By major · Missionary Studies
Where can your student actually get into missionary studies?
In 2022-23, 56 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in missionary studies, one of them in California. The biggest program that year was Moody Bible Institute, with 74 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 56 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's missionary studies program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Moody Bible Institute (74), Bethany Global University (54), Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary (17).
- 1 of them is in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: Allegheny Wesleyan College, $5,355 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (1 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Moody Bible Institute
IL · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
74 graduates
|
— | — | $22,221 | — | — |
|
Bethany Global University
MN · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
54 graduates
|
— | — | $37,790 | — | — |
|
Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
MO · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
17 graduates
|
— | — | $23,006 | — | — |
|
Columbia International University
SC · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
15 graduates
|
— | — | $26,036 | — | — |
|
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 77% | $13,090 | $22,632 | — |
|
Truett McConnell University
GA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
10 graduates
|
— | — | $22,227 | — | — |
|
Mission University
MO · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
9 graduates
|
— | — | $21,383 | — | — |
|
North Greenville University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 63% | $21,063 | $42,034 | — |
|
Palm Beach Atlantic University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 88% | $28,354 | $53,827 | — |
|
Olivet Nazarene University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 67% | $20,729 | $51,981 | — |
|
Johnson University
TN · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 54% | $22,063 | $34,244 | — |
|
Samford University
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 82% | $32,622 | $57,456 | — |
|
Dallas Baptist University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 91% | $28,516 | $52,716 | — |
|
Evangel University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 69% | $18,669 | $39,956 | — |
|
Lubbock Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 73% | $24,456 | $41,944 | — |
|
Ouachita Baptist University
AR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 68% | $22,409 | $47,321 | — |
|
Ozark Christian College
MO · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
6 graduates
|
— | — | $20,580 | — | — |
|
Toccoa Falls College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 64% | $21,642 | $37,561 | — |
|
Lancaster Bible College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,480 | $44,066 | — |
|
University of Northwestern-St Paul
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 92% | $27,705 | $51,325 | — |
|
Boise Bible College
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,058 | $23,301 | — |
|
Trinity Bible College and Graduate School
ND · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 36% | $19,359 | $31,544 | — |
|
Union University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 47% | $27,171 | $58,363 | — |
|
Allegheny Wesleyan College
OH · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | — | $5,355 | — | — |
|
Bethel University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 99% | $18,610 | $43,885 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
Cedarville University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 63% | $24,468 | $49,320 | — |
|
Dordt University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 71% | $25,807 | $51,733 | — |
|
Emmaus Bible College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 98% | — | $30,971 | — |
|
Northwest University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 88% | $22,288 | $50,501 | — |
|
Oklahoma Baptist University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 56% | $20,958 | $48,695 | — |
|
Southwestern Assemblies of God University
TX · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 84% | $21,662 | $34,504 | — |
|
University of Valley Forge
PA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | — | $32,265 | — | — |
|
Welch College
TN · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
3 graduates
|
— | — | $25,263 | — | — |
|
Asbury University
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 64% | $21,401 | $47,459 | — |
|
Baptist University of Florida
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 64% | $10,372 | $23,159 | — |
|
Clarks Summit University
PA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Colorado Christian University
CO · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
2 graduates
|
— | — | $29,500 | — | — |
|
Corban University
OR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
2 graduates
|
— | — | $28,035 | — | — |
|
Faith Baptist Bible College and Theological Seminary
IA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 50% | $16,282 | $32,722 | — |
|
Lee University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,878 | $35,688 | — |
|
Manna University
NC · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
2 graduates
|
— | — | $15,210 | — | — |
|
Milligan University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 70% | $21,365 | $52,511 | — |
|
Barclay College
KS · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | — | $29,290 | — | — |
|
Bushnell University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 66% | $20,789 | $47,143 | — |
|
Campbellsville University
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 98% | $19,341 | $42,603 | — |
|
Central Baptist College
AR · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 46% | $12,287 | $30,605 | — |
|
Charleston Southern University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $21,666 | $44,558 | — |
|
Cornerstone University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 73% | $20,301 | $42,043 | — |
|
Freed-Hardeman University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $21,574 | $38,315 | — |
|
Geneva College
PA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | — | $25,890 | — | — |
|
George Fox University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $31,679 | $58,644 | — |
|
Mount Vernon Nazarene University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 84% | $22,421 | $49,858 | — |
|
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary
LA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | — | $10,829 | — | — |
|
Southwestern Christian University
OK · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | — | $20,146 | — | — |
|
The King's University
TX · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Missions/Missionary Studies
1 graduate
|
— | — | $14,140 | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/missionary-studies, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a missionary studies applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 56 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359