Lakeview Leadership Academy

Victorville · San Bernardino County · Victor Valley Union High · Public

Public San Bernardino County Victor Valley Union High → ~56 seniors CDS 3667934…
Shareable scorecard →

At a glance

Programs & features
  • 1 AP courses offered — Limited
Academic signals
  • AP rigor: Bottom 25% of US high schools

Composed from federal CRDC offerings, and other public data. Full breakdowns below.

California College-Going Rate

58.2% of the 2022-23 graduating class enrolled in college within a year.

The share of 2022-23 graduates who enrolled at a college anywhere in the U.S. within 12 months, per the National Student Clearinghouse match the California Department of Education publishes.

Within 12 months
58.2%
of 55 graduates

Give the same class four more months and 61.8% had enrolled — CDE publishes a 16-month window alongside the 12-month one, 34 students.

About the same as the 2021-22 class (58.8%).

Where the 2022-23 class enrolled

In California — 31 students (56.4%)

University of California 0.0% 0
California State University 1.8% 1
California Community College 54.5% 30
California private college 0.0% 0

Out of state — 1 students (1.8%)

Out-of-state 4-year 1.8% 1
Out-of-state 2-year 0.0% 0

CDE puts each graduate in one bucket only — whichever kind of college they were enrolled in longest — so these add up to the rate above. That is a different count from the UC Reach Score on this page, which counts a student at every UC campus that admitted them.

Source: California Department of Education, College-Going Rate (DataQuest) ↗, cohort 2022-23, posted 17-Sep-2025. Data file: cgr12mo23.txt ↗ (and the 16-month file ↗). CDE builds the rate by matching California high school completers to National Student Clearinghouse enrollment records; we publish CDE’s aggregates and hold no student-level data.

You've seen Lakeview Leadership Academy. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How Lakeview Leadership Academy compares for families

What families should know about Lakeview Leadership Academy.

  • vs Similar SchoolsThe closest comparables nearby: Options For Youth-Victor Valley Charter, Mojave River Academy Oro Grande, Cobalt Institute Of Math And Science Academy and 2 more. See the sidebar to compare side-by-side.

For Parents

Get alerts when Lakeview Leadership Academy's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Academic rigor

AP + advanced-course offerings

Limited — narrow advanced curriculum

Bottom 25% of US high schools

50th 90th ↑ this school
Less rigorMore rigorMost rigor
AP courses offered
1
Subject breadth not reported
Advanced math classes
1
0 calculus · 1 advanced
Lab science classes
3
0 physics · 3 chemistry
Other rigor signals
No dual-enrollment or gifted program reported

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). CRDC reports what's offered + enrolled — it doesn't collect AP exam pass rates (College Board owns that data and doesn't release it school-level).

SAT / ACT participation

CRDC federal data · 2020-21
SAT/ACT test-takers
0
11th-12th graders who took 1+ college admissions test
Test-taking intensity
0.0
takers per 100 students in grades 9-12

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). Volume — not score — is what's reported here. A higher count means more students at this school are entering the college admissions pipeline. Note: 2020-21 was COVID-disrupted; some districts (especially those that stayed remote longer) report unusually low or zero takers.

Federal Title I context

High-poverty school

Title I Schoolwide eligible

82.7%
FRPL rate — % of students who qualify for the federal Free or Reduced-Price Lunch program. This is the underlying federal income-eligibility signal Title I designations are computed from (ESEA Sec. 1113).
0% (no FRPL) 35% TA · 40% Schoolwide 100% (universal FRPL)

≥75% of students qualify for free/reduced lunch. These schools qualify for the highest tier of federal Title I funding and typically receive extra wraparound services. Academic outcomes vary widely — check the state assessment + grad-rate tiles.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, free/reduced-price lunch eligibility. The actual Title I designation is a district decision and may differ from eligibility — but the federal eligibility math is what we show here. We don't claim to assert whether the district formally chose to enroll this school in Title I.

SBAC academic outcomes — grade 11, 2025

Share of grade-11 students meeting or exceeding the California standard on Smarter Balanced ELA and Math. This is the academic-readiness signal that pairs with UC Reach (post-grad outcomes), stability (retention), and absenteeism (engagement). Note: statewide median Math is only ~20% — a school at 20% isn't an outlier; one at 45%+ genuinely is.

About 6 in 10 students read and write at grade level — above the state norm.
About 1 in 10 students do math at grade level — about the state norm.
ELA — met or exceeded
n = 42
61.9%
incl. 16.7% exceeded
+15.6 pts above San Bernardino County median (46.3%) · CA median 54.5% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 79.4%
Math — met or exceeded
n = 42
14.3%
incl. 2.4% exceeded
-1.5 pts vs. San Bernardino County median (15.8%) · CA median 21.4% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 53.6%

Source: California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Smarter Balanced research files. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥30 tested students.

Student composition — 2025-26

HS grades 9–12 racial/ethnic composition and program subgroups, from CDE Census Day Enrollment. Two-year shift shown when ≥1 pt — surfaces how the community served has changed since 2023-24.

Race / ethnicity

Hispanic / Latino 63% -5.1
White 15% +3.1
Black / African Am. 14% +4.1
Two or more 2%
Asian 2% -1.4
American Indian 2% +1.1
Filipino 1%
Pacific Islander 1%
Not reported 1% -1.0

Program subgroups

Socioeconomically disadv. 85%
Students w/ disabilities 8% +2.6
English learners 6% -5.7

Source: California Department of Education, Census Day Enrollment 2025-26 (HS grades 9–12). Δ shown when shift is ≥1 pt since 2023-24. Categories below 0.5% omitted.

