A parent's read

  • The major moves the money more than the admit letter. Mathematics grads from here earn about $297,029 four years out; sociology grads about $61,425 — a 4.8× spread on the same diploma. Have the major conversation before you deposit, not after.
  • Built for the AI economy. About 1 in 19 degrees here is already in AI, computer science, or data fields; it offers a dedicated AI major; its AI research output ranks #29 among US universities. This campus is leaning into the shift, not waiting for it.
  • There is merit money here, but you compete for it. Every named award at this college is competitive — the published GPA and score figures describe who tends to win them, not a bar that guarantees anything. Worth applying for; not worth counting on when you budget.
  • Almost everyone who starts here finishes. 97% graduate within six years — the standard federal measure. Nationally about a third of students who start a bachelor's never finish one, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision: the debt stays, the credential doesn't.
  • Your price depends enormously on whether you qualify for aid. Families who receive aid average about $29,612/yr here; without aid it's the full ~$87,072/yr. There's no income cutoff for aid — qualifying depends on the gap between this college's price and your finances, which is why the college's own net-price calculator — not any average — is the estimate to trust.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Get your child's odds at Duke University Free Family Decision Report — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + your real net price. Duke University starts already on the list. Start →
Odds at Duke University

Put in your child's GPA and score — we'll show where they land here. Free, and nothing to sign up for.

Most families report the weighted one — it's the higher number, with honors and AP credit in it.

This reads the numbers — admit rate, scores, GPA. The real decision also weighs essays, recommendations, activities, and course rigor.

Get their full list — free Family Decision Report →

The free report adds every college on your list — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds, your real net price, and merit-scholarship eligibility. About a minute.

Live odds from each college's own published admissions data.

Parent/student verdict

Highly selective

Highly selective reach for nearly every applicant.

Best for

  • Strong academic profiles — students here cluster in the top test and GPA tiers (bands above)
  • Strong test/GPA students chasing merit aid — Robertson Scholars Leadership Program or A.B. Duke Scholars Program on offer (see merit-scholarship tab below)
  • Research-oriented students (R1 — top tier of federal research funding)
  • A long-term payoff that holds even at full price — ten years at the $97,800 median runs about $629K ahead of four years at the ~$87,072/yr sticker (aid recipients average ~$29,612/yr)

The reality

  • You'd be near the bottom of their admitted class if: SAT below 1510, or ACT below 34, or unweighted GPA below ~3.80 (test bands are the school's own; the GPA floor is our estimate, not a published figure)
  • With selective universities, build a balanced college list of Reaches, Targets, and Safeties
  • High cost — full price is ~$87,072/yr without aid, and aid-receiving families still average ~$29,612/yr — verify the major's earnings track record before committing

Verdict is composed from this college's structured data (admit rate, SAT bands, net price with aid and at full price, Carnegie classification, scholarship grids) using transparent rule thresholds — not a chat-bot's opinion.

What are your child's odds here?

Enter their numbers once — this and every college page shows their verdict, and the UC campus cards on California school pages light up with it too. Free, no email.

Weighted is the higher GPA, with honors/AP credit in it — pick whichever your school reports. PSAT scores work in the SAT box.

Institutional snapshot

What kind of college is this?

Carnegie classification
R1: Doctoral - Very High Research Activity
Undergraduates
6,442
10,000 - 19,999 including graduate students
TuitionThe published full price before any aid. Families who don't qualify for need-based aid at a given college pay this, minus any merit scholarships — whether you qualify depends on the college's price and policies, not on any fixed income line.
$68,758
flat rate (no in/out-of-state split) · 2023–24 federal figure
Admit rateThe share of applicants a college accepts. Useful context, but your student's odds depend on their own grades and scores, not the average.
6.8%
Hyper-selective
SAT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
1510–1570
EBRW + Math composite
ACT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
34–35
composite
Test policyApplicants choose whether to send SAT/ACT scores. At many such colleges, students who submit strong scores are still admitted at higher rates.
Test-optional
2023
10-yr earningsMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$97,800
median, after entry

50% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 31% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class.

