A parent's read

  • Top feeder high schools: Mira Costa High School (15), Saint Augustine High School (15), Faith Lutheran Middle School & High School (9), Orange County School of the Arts (8), Santa Margarita Catholic High School (8). Graduates per class year, from each high school's own published list. 92 high schools' lists name San Diego State University; every one is ranked below.
  • The major moves the money more than the admit letter. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing grads from here earn about $120,799 four years out; fine and studio arts grads about $35,416 — a 3.4× spread on the same diploma. Have the major conversation before you deposit, not after.
  • The payoff holds even at full price: roughly 6× over a decade. With no aid at all — the full in-state ~$27,780/yr — a decade of median earnings (~$64,909/yr) still runs about 6× the four-year cost. This payoff doesn't depend on qualifying for anything. (Out-of-state costs more.)

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Get your child's odds at San Diego State University Free Family Decision Report — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + your real net price. San Diego State University starts already on the list. Start →

Feeder high schools

Which high schools send graduates to San Diego State University?

The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to San Diego State University, from each school's own published list: Mira Costa High School (15), Saint Augustine High School (15), Faith Lutheran Middle School & High School (9), Orange County School of the Arts (8), Santa Margarita Catholic High School (8). 92 high schools' lists name San Diego State University.

Enrolled — from the schools' matriculation lists

The ten largest, per class year Enrolled per class year
1 Mira Costa High SchoolManhattan Beach, CA 15.0
2 Saint Augustine High SchoolSan Diego, CA 15.0
5 Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolRancho Santa Margarita, CA 8.0
6 Mountain View High SchoolMountain View, CA 7.0
8 Francis Parker SchoolSan Diego, CA 5.0
9 Punahou SchoolHonolulu, HI 5.0
All 92 schools, with the class years each list covers
Mira Costa High School · Class of 2026 15.0 · 15 over 1 class year
Saint Augustine High School · Class of 2026 15.0 · 15 over 1 class year
Faith Lutheran Middle School & High School · Class of 2026 9.0 · 9 over 1 class year
Orange County School of the Arts · Class of 2026 8.0 · 8 over 1 class year
Santa Margarita Catholic High School · Class of 2025 8.0 · 8 over 1 class year
Mountain View High School · CLASS of 2020, 2021, 2022 7.0 · 21 over 3 class years
New Trier Township High School Winnetka · Class of 2025 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
Francis Parker School · 2022-2025 5.0 · 20 over 4 class years
Punahou School · over the last four years: 2026, 2025, 2024, and 2023 As published 5.0 · 20 over 4 class years
Bellarmine Preparatory School · Class of 2026 5.0 · 5 over 1 class year
Henry M. Gunn High School · 2026 As published 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
La Jolla Country Day School · 2023-2025 3.3 · 10 over 3 class years
Valley Christian High School · Class of 2024 & 2025 3.0 · 6 over 2 class years
California School of the Arts — San Gabriel Valley · Class of 2026 · counted column: Matriculation (Class of 2026) 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Cardinal Newman High School · Class of 2025 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Ridgewood High School · Class of 2023 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
The Pembroke Hill School - Wornall Campus · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Albuquerque Academy · The classes of 2023-26 have matriculated at the following colleges and universities As published 2.2 · 9 over 4 class years
Kamehameha Schools Kapalama Campus · the last seven years, 2017-2023 2.1 · 15 over 7 class years
Notre Dame High School · 2022 - 2025 2.0 · 8 over 4 class years
Depaul College Prep · Class of 2025 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Notre Dame School of Manhattan · Class of 2025 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Palma High School · Class of 2025 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Palo Alto Senior High School · 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026 · counted column: 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Stevenson School · Class of 2025 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Viewpoint School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Edina Senior High · CLASSES OF 2021-2025 · counted column: POST-SECONDARY PLANS, Classes of 2021-2025 (number of graduates) 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy · Past 3 Years 1.3 · 4 over 3 class years
Santa Catalina School · Classes of 2021-2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Athenian School · In the past four years, (2023-2026) As published 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
Hawaii Preparatory Academy · The classes of 2017 to 2020 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
St. John's School · Classes of 2018–2022 · counted column: Total number of St. John’s School students from the classes of 2020–2023 that enrolled at each institution 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Academy-Notre Dame de Namur · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Bishop Feehan · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Bullis School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Fenwick High School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Greenwich High School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
McDonogh School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Princeton High School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Wellesley Sr High · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Weston High · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Westwood High School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Bentley School · College Matriculations 2022–2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Lick Wilmerding High School · past four years 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Lynbrook High School · 2022-2025 As published 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
The Bishop's School · the Class of 2025 as well as the Classes of 2022-2025 As published 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Marin Academy · CLASSES OF 2023–2025 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
Berwick Academy · past five graduating classes (2022 – 2026) As published 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Germantown Academy · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Severn School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Urban School of San Francisco · 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Bergen County Academies · 2019-2022 · counted column: COLLEGE ENROLLMENTS 2019-2022 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Colorado Academy · Classes 2022-2025 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Greenhill School · 2022 - 2025 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Newark Academy · 2023-2026 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Charles Wright Academy · Class of 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Friends Central School · 2019-2023 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Hathaway Brown School · 2022 - 2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Oregon Episcopal School · Classes of 2022-26 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Phoenix Country Day School · Classes of 2021-25 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Portledge School · Classes of 2022–2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Springside Chestnut Hill Academy · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
St. Stephen's Episcopal School (Austin) · Classes of 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Benjamin Private School, Inc. · Classes of 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Meadows School · Over the past five years (2020 to 2024) As published 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Key School · 2021 - 2026 0.3 · 2 over 6 class years
The Bush School · 2020-2025 0.3 · 2 over 6 class years
Branson School · Branson Classes of 2024-2026 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
Sage Hill School · 2023-2025 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
Westridge School · 2021-2023 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
Archmere Academy · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Asheville School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Convent of the Sacred Heart · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Eastside Preparatory School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Gould Academy · Matches made by Gould students from 2020 to 2025 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
Greenwich Academy · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Poly Prep Country Day School · Classes of 2022-2026 · counted column: Classes of 2022-2026 (five-year matriculation total) As published 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Santa Fe Preparatory School · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Agnes Irwin School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Berkeley Carroll School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Blake School · Classes 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Cambridge School of Weston · Classes of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Head-Royce School · (2021–25) 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Northwest School · classes of 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Potomac School · past four years 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
The Westminster Schools · Classes 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Tilton School · 2019-2023 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
University Prep · 2022–2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Wheeler School · College Matriculation for the Classes of 2022-25 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
York School · Classes of 2021-2026 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
Mt Vernon Presbyterian School · 2014-2025 0.1 · 1 over 12 class years

