 graduates
|
— | 86% | $9,096 | $23,485 | — |
|
University of New Hampshire-Main Campus
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
30 graduates
|
— | 87% | $23,805 | $35,537 | — |
|
Bemidji State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
26 graduates
|
— | 71% | $15,261 | $22,744 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-Kingsville
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
26 graduates
|
— | 92% | $12,090 | $24,060 | — |
|
Oregon State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
24 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,604 | $31,653 | — |
|
Missouri Western State University
MO · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
23 graduates
|
— | — | $13,251 | — | — |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
23 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | — |
|
SUNY College of Agriculture and Technology at Cobleskill
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
23 graduates
|
— | 83% | $18,701 | $27,786 | — |
|
University of Idaho
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
22 graduates
|
— | 79% | $14,831 | $23,738 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
20 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
Missouri State University-Springfield
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
19 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,613 | $25,048 | — |
|
Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science
NY · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
19 graduates
|
— | — | $26,683 | — | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Idaho
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
17 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $15,246 | — |
|
Michigan Technological University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
17 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,182 | $34,152 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-Commerce
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
17 graduates
|
— | 93% | $11,841 | $23,438 | — |
|
Pennsylvania Western University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
16 graduates
|
— | 94% | $18,256 | $26,916 | — |
|
University of Alaska Fairbanks
AK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
16 graduates
|
— | — | $10,892 | — | — |
|
Unity Environmental University
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
14 graduates
|
— | 82% | $19,104 | $21,931 | — |
|
Valley City State University
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
14 graduates
|
— | 69% | $11,890 | $20,468 | — |
|
Otterbein University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
13 graduates
|
— | 83% | $19,237 | $48,321 | — |
|
Arkansas State University
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
12 graduates
|
— | 70% | $12,366 | $25,082 | — |
|
Arkansas Tech University
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
12 graduates
|
— | 96% | — | $22,808 | — |
|
Eastern Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
11 graduates
|
— | 78% | $11,040 | $23,735 | — |
|
Montana State University
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
11 graduates
|
— | 87% | $22,499 | $25,905 | — |
|
Western New Mexico University
NM · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
10 graduates
|
— | — | $8,522 | — | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
9 graduates
|
— | 58% | $12,675 | — | — |
|
College of the Ozarks
MO · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
8 graduates
|
— | 15% | $6,100 | $33,734 | — |
|
McNeese State University
LA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
8 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,493 | $22,810 | — |
|
Northwest Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
7 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,244 | $24,945 | — |
|
Juniata College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
6 graduates
|
— | 72% | $23,988 | $71,850 | — |
|
Stephen F Austin State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
5 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,260 | $25,791 | — |
|
Frostburg State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
4 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,715 | $27,056 | — |
|
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
3 graduates
|
— | 55% | $4,904 | $18,940 | — |
|
University of Alaska Southeast
AK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Dakota Wesleyan University
SD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $19,735 | $43,864 | — |
|
Salish Kootenai College
MT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Wildlife, Fish and Wildlands Science and Management
1 graduate
|
— | — | $7,945 | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/wildlife-science-and-management, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a wildlife science and management applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 56 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359