Source: federal IPEDS Admissions 2023 for scores + admit rate; federal College Scorecard (20260606 vintage) for earnings + outcomes. SAT/ACT bands are the 25th–75th percentile of enrolled submitters.

Outcomes & cost

What graduates actually earn, finish, and owe.

Federal College Scorecard data. Earnings are median annual income measured years after entering. Debt is for federal-aid borrowers only (cash-pay students aren't counted).

Earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$85,792
Earnings, 10 yrs after entryMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$97,800
Graduate within 6 yrsThe share of students who start here and finish a bachelor's within six years — the standard federal measure, and the one College Scorecard publishes. It is not a four-year rate. Read it as the odds of finishing at all: nationally about a third of students who start never do, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision.
97%
Median debt (completers)The federal-loan balance of the typical graduating borrower. Families who pay cash aren't counted, so read it as "among those who borrowed."
$13,000

The real cost

What Duke University actually costs

If you qualify for need aidGrant money based on your family's finances (via FAFSA and the college's own forms), not your student's stats.
$29,612/yr
average among aid-receiving families, all incomes — your number depends on your finances
If you don't
$87,072/yr
the full published price

Which side your family lands on isn't set by any national income line — it's set by Duke University's own aid decision: the gap between its price and your family's finances.

Duke University's own published aid policy · 2026-27

No loans in aid packages under $65,000 Meets 100% of demonstrated needThe gap between a college's full cost and what its formula says your family can afford to pay. "Meets 100% of need" means grants and work-study cover that entire gap — as the college calculates it, which may differ from what feels affordable to you.

If your family's total income is above $65,000, part of the aid offered to you will be a federal loan.

Income thresholds assume typical assets — and this college uses the CSS Profile, which can count home equity and business value the federal form ignores. Policy independently verified against the college's financial-aid pages ↗.

Get your family's number — Duke University's Net Price Calculator ↗ 10–15 minutes; have a tax return handy. It's still an estimate — but it's this college's own, built from your family's numbers, not anyone's average.
Start your Family Decision Report →

Your odds + estimated cost across your whole college list, side by side.

The payoffTen years of typical graduate pay minus four years of cost — how many dollars ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten. Check both the full-price and with-aid versions to see which applies to you; median pay reflects who a college admits and what they study as much as the college itself., both ways

+$630K ahead at full price +$860K with aid
Full price, no aidThe all-in yearly price — tuition, housing, food, books, fees — before any aid. This is the real "full price," not just the tuition line. (4 yrs)
$348,288
~$87,072/yr all-in
Aid recipients pay (4 yrs)
$118,448
$29,612/yr average
10-yr earnings total
$978,000
$97,800/yr median, 10 yrs out
Years to recoup the cost
3.6 yrs
at full price (1.2 with aid), at the median earnings rate

Source: College Scorecard (average net price among Title IV first-time, full-time undergraduates who received aid) and each college's published cost of attendance. We don't show the federal net-price-by-income brackets: their categories were fixed in 2008 and never adjusted, and none of the averages is your family's own number — the full story. Payoff = (10-yr median earnings × 10) − (4 years of cost), in dollars — how far ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten; medians travel with the students a college admits and the majors they choose as much as with the college itself. Full price is the published cost of attendance; earnings are 10 years after enrollment, all majors combined.

What students study here

Most popular majors at Duke University

Top 5 fields of study by bachelor's degrees awarded (most recent IPEDS Completions). Use this to see what Duke University actually graduates — not just what it markets.

1. Social Sciences
320 degrees · 22.1%
Economics + poli sci sub-disciplines pay much more than sociology + anthropology.
2. Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
314 degrees · 21.7%
Often paired with another field (data + biology, design + tech). Outcomes match the second discipline.
3. Engineering
290 degrees · 20.1%
Engineering majors land high-paying technical roles. Top-earning sub-disciplines: petroleum, chemical, computer engineering.
4. Biological & Biomedical Sciences
271 degrees · 18.8%
Many bio majors → med school / grad school. Direct-employment bio roles are lower-paid than that pipeline.
5. Computer & Information Sciences
250 degrees · 17.3%
High-paying tech roles dominate. Median software roles cluster in the $90k-$130k range.