Published, but not ranked — these schools name San Diego State University on a list of where their graduates enrolled whose class years we cannot read ("Since 2023", or no class year printed), so their totals are shown rather than divided: Yorba Linda High School (9, not stated).

How this is counted

92 high schools publish a numbered matriculation list — where their graduates actually enrolled, counted, in the school's own School Profile — and name San Diego State University on it. Between them they printed 335 enrolled graduates. Ranked by graduates per class year enrolling at San Diego State University, from each school's own published list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, so a one-year list and a five-year list can sit on the same page. A list whose class years we cannot read is not divided by a guess — it is listed below with its total instead.

Is my high school on this list?

Admitted — from the schools' acceptance lists

The ten largest, per class year Admitted per class year
1 Archbishop Mitty High SchoolSan Jose, CA 66.0
2 Mira Costa High SchoolManhattan Beach, CA 65.0
3 Chaminade College PreparatoryWest Hills, CA 48.0
5 Yorba Linda High SchoolYorba Linda, CA 27.0
6 Lycée Français de San FranciscoSan Francisco, CA 9.7
7 Whittier Christian High SchoolLa Habra, CA 4.0
8 Bishop Garcia Diego High SchoolSanta Barbara, CA 3.2
10 Key SchoolAnnapolis, MD 0.7
All 14 schools, with the class years each list covers
Archbishop Mitty High School · Class of 2026 As published 66.0 · 66 over 1 class year
Mira Costa High School · 2022-2026 College Admission Data · counted column: The first column represents the number of students admitted from the Class of 2026 65.0 · 65 over 1 class year
Chaminade College Preparatory · Class of 2026 48.0 · 48 over 1 class year
California School of the Arts — San Gabriel Valley · Class of 2026 · counted column: Acceptances (Class of 2026) 27.0 · 27 over 1 class year
Yorba Linda High School · Class of 2026 · counted column: STUDENTS ACCEPTED 27.0 · 27 over 1 class year
Lycée Français de San Francisco · Classes 2022, 2023, 2024 9.7 · 29 over 3 class years
Whittier Christian High School · Class of 2020 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Bishop Garcia Diego High School · (2021-2025) 3.2 · 16 over 5 class years
St Andrews School of Boca Raton Inc · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Key School · 2021 - 2026 · counted column: Acceptances 0.7 · 4 over 6 class years
Mt Vernon Presbyterian School · 2014-2025 · counted column: Number of Acceptances 0.6 · 7 over 12 class years
Laguna Blanca School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Altamont School · Classes of 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Sage Hill School · 2023-2025 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
How this is counted

