By major · Engineering Technology
Where can your student actually get into engineering technology?
In 2022-23, 53 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in engineering technology, one of them in California. The biggest program that year was New Jersey Institute of Technology, with 182 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 54 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's engineering technology program: 53 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report an engineering technology admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: New Jersey Institute of Technology (182), San Jose State University (101), University of Colorado Boulder (67).
- 2 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State University-Los Angeles — Engineering Technology, Fall 2025: 229 applied, 207 admitted (90.4%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: San Jose State University — 90.8% (903 applied, 820 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (2 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Engineering Technology, Fall 2025: 229 applied, 207 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Engineering Technology, Fall 2025: 903 applied, 820 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Engineering Technology
Fall 2025: 229 applied, 207 admitted
|
— | 90.4% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Engineering Technology
Fall 2025: 903 applied, 820 admitted
impacted
|
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
101 graduates
|
90.8% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
New Jersey Institute of Technology
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
182 graduates
|
— | 67% | $16,504 | $32,859 | — |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
67 graduates
|
— | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | — |
|
Kennesaw State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
60 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,048 | $24,008 | — |
|
Tennessee Technological University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
57 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,246 | $25,663 | — |
|
Northern Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
56 graduates
|
— | 70% | $13,391 | $28,851 | — |
|
Texas State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
47 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,805 | $28,073 | — |
|
Austin Peay State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
46 graduates
|
— | 96% | $9,735 | $22,233 | — |
|
Eastern Washington University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
44 graduates
|
— | 92% | $13,886 | $24,478 | — |
|
Morehead State University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
44 graduates
|
— | 82% | $9,793 | $21,961 | — |
|
Western Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
44 graduates
|
— | 87% | $13,315 | $19,992 | — |
|
East Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
42 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,983 | $27,042 | — |
|
Miami University-Hamilton
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
42 graduates
|
— | — | $11,286 | — | — |
|
University of Memphis
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
40 graduates
|
— | 93% | $12,397 | $25,169 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stout
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
40 graduates
|
— | 85% | $17,490 | $22,797 | — |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
37 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | — |
|
Southeast Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
37 graduates
|
— | 78% | $15,882 | $25,177 | — |
|
Fort Hays State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
34 graduates
|
— | 92% | $12,569 | $19,909 | — |
|
Kent State University at Tuscarawas
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
31 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
31 graduates
|
— | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | — |
|
Southeastern Louisiana University
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
31 graduates
|
— | 94% | $13,154 | $23,604 | — |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
29 graduates
|
— | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | — |
|
Wichita State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
28 graduates
|
— | 95% | $13,194 | $21,780 | — |
|
Bemidji State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
27 graduates
|
— | 71% | $15,261 | $22,744 | — |
|
Illinois State University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
26 graduates
|
— | 89% | $19,398 | $34,309 | — |
|
University of Central Missouri
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
26 graduates
|
— | 69% | $14,462 | $22,947 | — |
|
Grambling State University
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
24 graduates
|
— | 24% | $19,809 | $25,367 | — |
|
University of West Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
21 graduates
|
— | 57% | $9,364 | $19,947 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
20 graduates
|
— | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
Berea College
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
19 graduates
|
— | 33% | $6,106 | $60,718 | — |
|
New York Institute of Technology
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
19 graduates
|
— | 78% | $22,443 | $56,976 | — |
|
Western Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
19 graduates
|
— | 75% | $12,937 | $28,254 | — |
|
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
18 graduates
|
— | 100% | $14,459 | $23,334 | — |
|
University of North Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
15 graduates
|
— | 96% | $12,170 | $23,786 | — |
|
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
15 graduates
|
— | 36% | $29,278 | $85,962 | — |
|
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
12 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,406 | $27,402 | — |
|
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
11 graduates
|
— | 55% | $4,904 | $18,940 | — |
|
Lawrence Technological University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
9 graduates
|
— | 80% | $32,918 | $58,166 | — |
|
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
9 graduates
|
— | 85% | $20,183 | $25,385 | — |
|
Eastern Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
8 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,786 | $26,996 | — |
|
Bellingham Technical College
WA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
West Texas A & M University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
7 graduates
|
— | 97% | $19,487 | $23,482 | — |
|
University of Alabama in Huntsville
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
6 graduates
|
— | 74% | $18,796 | $27,392 | — |
|
Drexel University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
5 graduates
|
— | 78% | $38,509 | $76,835 | — |
|
Miami University-Middletown
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | $10,809 | — | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
4 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $4,831 | $16,830 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-River Falls
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $14,054 | $19,781 | — |
|
Berry College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
3 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,320 | $56,697 | — |
|
University of West Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
3 graduates
|
— | 87% | $12,684 | $22,758 | — |
|
West Virginia University Institute of Technology
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
3 graduates
|
— | 61% | $9,337 | $18,907 | — |
|
Bryan College-Dayton
TN · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | $20,614 | — | — |
|
Indiana State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
2 graduates
|
— | 92% | $10,873 | $24,535 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/engineering-technology, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a engineering technology applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 53 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359