What those majors earn here

Median earnings 4 years after entry, by major — Duke University's own graduates, not national averages.

Major (CIP) Credential Cohort 1-yr earnings 4-yr earnings
Mathematics. Bachelor's Degree 53 $121,088 $297,029
Computer Science. Bachelor's Degree 370 $133,356 $195,809
Computer Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 134 $111,145 $174,522
Economics. Bachelor's Degree 209 $98,649 $161,149
Statistics. Bachelor's Degree 48 $97,197 $152,782
Mechanical Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 79 $89,938 $120,991
History. Bachelor's Degree 41 $60,750 $112,377
Biomedical/Medical Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 67 $69,873 $105,921
Public Policy Analysis. Bachelor's Degree 181 $60,501 $103,071
Public Health. Bachelor's Degree 41 $45,921 $101,771

Sources: IPEDS Completions (C2023_a; bachelor's-level first majors, 2-digit CIP family — share is of the top 5 only) · College Scorecard program-level outcomes (PP-FOS). Full college-vs-major comparison: /college-outcomes →

Merit aidScholarship money awarded for grades or test scores, not financial need — at many colleges it's automatic at certain GPA/score levels.

What your test score unlocks at Duke University

Score-or-merit-based scholarships published by the institution. Stackable in most cases — confirm with the financial aid office.

Award Annual award Score gate GPA gate Renewable
Robertson Scholars Leadership Program
Robertson (full COA + enrichment) · any
$90,000/yr
as published, checked 2026-06-06 · source ↗
Yes
A.B. Duke Scholars Program
A.B. Duke (full tuition + room + board) · any
$90,000/yr
as published, checked 2026-06-06 · source ↗
Yes
Benjamin N. Duke Memorial Scholarship
B.N. Duke (full COA, NC/SC residents) · in_state
$90,000/yr
as published, checked 2026-06-06 · source ↗
Yes

See all merit scholarships across colleges + 13 national awards on /merit-scholarships →

See which merit tiers your child already clears — free Family Decision Report Start →

Student body & economic mobility

Who attends here — and what the campus adds.

Opportunity Insights data. It measures two things at once: how many lower-income students a college enrols, and how many of them reach the top earnings quintile later. A high rate says the college does both — it does not establish that the campus caused the earnings, because the students it admits differ from the students it doesn't. Read it as a signal about access and destination, not as proof of value added.

Top-1% access
19.2%
from top-1% households
Mobility rateThe share of ALL students who arrived from the bottom 20% of family incomes AND reached the top 20% themselves by their early 30s — access and lift in one number, and a sign the campus itself adds earnings power.
1.6%
bottom 20% → top 20% by age 32
Upward rate
50.4%
of lower-income students who reach the top 20%
Pell recipientsStudents receiving federal Pell grants, which go to lower- and middle-income families — the standard shorthand for a college's economic mix.
14%
on federal need grants — context for these numbers

Full leaderboards: /college-mobility →

Alternatives to Duke University

Matched not just by selectivity, but by strategic goal — what a family actually decides on.

Better merit-aid options
These similar-selectivity schools publish merit scholarships your family can plan around — your kid’s stats could unlock real scholarship dollars.
University of Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit
1 stats-based + 1 competitive scholarships
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit
5 competitive merit scholarships
Vanderbilt University
TN · Private nonprofit
4 competitive merit scholarships
Lower full price
Similar selectivity, but a meaningfully lower full sticker price — the comparison that matters most for families who won't qualify for much need-based aid.
University of Florida
FL · Public
$22,523/yr full price (in-state) · $64,549 less before aid for FL residents
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit
$22,690/yr full price · $64,382 less before aid
University of Missouri-Kansas City
MO · Public
$25,320/yr full price (in-state) · $61,752 less before aid for MO residents
Safer in-state options
Same state and similar selectivity, but with a more forgiving admit rate — useful safety / match anchors.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
NC · Public
19% admit rate (vs 7% here)
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public
40% admit rate (vs 7% here)
More students move up here
Per Opportunity Insights, a larger share of these campuses' lower-income students reach the top earnings quintile than at Duke University. That reflects who they admit as well as what they do, so read it as a destination signal rather than proof of value added.
Stony Brook University
NY · Public
8.4% mobility rate (vs 1.6% here)
Binghamton University
NY · Public
5.1% mobility rate (vs 1.6% here)
Stevens Institute of Technology
NJ · Private nonprofit
4.3% mobility rate (vs 1.6% here)

Or compare any college side-by-side

Deciding on Duke University?