14 high schools publish a numbered list of college acceptances — where their graduates were admitted, not where they enrolled — and name San Diego State University on it. Between them they printed 300 admissions. Ranked by admissions per class year to San Diego State University, from each school's own published acceptances list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. Admits are counted at each college a student was admitted to, the same way the UC Reach Score counts a student admitted to three UC campuses three times — so this is a count of admissions, not of students. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, and a list whose class years we cannot read is listed below with its total rather than divided by a guess.

All 100 feeder schools, ranked →

Counted from each school's own published document, linked on that school's page. A high school that is not here does not publish a numbered list we could read — that is all absence means, and it says nothing about its graduates. Where a school publishes both, the two lists are shown separately: an acceptances list is not a list of enrollments, and the two are never added together.

Odds at San Diego State University

Put in your child's GPA and score — we'll show where they land here. Free, and nothing to sign up for.

Most families report the weighted one — it's the higher number, with honors and AP credit in it.

—

This reads the numbers — admit rate, scores, GPA. The real decision also weighs essays, recommendations, activities, and course rigor.

Get their full list — free Family Decision Report →

The free report adds every college on your list — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds, your real net price, and merit-scholarship eligibility. About a minute.

Live odds from each college's own published admissions data.

Parent/student verdict

Selective

Selective but achievable for strong students. Affordable — net price averages ~$15,364/yr among aid recipients. Major value play for in-state residents.

Best for

  • Strong overall academic profile (avg admit unweighted GPA 3.82 per CDS — school is test-blind, so scores aren't part of the decision at all — the transcript carries the weight)
  • In-state residents (tuition ~$8,728 — major value play)
  • Students focused on Business, Management, & Marketing (the school's signature program)
  • Research-curious students (R2 — active research output)
  • Students who thrive in a large, programmatic environment

The reality

  • You'd be near the bottom of their admitted class if: unweighted GPA below 3.62 (test bands are the school's own; the 3.62 line is our estimate, not a published figure)

Verdict is composed from this college's structured data (admit rate, SAT bands, net price with aid and at full price, Carnegie classification, scholarship grids) using transparent rule thresholds — not a chat-bot's opinion.

What are your child's odds here?

Enter their numbers once — this and every college page shows their verdict, and the UC campus cards on California school pages light up with it too. Free, no email.

Weighted is the higher GPA, with honors/AP credit in it — pick whichever your school reports. PSAT scores work in the SAT box.

Institutional snapshot

What kind of college is this?

Carnegie classification
R2: Doctoral - High Research Activity
Undergraduates
35,377
20,000 and above including graduate students
In-state tuitionThe published full price before any aid. Families who don't qualify for need-based aid at a given college pay this, minus any merit scholarships — whether you qualify depends on the college's price and policies, not on any fixed income line.
$8,728
sticker, before aid
Out-of-state tuition
$21,328
+$12,600 vs in-state
Admit rateThe share of applicants a college accepts. Useful context, but your student's odds depend on their own grades and scores, not the average.
34.4%
Selective
Test policyScores aren't considered at all, even if sent — the UCs are the big example. Grades and course rigor carry the weight.
Test-blind
2023
10-yr earningsMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$64,909
median, after entry

Source: federal IPEDS Admissions 2023 for scores + admit rate; federal College Scorecard (20260606 vintage) for earnings + outcomes. SAT/ACT bands are the 25th–75th percentile of enrolled submitters.

