At a glance · All states

  • 71 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's Chinese language and literature program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: CUNY Hunter College (19), University of Hawaii at Manoa (17), University of Rhode Island (17).
  • 9 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
  • Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.

Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (9 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →

Lowest net price with aid

$2,984
CUNY Hunter College
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
19 graduates
— 54% $2,984 $13,905 —
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
17 graduates
— 70% $15,664 $26,433 —
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
17 graduates
— 77% $21,440 $34,321 —
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
10 graduates
— 69% $15,564 $22,690 —
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
9 graduates
— 68% $4,195 $14,367 —
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
9 graduates
— 96% $12,278 $26,488 —
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
9 graduates
— 45% $15,678 $29,299 —
Western Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
9 graduates
— 97% $10,990 $24,188 —
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
8 graduates
— 54% $32,875 $39,694 —
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
8 graduates
— 85% $22,182 $34,793 —
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
8 graduates
— 91% $21,193 $30,359 —
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
7 graduates
— 51% $17,339 $30,305 —
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
7 graduates
— 65% $24,406 $36,993 —
St Olaf College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
7 graduates
— 52% $23,874 $71,843 —
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
7 graduates
— 46% $14,741 $41,238 —
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
7 graduates
— 43% $17,354 $28,679 —
Hamilton College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 12% $28,985 $84,230 —
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 84% $19,680 $32,198 —
United States Military Academy
NY · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 14% — — —
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 11% $12,548 $38,614 —
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 83% $25,346 $37,684 —
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 54% $25,097 $39,426 —
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 50% $30,434 $38,105 —
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 94% — $21,654 —
Williams College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 10% $17,716 $84,860 —
Wofford College
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
6 graduates
— 59% $18,732 $72,441 —
College of the Holy Cross
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
5 graduates
— 21% $38,782 $80,334 —
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
5 graduates
— 44% $16,109 $41,573 —
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
5 graduates
— 58% $22,383 $34,549 —
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
5 graduates
— 87% $16,200 $25,557 —
Middlebury College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
4 graduates
— 10% $31,483 $85,880 —
Bennington College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 48% $30,947 $87,284 —
North Central College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 58% $21,044 $57,219 —
Reed College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 27% $33,013 $86,376 —
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 80% $13,760 $26,593 —
Southern Methodist University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 61% $40,892 $85,606 —
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 88% $14,304 $38,942 —
University of Mississippi
MS · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 98% $13,314 $28,660 —
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 76% $15,300 $28,872 —
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 42% $14,091 $32,446 —
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 86% $15,634 $26,415 —
Whitman College
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
3 graduates
— 50% $33,313 $78,092 —
Boston University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 11% $24,402 $86,285 —
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 92% $3,967 $18,403 —
Davidson College
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 14% $17,379 $79,475 —
George Washington University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 44% $36,586 $83,856 —
Georgetown University
DC · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 13% $40,815 $88,741 —
Macalester College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 28% $32,149 $82,991 —
Swarthmore College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 7% $23,149 $84,103 —
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 10% $13,481 $45,619 —
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 65% $17,799 $30,952 —
Washington University in St Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
2 graduates
— 12% $21,786 $88,488 —
Bentley University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 48% $37,930 $79,548 —
Calvin University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 71% $22,992 $54,222 —
Carnegie Mellon University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 11% $31,944 $83,654 —
Carthage College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 84% $26,565 $50,822 —
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 29% $41,190 $85,851 —
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 11% $28,849 $86,500 —
DePauw University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 54% $22,264 $74,320 —
Dickinson College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 43% $37,607 $82,902 —
Emory University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 11% $22,585 $83,622 —
Norwich University
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 74% $22,257 $67,357 —
Oakland University
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 70% $9,120 $25,182 —
Portland State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 91% $9,552 $21,590 —
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 83% $28,198 $40,903 —
Tufts University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 10% $39,998 $88,300 —
United States Naval Academy
MD · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 9% — — —
University of Puget Sound
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 76% $38,394 $78,378 —
University of Tulsa
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 58% $15,000 $64,459 —
Vassar College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 18% $39,343 $87,419 —
Washington State University
WA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chinese Language and Literature
1 graduate
— 85% $14,971 $27,648 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/chinese, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a Chinese language and literature applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

With 71 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359