Get the full picture in one free report — your child's Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds and your real net price, for Duke University and every other college on your list.

Get your child's odds at Duke University →

Score-odds calculator · Improve the score first

Feeder high schools

Which high schools send graduates to Duke University?

Enrolled — from the schools' matriculation lists

140 high schools publish a numbered matriculation list — where their graduates actually enrolled, counted, in the school's own School Profile — and name Duke University on it. Between them they printed 678 enrolled graduates. Ranked by graduates per class year enrolling at Duke University, from each school's own published list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, so a one-year list and a five-year list can sit on the same page. A list whose class years we cannot read is not divided by a guess — it is listed below with its total instead.

High school · years its list covers Enrolled per class year
Durham Academy · 2021–2025 7.8 · 39 over 5 class years
Pine Crest School · 2022-26 6.4 · 32 over 5 class years
Riverdale Country School · Higher Ed Enrollment 2021-2026 5.7 · 34 over 6 class years
Horace Mann School · Class of 2024 - 2026 Graduates 5.3 · 16 over 3 class years
The Lawrenceville School · the last five years 4.6 · 23 over 5 class years
McDonogh School · Class of 2026 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Pace Academy · Class of 2026 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Newark Academy · 2023-2026 3.5 · 14 over 4 class years
Noble and Greenough School · 2021–2025 3.2 · 16 over 5 class years
Greenhill School · 2022 - 2025 3.2 · 13 over 4 class years
and 126 more
Ethical Culture Fieldston School · Classes of 2022–2026 3.0 · 15 over 5 class years
Collegiate School · Class of 2026 College Enrollments / 2023-26 4-Year College Enrollments · counted column: Class of 2026 College Enrollments 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Providence Day School · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Regis High School (NYC) · Class of 2022–2025 · counted column: Class of '25 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
The Bolles School · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
St. Paul's School (NH) · College Matriculation for the Forms of 2025 and 2026 (combined two-year TOTAL column) 2.5 · 5 over 2 class years
Harker School · Classes of 2023, 2024 & 2025 2.3 · 7 over 3 class years
Menlo School · Classes of 2023-2025 As published 2.3 · 7 over 3 class years
The Hockaday School · 2024 – 2026 2.3 · 7 over 3 class years
The Westminster Schools · Classes 2021-2025 2.2 · 11 over 5 class years
Westminster · Classes 2021-2025 2.2 · 11 over 5 class years
The Potomac School · past four years 2.2 · 9 over 4 class years
William Penn Charter School · 2022-2026 2.0 · 10 over 5 class years
Kent Place School · 2022-2025 2.0 · 8 over 4 class years
Lake Forest Academy · 2021 - 2024 As published 2.0 · 8 over 4 class years
The Hotchkiss School · Classes of 2023, 2024, 2025, and 2026 2.0 · 8 over 4 class years
Avenues New York · CLASSES OF 2023–2026 · counted column: CLASS OF 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Berkeley Preparatory School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Brunswick School · Class of 2026 Matriculation; Composite Matriculation List of 2022-2026 · counted column: Class of 2026 Matriculation 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Bullis School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Community School Of Naples · class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Middlesex School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Madeira School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Western Reserve Academy · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Lakeside School · 2021-2025 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
Ransom Everglades School · Classes of 2020-24 As published 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
The Chapin School · 2022-2026 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
Nightingale-Bamford School · 2022–2025 1.8 · 7 over 4 class years
Dalton School · 2019-2024 1.7 · 10 over 6 class years
Choate Rosemary Hall · Class of 2021-2025 As published 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Concord Academy · 2021 to 2025 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Collegiate School · 2022-2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Greenwich Academy · 2022-2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
John Burroughs School · 2021-2025 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Montgomery Bell Academy · 2022 – 2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Marin Academy · CLASSES OF 2023–2025 1.3 · 4 over 3 class years
Sage Hill School · 2023-2025 1.3 · 4 over 3 class years
Sewickley Academy · Classes of 2023, 2024, and 2025 1.3 · 4 over 3 class years
St. Mark's School of Texas · Classes of 2023-2025 1.3 · 4 over 3 class years
Belmont Hill School · 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Episcopal High School · Classes of 2022 through 2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Packer Collegiate Institute · 2021 - 2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Poly Prep Country Day School · Classes of 2020–2024 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
San Francisco University High School · 2021-2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Francis W. Parker School · Classes of 2022-2025 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
Holton-Arms School · College Matriculations 2017-2020 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
Friends Seminary · The Classes of 2021–2025 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Greens Farms Academy · Class of 2022-2026 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Loyola High School · 2020-24 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Portledge School · Classes of 2022–2026 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
The Blake School · Classes 2021-2025 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
The Stony Brook School · Classes of 2021-2025 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Albuquerque Academy · Classes of 2021-2024 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Crossroads School · classes of 2023-25 As published 1.0 · 3 over 3 class years