Admitted-student GPA

3.84 average

unstated — the Common Data Set does not state whether its GPA is weighted or unweighted, so a family's own GPA cannot be aligned to it, enrolled first-year students (Fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25)). San Diego State is an impacted (selective) campus — admission is competitive and can vary sharply by major. Cal State is test-blind (no SAT/ACT in admissions), so the a–g GPA is the key academic signal. Source ↗

CSU first-year GPA — verified 2026-06-15 against the campus's official Common Data Set / admissions data. The GPA basis (a–g vs. weighted vs. 4.0-scale) differs from the unweighted GPA shown for private colleges.

Admit rate by major — Fall 2025

The headline admit rate hides a wide spread by program.

First-time freshman applications and admits by major, from the CSU Chancellor's Office. Campus overall: 34%. Every program at this campus is impactedA CSU term: the program gets more qualified applicants than it has seats, so the campus adds admission requirements beyond the CSU minimum — a higher GPA bar, specific courses, or priority for local students. Treat impacted majors as more competitive than the campus's overall admit rate suggests. — the campus adds admission requirements beyond the CSU minimum to every major.

Major Applicants Admitted Admit rate
Fall 2025
Earlier year
for comparison
Biology 10,612 2,486 23.4% Fall 2021: 31.3% ↓
Nursing Pre-Licensure 8,620 306 3.5% Fall 2021: 7.3% ↓
Psychology 7,221 2,114 29.3% Fall 2021: 37.4% ↓
Mechanical Engineering 4,209 1,730 41.1% Fall 2021: 48.3% ↓
Marketing 3,762 1,233 32.8% Fall 2021: 36.7% ↓
Finance 3,638 1,112 30.6% Fall 2021: 43.9% ↓
Kinesiology/Physical Education 3,510 1,175 33.5% Fall 2021: 39.4% ↓
Management 3,190 999 31.3% Fall 2021: 33.5% ↓
Computer Science 3,107 2,219 71.4% Fall 2021: 48.5% ↑
Business Administration 2,603 949 36.5% Fall 2021: 39.9% ↓
Criminal Justice 2,496 886 35.5% Fall 2021: 33.2% ↑
Political Science/Government 2,451 1,307 53.3% Fall 2021: 46.7% ↑
Chemistry 2,099 728 34.7% Fall 2021: 40.5% ↓
Public Health 1,983 721 36.4% Fall 2021: 64.7% ↓
Aerospace Engineering 1,943 910 46.8% Fall 2021: 48.5% ↓
Civil Engineering 1,708 723 42.3% Fall 2021: 41.9%
Accountancy 1,476 413 28.0% Fall 2021: 43.8% ↓
Economics 1,440 818 56.8% Fall 2021: 51.4% ↑
Electrical Engineering 1,351 528 39.1% Fall 2021: 40.1%
Real Estate 1,218 298 24.5% Fall 2021: 25.8% ↓
Child Development/Early Childhood Education 1,192 642 53.9% Fall 2021: 41.0% ↑
Computer Engineering 1,142 582 51.0% Fall 2021: 42.0% ↑
Speech Communication 1,133 506 44.7% Fall 2021: 41.2% ↑
Liberal Studies 1,054 652 61.9% Fall 2021: 45.6% ↑
Interior Design 1,031 261 25.3% Fall 2021: 32.6% ↓
Sociology 958 671 70.0% Fall 2021: 33.5% ↑
Environmental Science 947 622 65.7% Fall 2021: 49.0% ↑
Radio Television Film/Telecommunications 857 302 35.2% Fall 2021: 44.3% ↓
Statistics 819 315 38.5% Fall 2021: 56.3% ↓
International Business 802 484 60.3% Fall 2021: 50.0% ↑
English 694 534 76.9% Fall 2021: 48.2% ↑
Journalism 678 414 61.1% Fall 2021: 45.0% ↑
History 602 419 69.6% Fall 2021: 29.7% ↑
Graphic Design 590 145 24.6% Fall 2021: 31.9% ↓
Applied Mathematics 548 324 59.1% Fall 2021: 53.8% ↑
