By major · Family and Consumer Sciences
Where can your student actually get into family and consumer sciences?
In 2022-23, 64 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in family and consumer sciences, 5 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Texas Tech University, with 379 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 64 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's family and consumer sciences program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Texas Tech University (379), California State University-Long Beach (274), Montana State University (145).
- 5 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Queens College, $4,195 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (5 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Texas Tech University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
379 graduates
|
— | 71% | $19,070 | $27,443 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
274 graduates
|
— | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
Montana State University
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
145 graduates
|
— | 87% | $22,499 | $25,905 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
125 graduates
|
— | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | — |
|
The University of Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
117 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,420 | $33,382 | — |
|
Stephen F Austin State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
69 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,260 | $25,791 | — |
|
North Carolina Central University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
58 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,359 | $26,556 | — |
|
Tennessee Technological University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
52 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,246 | $25,663 | — |
|
University of Central Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
44 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,511 | $25,029 | — |
|
Southeastern Louisiana University
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
41 graduates
|
— | 94% | $13,154 | $23,604 | — |
|
Minnesota State University-Mankato
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
39 graduates
|
— | 91% | $19,139 | $23,995 | — |
|
Southeast Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
37 graduates
|
— | 78% | $15,882 | $25,177 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
35 graduates
|
— | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | — |
|
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
30 graduates
|
— | 68% | $4,195 | $14,367 | — |
|
Jacksonville State University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
28 graduates
|
— | 76% | $14,279 | $24,257 | — |
|
South Carolina State University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
28 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,097 | $30,015 | — |
|
University of Wyoming
WY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
26 graduates
|
— | 97% | $13,599 | $24,818 | — |
|
Delta State University
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
25 graduates
|
— | 100% | $13,540 | $22,445 | — |
|
The University of Tennessee-Martin
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
24 graduates
|
— | 87% | $10,701 | $23,079 | — |
|
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
24 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,489 | $21,259 | — |
|
Illinois State University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
23 graduates
|
— | 89% | $19,398 | $34,309 | — |
|
Eastern Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
21 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,786 | $26,996 | — |
|
Liberty University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
18 graduates
|
— | 99% | $29,357 | $42,025 | — |
|
North Carolina A & T State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
15 graduates
|
— | 46% | $10,846 | $20,427 | — |
|
Southern University and A & M College
LA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
15 graduates
|
— | 50% | $20,077 | $26,341 | — |
|
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
15 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,851 | $34,391 | — |
|
Texas Southern University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
14 graduates
|
— | 93% | $16,590 | $27,052 | — |
|
Henderson State University
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
13 graduates
|
— | 82% | $23,405 | $27,385 | — |
|
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
13 graduates
|
— | 82% | $28,384 | $38,757 | — |
|
Morgan State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
13 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,985 | $25,413 | — |
|
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
11 graduates
|
— | 90% | $21,279 | $31,642 | — |
|
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
11 graduates
|
— | 58% | $12,653 | $21,129 | — |
|
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
11 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,338 | $25,941 | — |
|
Alabama A & M University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
10 graduates
|
— | 66% | $17,621 | $27,153 | — |
|
Pittsburg State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
10 graduates
|
— | 88% | — | $22,099 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
9 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | — |
|
University of Montevallo
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
9 graduates
|
— | 54% | $17,683 | $27,398 | — |
|
Chadron State College
NE · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
8 graduates
|
— | — | $12,549 | — | — |
|
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
8 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,406 | $27,402 | — |
|
Iowa State University
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
7 graduates
|
— | 89% | $18,589 | $24,018 | — |
|
Mississippi University for Women
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
7 graduates
|
— | 100% | $12,411 | $22,225 | — |
|
Fort Valley State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
6 graduates
|
— | 63% | $10,338 | $19,879 | — |
|
Sam Houston State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
6 graduates
|
— | 85% | $16,404 | $25,505 | — |
|
Bridgewater College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
5 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,800 | $58,702 | — |
|
East Central University
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
5 graduates
|
— | 66% | $8,683 | $18,459 | — |
|
Freed-Hardeman University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
5 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,574 | $38,315 | — |
|
Oklahoma Baptist University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
5 graduates
|
— | 56% | $20,958 | $48,695 | — |
|
Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
4 graduates
|
— | 91% | $16,804 | $26,898 | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
4 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
SUNY Oneonta
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
4 graduates
|
— | 70% | $19,158 | $28,821 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Idaho
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
3 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $15,246 | — |
|
Texas Woman's University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
3 graduates
|
— | 95% | $11,963 | $22,234 | — |
|
Baylor University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
2 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,104 | $74,226 | — |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
2 graduates
|
— | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
Carson-Newman University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $20,251 | $49,024 | — |
|
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
1 graduate
|
— | 55% | $4,904 | $18,940 | — |
|
Olivet Nazarene University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $20,729 | $51,981 | — |
|
Seattle Pacific University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $24,488 | $56,826 | — |
|
Union University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
1 graduate
|
— | 47% | $27,171 | $58,363 | — |
|
Western Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
1 graduate
|
— | 75% | $12,937 | $28,254 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/family-and-consumer-sciences, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a family and consumer sciences applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 64 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359