Avenues The World School · Class of 2024 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Berkshire School · Class of 2021 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Blair Academy · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Dwight-Englewood School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Falmouth Academy · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Harvard-Westlake School · BY THE CLASSES OF 2021-2025 · counted column: CLASS OF '25 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Hopkins School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Isidore Newman School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Marlborough School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Paideia School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Princeton Day School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Rye Country Day School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Bryn Mawr School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Galloway School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Haverford School · 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Webb Schools · Class of 2024 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Cate School · 2019-2023 As published 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Gilman School · classes of 2020-2024 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Maret School · classes of 2022–2026 As published 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Severn School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
St. Sebastian's School · past five years 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
St. Stephen's Episcopal School (Austin) · Classes of 2021-2025 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
The Benjamin School · Five-Year Matriculation List, Classes of 2022-2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
The Brearley School · 2022–2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Westtown School · 2022-2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Catlin Gabel School · last four years 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Loyola School · 2023-2026 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Lycee Francais De New York · Class of 2022-2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Punahou School · the past four years (2022 – 2025) As published 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
University School of Nashville · 2022-2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Canterbury School · 2019-2024 0.7 · 4 over 6 class years
Germantown Friends School · 2023-25 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
Beaver Country Day School · Five Year Summary 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Convent of the Sacred Heart · 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Hathaway Brown School · 2022 - 2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Moravian Academy · the last five years 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Phoenix Country Day School · Classes of 2021-25 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Berkeley Carroll School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The John Cooper School · Class of 2022 - 2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Trinity Hall · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Colorado Academy · Classes 2022-2025 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Fort Worth Country Day School · 2020-23 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Francis Parker School · 2022-2025 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Lick Wilmerding High School · past four years 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
University of Chicago Laboratory Schools · past four years 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Laurel School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Marymount School of New York · 2020-2024 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Moorestown Friends School · Classes of 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Polytechnic School · Class of 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Springside Chestnut Hill Academy · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
St. George's School · Classes of 2022-2026 As published 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Agnes Irwin School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Rivers School · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Seven Hills School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
University Prep · 2022–2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Waynflete School · Five-Year Matriculation (2021–2025) 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Ysc Academy · 2015-2025 0.3 · 3 over 11 class years
Kamehameha Schools · the last seven years, 2017-2023 0.3 · 2 over 7 class years
Keystone School (San Antonio) · 2020-2025 0.3 · 2 over 6 class years
Albany Academies · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
All Saints Academy · CLASSES 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Archmere Academy · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Dunn School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Eastside Preparatory School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Ellis School · 2019–2023 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Head-Royce School · (2021–25) 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Landon School · College Admittance 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Santa Fe Preparatory School · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Browning School · Classes of 2022-26 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Bush School · 2020-2025 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
The Cambridge School Of Weston · Classes of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Washington International School · 2022–2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years

Published, but not ranked — these schools name Duke University on a list of where their graduates enrolled whose class years we cannot read ("Since 2023", or no class year printed), so their totals are shown rather than divided: St Andrew'S School (10, Since 2023); Pierrepont School (4, not stated); The Lovett School (3, List as of 5/1/2026 (no class year printed on the list itself; page 2 header reads "College Acceptance and Matriculation" and links this file as the "Class of 2026 matriculation list")); Woodlawn School (2, not stated).