Construction Management 536 142 26.5% Fall 2021: 18.0% ↑
Dietetics & Food Administration/Nutritional Science 535 312 58.3% Fall 2021: 61.6% ↓
Environmental Engineering 491 250 50.9% Fall 2021: 53.9% ↓
Music (Professional Performance) 486 175 36.0% Fall 2021: 26.9% ↑
Information Systems 455 125 27.5% Fall 2021: 39.7% ↓
Microbiology 430 121 28.1% Fall 2021: 36.0% ↓
Art 430 147 34.2% Fall 2021: 35.4% ↓
Hotel and Restaurant/Hospitality Management 422 301 71.3% Fall 2021: 44.6% ↑
Social Work 407 107 26.3% Fall 2021: 39.2% ↓
Theatre Arts 380 188 49.5% Fall 2021: 40.0% ↑
Speech Language Pathology (Entry-Ready) 368 195 53.0% Fall 2021: 50.0% ↑
Anthropology 326 229 70.2% Fall 2021: 43.9% ↑
Physics 301 142 47.2% Fall 2021: 54.0% ↓
Financial Services 299 94 31.4% Fall 2021: 41.5% ↓
Public Relations 273 164 60.1% Fall 2021: 40.4% ↑
Mathematics 251 141 56.2% Fall 2021: 45.5% ↑
Astronomy 249 164 65.9% Fall 2021: 47.5% ↑
Urban Studies 228 181 79.4% Fall 2021: 46.1% ↑
Construction Engineering Technology/Management 221 77 34.8% Fall 2021: 30.3% ↑
International Security and Conflict Resolution 216 180 83.3% Fall 2021: 54.8% ↑
Health Communication 208 152 73.1% Fall 2021: 43.9% ↑
Philosophy 206 150 72.8% Fall 2021: 46.0% ↑
Musical Theatre 182 33 18.1% —
Organizational Leadership 171 106 62.0% Fall 2024: 74.6% ↓
Social Science/Social and Behavioral Sciences 162 122 75.3% Fall 2021: 42.9% ↑
Geography 158 114 72.2% Fall 2021: 51.4% ↑
Dance (Professional Performance) 155 61 39.4% Fall 2021: 42.5% ↓
Linguistics 143 111 77.6% Fall 2021: 67.0% ↑
Geology 143 90 62.9% Fall 2021: 30.0% ↑
International Studies/Global Studies 142 117 82.4% Fall 2021: 69.3% ↑
Advertising 130 90 69.2% Fall 2021: 56.8% ↑
Spanish 107 73 68.2% Fall 2021: 53.2% ↑
Multimedia 106 29 27.4% Fall 2021: 24.2% ↑
Dance 104 40 38.5% —
Humanities 104 66 63.5% Fall 2021: 47.9% ↑
Art History 95 72 75.8% Fall 2021: 36.8% ↑
Women's Studies 89 58 65.2% Fall 2021: 38.6% ↑
Public Administration 84 39 46.4% Fall 2021: 43.3% ↑
Music 78 13 16.7% Fall 2023: 14.5% ↑
African-American Studies 71 44 62.0% Fall 2021: 58.7% ↑
Mexican-American/Chicano/Chicana Studies 66 36 54.5% Fall 2021: 34.3% ↑
Recreation Administration 64 35 54.7% Fall 2021: 30.2% ↑
Religious Studies 58 40 69.0% Fall 2021: 54.5% ↑
Modern Jewish Studies 56 38 67.9% Fall 2024: 91.7% ↓
Gerontology 49 31 63.3% Fall 2024: 52.0% ↑
Japanese 38 21 55.3% Fall 2021: 62.2% ↓
Geography and Environmental Studies 34 22 64.7% —
Linguistics and Anthropology 34 24 70.6% Fall 2021: 42.4% ↑
English Composition 30 26 86.7% Fall 2021: 55.2% ↑
Latin American Studies 28 15 53.6% Fall 2024: 33.3% ↑
Native American Studies 28 15 53.6% Fall 2023: 56.0% ↓
Asian Studies 25 17 68.0% Fall 2021: 47.1% ↑
Asian American Studies 22 14 63.6% —
Islamic Studies 14 11 78.6% Fall 2024: 64.7% ↑

Majors reported by transfer path only — Fall 2025

CSU reported no first-year admit row for these majors. At most campuses that means a freshman is not admitted straight into the program: they enter a pre-major (pre-nursing, for example) and apply into it later, while transfer applicants apply to the program directly. The transfer numbers below are the only published gate, and at a program like nursing they are the number a family should plan around.

Major Transfer applicants Admitted Admit rate
Fall 2025, transfer
Earlier year
for comparison
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree) transfer path 48 48 100.0% Fall 2021: 100.0%

Source: CSU Chancellor's Office ↗, applications & admissions by discipline and major (Fall 2021–2025); impaction status from the CSU impacted-programs list (2027-28 cycle). Groups smaller than 10 are suppressed by CSU. A rising admit rate usually means fewer applications, not lower standards.

Outcomes & cost

What graduates actually earn, finish, and owe.

Federal College Scorecard data. Earnings are median annual income measured years after entering. Debt is for federal-aid borrowers only (cash-pay students aren't counted).

Earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$52,620
Earnings, 10 yrs after entryMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$64,909
Graduate within 6 yrsThe share of students who start here and finish a bachelor's within six years — the standard federal measure, and the one College Scorecard publishes. It is not a four-year rate. Read it as the odds of finishing at all: nationally about a third of students who start never do, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision.
76%
Median debt (completers)The federal-loan balance of the typical graduating borrower. Families who pay cash aren't counted, so read it as "among those who borrowed."
$15,000

The real cost

What San Diego State University actually costs

If you qualify for need aidGrant money based on your family's finances (via FAFSA and the college's own forms), not your student's stats.
$15,364/yr
average among aid-receiving families, all incomes — your number depends on your finances
If you don't
$27,780/yr
the full published price for in-state students — out-of-state runs higher

Which side your family lands on isn't set by any national income line — it's set by San Diego State University's own aid decision: the gap between its price and your family's finances.

Get your family's number — San Diego State University's Net Price Calculator ↗ 10–15 minutes; have a tax return handy. It's still an estimate — but it's this college's own, built from your family's numbers, not anyone's average.
Start your Family Decision Report →

Your odds + estimated cost across your whole college list, side by side.

The payoffTen years of typical graduate pay minus four years of cost — how many dollars ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten. Check both the full-price and with-aid versions to see which applies to you; median pay reflects who a college admits and what they study as much as the college itself., both ways

+$538K ahead at full price +$588K with aid
Full price, no aidThe all-in yearly price — tuition, housing, food, books, fees — before any aid. This is the real "full price," not just the tuition line. (4 yrs, in-state)
$111,120
~$27,780/yr all-in (out-of-state runs higher)
Aid recipients pay (4 yrs)
$61,456
$15,364/yr average
10-yr earnings total
$649,090
$64,909/yr median, 10 yrs out
Years to recoup the cost
1.7 yrs
at full price (0.9 with aid), at the median earnings rate

Source: College Scorecard (average net price among Title IV first-time, full-time undergraduates who received aid) and each college's published cost of attendance. We don't show the federal net-price-by-income brackets: their categories were fixed in 2008 and never adjusted, and none of the averages is your family's own number — the full story. Payoff = (10-yr median earnings × 10) − (4 years of cost), in dollars — how far ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten; medians travel with the students a college admits and the majors they choose as much as with the college itself. Full price is the published cost of attendance, largely in-state for publics; earnings are 10 years after enrollment, all majors combined.

What students study here

Most popular majors at San Diego State University

Top 5 fields of study by bachelor's degrees awarded (most recent IPEDS Completions). Use this to see what San Diego State University actually graduates — not just what it markets.

1. Business, Management, & Marketing
2,159 degrees · 44.9%
Broad set of corporate roles. Finance + consulting pay top, accounting + HR pay middle, sales spread is wide.
2. Engineering
771 degrees · 16.0%
Engineering majors land high-paying technical roles. Top-earning sub-disciplines: petroleum, chemical, computer engineering.
3. Social Sciences
700 degrees · 14.6%
Economics + poli sci sub-disciplines pay much more than sociology + anthropology.
4. Psychology
630 degrees · 13.1%
Most undergrad psych grads go into non-clinical roles. Clinical/counseling psych requires a master's or doctoral.
5. Communication, Journalism, & Related
548 degrees · 11.4%
Media, PR, marketing communications. Salary spread is wide.