Admitted — from the schools' acceptance lists

11 high schools publish a numbered list of college acceptances — where their graduates were admitted, not where they enrolled — and name Duke University on it. Between them they printed 37 admissions. Ranked by admissions per class year to Duke University, from each school's own published acceptances list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. Admits are counted at each college a student was admitted to, the same way the UC Reach Score counts a student admitted to three UC campuses three times — so this is a count of admissions, not of students. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, and a list whose class years we cannot read is listed below with its total rather than divided by a guess.

High school · years its list covers Admitted per class year
St Andrews School Of Boca Raton Inc · Class of 2026 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
The Chapin School · 2022-2026 · counted column: Admitted 2.2 · 11 over 5 class years
Canterbury School-Fort Myers · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Middlesex School · Class of 2026 · counted column: accepted 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
National Cathedral School · 2023-2025 1.7 · 5 over 3 class years
The Altamont School · Classes of 2021-2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Lycée Français de San Francisco · Classes 2022, 2023, 2024 1.0 · 3 over 3 class years
Archbishop Mitty High School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The TASIS School in Dorado · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Key School · 2021 - 2026 · counted column: Acceptances 2021–2026 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
and 1 more
St Anselm'S Abbey School · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years

All 149 feeder schools, ranked →

Counted from each school's own published document, linked on that school's page. A high school that is not here does not publish a numbered list we could read — that is all absence means, and it says nothing about its graduates. Where a school publishes both, the two lists are shown separately: an acceptances list is not a list of enrollments, and the two are never added together.

For Parents

Get alerts when Duke University's numbers change

New admit rates, costs, and outcomes — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Duke University is a private nonprofit four-year college in NC. It admitted 7% of applicants (46,365 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-optional.

Middle 50% of enrolled first-years who submitted that test: SAT 1510–1570, ACT 34–35. 50% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 31% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class.

Cost: about $29,612 a year on average with aid, $87,072 a year at full price.

Median earnings ten years after entry: $97,800 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $859,552 ahead with aid, $629,712 ahead at full price.

Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Mathematics ($297,029); Computer Science ($195,809); Computer Engineering ($174,522).

Economic mobility (Opportunity Insights): 3% of students came from families in the bottom fifth of income, and 50% of those reached the top fifth as adults.

Aid pledge published by the college for 2026-27: aid packages carry no loans for families under $65,000; the college meets full demonstrated need.

High schools that publish a numbered matriculation list and name Duke University: 140, 678 enrolled students between them — ranked by graduates per class year, most often Durham Academy (7.8 per class year, 39 over 5 class years, 2021–2025); Pine Crest School (6.4 per class year, 32 over 5 class years, 2022-26); Riverdale Country School (5.7 per class year, 34 over 6 class years, Higher Ed Enrollment 2021-2026). Each figure is the number that school printed divided by the class years its own list covers; the totals and years are shown. These are the schools that publish such a list, not every school that sends students; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/duke-university.

High schools that publish a numbered list of college acceptances naming Duke University: 11, 37 admissions between them — ranked by admissions per class year, most often St Andrews School Of Boca Raton Inc (4.0 per class year, 4 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); The Chapin School (2.2 per class year, 11 over 5 class years, 2022-2026, counted column "Admitted"); Canterbury School-Fort Myers (2.0 per class year, 2 over 1 class year, Class of 2026). Admits are counted at each college, so this counts admissions, not students. These are a different set of documents from the matriculation lists above and the two are never added together; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/duke-university.

Machine-readable version of this page: https://highschoolreach.com/colleges/duke-university.json

By major: AnthropologyBiologyBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringChemistryComputer EngineeringComputer ScienceEconomicsEnglishEnvironmental ScienceHistoryLinguisticsMathematicsMechanical EngineeringNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Political SciencePsychologyPublic HealthSociologyStatistics
Get your child's odds →

What families ask next