What those majors earn here

Median earnings 4 years after entry, by major — San Diego State University's own graduates, not national averages.

Major (CIP) Credential Cohort 1-yr earnings 4-yr earnings
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing. Bachelor's Degree 212 $100,221 $120,799
Computer Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 116 $76,812 $116,842
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 106 $75,061 $106,416
Computer Science. Bachelor's Degree 259 $74,523 $100,586
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician. Bachelor's Degree 39 $81,608 $100,564
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 70 $74,375 $100,139
Mechanical Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 244 $69,754 $97,825
Civil Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 227 $73,584 $95,865
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 38 $66,482 $88,417
Finance and Financial Management Services. Bachelor's Degree — $53,373 $88,136

Sources: IPEDS Completions (C2023_a; bachelor's-level first majors, 2-digit CIP family — share is of the top 5 only) · College Scorecard program-level outcomes (PP-FOS). Full college-vs-major comparison: /college-outcomes →

Student body & economic mobility

Who attends here — and what the campus adds.

Opportunity Insights data. It measures two things at once: how many lower-income students a college enrols, and how many of them reach the top earnings quintile later. A high rate says the college does both — it does not establish that the campus caused the earnings, because the students it admits differ from the students it doesn't. Read it as a signal about access and destination, not as proof of value added.

Top-1% access
1.9%
from top-1% households
Mobility rateThe share of ALL students who arrived from the bottom 20% of family incomes AND reached the top 20% themselves by their early 30s — access and lift in one number, and a sign the campus itself adds earnings power.
3.7%
bottom 20% → top 20% by age 32
Upward rate
40.8%
of lower-income students who reach the top 20%
Pell recipientsStudents receiving federal Pell grants, which go to lower- and middle-income families — the standard shorthand for a college's economic mix.
32%
on federal need grants — context for these numbers

Full leaderboards: /college-mobility →

AI program signal

AI + computing education at San Diego State University

CS degrees (annual)
269
CIP 11.0701 + 11.0101

Full multi-lens comparison: /ai-colleges →

Alternatives to San Diego State University

Matched not just by selectivity, but by strategic goal — what a family actually decides on.

Better merit-aid options
These similar-selectivity schools publish merit scholarships your family can plan around — your kid’s stats could unlock real scholarship dollars.
Tuskegee University
AL · Private nonprofit
3 stats-based merit scholarships
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public
2 stats-based merit scholarships
George Washington University
DC · Private nonprofit
2 competitive merit scholarships
Lower full price
Similar selectivity, but a meaningfully lower full sticker price — the comparison that matters most for families who won't qualify for much need-based aid.
Texas A & M International University
TX · Public
$15,558/yr full price (in-state) · $12,222 less before aid for TX residents
North Carolina A & T State University
NC · Public
$20,427/yr full price (in-state) · $7,353 less before aid for NC residents
Central State University
OH · Public
$21,929/yr full price (in-state) · $5,851 less before aid for OH residents
Safer in-state options
Same state and similar selectivity, but with a more forgiving admit rate — useful safety / match anchors.
University of California-Davis
CA · Public
46% admit rate (vs 34% here)
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public
47% admit rate (vs 34% here)
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public
74% admit rate (vs 34% here)
More students move up here
Per Opportunity Insights, a larger share of these campuses' lower-income students reach the top earnings quintile than at San Diego State University. That reflects who they admit as well as what they do, so read it as a destination signal rather than proof of value added.
Texas A & M International University
TX · Public
8.1% mobility rate (vs 3.7% here)
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public
6.8% mobility rate (vs 3.7% here)
Tuskegee University
AL · Private nonprofit
5.2% mobility rate (vs 3.7% here)

Or compare any college side-by-side

Deciding on San Diego State University?

Get the full picture in one free report — your child's Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds and your real net price, for San Diego State University and every other college on your list.

Get your child's odds at San Diego State University →

Score-odds calculator · Improve the score first · Find merit aid

For Parents

Get alerts when San Diego State University's numbers change

New admit rates, costs, and outcomes — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

San Diego State University is a public four-year college in CA. It admitted 34% of applicants (82,800 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-blind.

Average enrolled GPA 3.82 (unweighted, 2025-26, as published by the college).

Cost: about $15,364 a year on average with aid, $27,780 a year at full price for in-state students.

Median earnings ten years after entry: $64,909 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $587,634 ahead with aid, $537,970 ahead at full price.

Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($120,799); Computer Engineering ($116,842); Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($106,416).

First-year admit rate by major, Fall 2025: lowest Nursing Pre-Licensure 3.5% (8,620 applied); highest International Security and Conflict Resolution 83.3% (216 applied). 1 major is reported on the transfer side only (freshmen enter as a pre-major): Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree) 100.0%. Every program at this campus is impacted, meaning more qualified applicants than seats.

Economic mobility (Opportunity Insights): 9% of students came from families in the bottom fifth of income, and 41% of those reached the top fifth as adults.

Nursing: freshmen are admitted directly into the nursing major; NCLEX-RN first-time pass rate 91.0% (2024/2025, California Board of Registered Nursing).

High schools that publish a numbered matriculation list and name San Diego State University: 92, 335 enrolled students between them — ranked by graduates per class year, most often Mira Costa High School (15.0 per class year, 15 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); Saint Augustine High School (15.0 per class year, 15 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); Faith Lutheran Middle School & High School (9.0 per class year, 9 over 1 class year, Class of 2026). Each figure is the number that school printed divided by the class years its own list covers; the totals and years are shown. These are the schools that publish such a list, not every school that sends students; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/san-diego-state-university.

High schools that publish a numbered list of college acceptances naming San Diego State University: 14, 300 admissions between them — ranked by admissions per class year, most often Archbishop Mitty High School (66.0 per class year, 66 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); Mira Costa High School (65.0 per class year, 65 over 1 class year, 2022-2026 College Admission Data, counted column "The first column represents the number of students admitted from the Class of 2026"); Chaminade College Preparatory (48.0 per class year, 48 over 1 class year, Class of 2026). Admits are counted at each college, so this counts admissions, not students. These are a different set of documents from the matriculation lists above and the two are never added together; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/san-diego-state-university.

Machine-readable version of this page: https://highschoolreach.com/colleges/san-diego-state-university.json

Questions families ask

What is San Diego State University's acceptance rate? San Diego State University is a public four-year college in CA. It admitted 34% of applicants (82,800 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-blind.

Does San Diego State University require the SAT or ACT? San Diego State University is a public four-year college in CA. It admitted 34% of applicants (82,800 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-blind.

How much does San Diego State University cost? Cost: about $15,364 a year on average with aid, $27,780 a year at full price for in-state students.

What do San Diego State University graduates earn? Median earnings ten years after entry: $64,909 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $587,634 ahead with aid, $537,970 ahead at full price.

Which majors at San Diego State University pay the most? Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($120,799); Computer Engineering ($116,842); Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($106,416).

Does the admit rate at San Diego State University depend on the major? First-year admit rate by major, Fall 2025: lowest Nursing Pre-Licensure 3.5% (8,620 applied); highest International Security and Conflict Resolution 83.3% (216 applied). 1 major is reported on the transfer side only (freshmen enter as a pre-major): Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree) 100.0%. Every program at this campus is impacted, meaning more qualified applicants than seats.

Which high schools send the most graduates to San Diego State University? The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to San Diego State University, from each school's own published list: Mira Costa High School (15), Saint Augustine High School (15), Faith Lutheran Middle School & High School (9), Orange County School of the Arts (8), Santa Margarita Catholic High School (8). 92 high schools' lists name San Diego State University.

By major: AccountingAerospace EngineeringAnthropologyArt (Studio)Art HistoryAthletic TrainingBiologyBusiness AdministrationChemistryChild DevelopmentCivil EngineeringCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComputer EngineeringComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)EconomicsElectrical EngineeringEnglishEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental Science
+44 more programs
Film and TelevisionFinanceGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGlobal and International StudiesHealth ScienceHistoryHospitality ManagementInformation SystemsJournalismKinesiologyLiberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarketingMathematicsMechanical EngineeringMicrobiologyMusicNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsPhilosophyPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologySpanishStatisticsTheatreAfrican-American StudiesAsian StudiesClassicsComparative LiteratureFrench Language and LiteratureGerman Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureLatin American StudiesParks and Recreation StudiesReal EstateUrban StudiesWomen's Studies

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

Get your child's odds →

What families ask next