Chronic absenteeism — 2024-25

Share of students missing 10% or more of expected attendance — the leading indicator that often precedes the demand decline shown above. Families disengaging tend to raise absenteeism first, then formally leave. Basis: grades 9–12.

22% of students are chronically absent — near the state norm of about 23%.
Chronic absent
22.1%
47 of 213 students

Absenteeism is up 4.5 pp since 2018-19. A rising absenteeism trend often precedes formal departure — worth investigating which subgroups are driving it.

San Bernardino County median
26.7% · school is better than 70% of 97 HS
Statewide median
22.8%
Chronic absenteeism by year (raw %)

Source: California Department of Education, Chronic Absenteeism 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 eligible students. CDE didn't publish a usable 2019-20 file (COVID).

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment (9–12)
6 (2018)908 (2026)
+15033.3%
Grade 12 (graduating class)
34 (2021)40 (2026)
+17.6%

How does Lakeview Leadership Academy really compare on getting kids to college?

Unlock a head-to-head snapshot of Lakeview Leadership Academy against its 10 most similar nearby schools — matched on size, location, type. See exactly where it stands on the college pipeline.

The full head-to-head table — every peer school's UC Reach, side by side.
Enrollment trend + 3-year projection — is this school growing or quietly shrinking?
The plain-English read on what it all means for your family.

Your similar-school group includes

Options For Youth-Victor Valley Charter · Mojave River Academy Oro Grande · Cobalt Institute Of Math And Science Academy · University Preparatory · Academy for Academic Excellence · Encore Jr./Sr. High School For The Performing And Visual Arts · +4 more

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement. We'll email you the snapshot and a few alerts a year. Unsubscribe anytime.

Enrollment stability & demand — 2024-25

Two complementary signals: retention (do students stay once enrolled?) and demand (are families choosing the school?). Read against the San Bernardino County baseline — the demographic tide is moving every CA HS, so a school's gap vs. county is the actionable signal.

82% of students who start the year here finish it here.
Mixed signal
Outperforming on demand; some mid-year churn to look at.

Lakeview Leadership Academy is recruiting families faster than San Bernardino County is shrinking (school +17.6% vs. county -3.5%), but 40 students didn't make it to year-end. The recruitment engine works; the mid-year exits are worth understanding. Chronic absenteeism is rising (28.1%, +10.5 pts since 2018-19) — a watch signal worth monitoring as a leading indicator.

+17.6%  senior class, grade 12 (2021–2026)
-3.5%  San Bernardino County baseline
+21.1pp  gap vs. county
82.4%  retention (county median 80.5%)
Senior class (grade 12) — indexed to 100 at 2021
Stability rate by year (raw %)
Stability rate
82.4%
187 of 227 students

40 of 227 students who enrolled at Lakeview Leadership Academy this year didn't maintain continuous enrollment (17.6% non-stability). Mid-year transfers, dropouts, and other exits are all counted.

San Bernardino County median
80.5% · school is in the 59th percentile of 99 HS
Statewide median
87.3% · in the 34th percentile of 1,734 HS

Stability by student group

Socio. disadvantaged (904) 73.9%
Hispanic / Latino (701) 77.6%
Students w/ disabilities (193) 80.3%
Black / African Am. (192) 62.5%
English learners (185) 74.1%
White (93) 77.4%

Nearest peer high schools

Options For Youth-Victor Valley Charter 24.1% Mojave River Academy Oro Grande 63.4% Cobalt Institute Of Math And Science Academy 95.2% University Preparatory 98.5% Academy for Academic Excellence 96.0%

Source: California Department of Education, Stability Rate 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 cumulative enrollees so by-design-high-churn continuation schools don't dominate the bottom of the distribution. Cumulative enrollment counts every student on the rolls during the year, so it can exceed peak-day enrollment.

District financial profile — Victor Valley Union High (FY2020)

From 4 years of NCES F-33 filings (the federally-mandated district finance survey). Public schools don't have their own books — the district does. These figures show the financial scale, revenue dependence, instruction-vs-overhead mix, and long-term debt that shape what a school can sustain.

Total revenue
$195.3M
+16.2% since FY2017
Per-pupil revenue
$18,353
10,641 students enrolled
Revenue mix
State: 66.4%
Local: 17.9%
Federal: 15.7%
Instruction share
56.6%
of current spending · $8,551/pupil
Long-term debt
$147.1M
-16.7% since FY2017
Total revenue by year ($M)
Total expenditure by year ($M)

Source: NCES F-33 Annual Survey of School System Finances (Urban Institute Education Data API). Latest year currently published: FY2020. F-33 is a district-level federal filing — it reflects the Victor Valley Union High as a whole, not this individual school's books. Revenue mix shows where the district's dollars come from (state aid dominates in CA via LCFF). Instruction share is current expenditure on instruction ÷ total current expenditure (national benchmark ~60%). Long-term debt is end-of-year outstanding (mostly facilities bonds).

UC Reach Score methodology
UC Application Reach Score
11
6 applications
In context: CA median 81 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 240 · San Bernardino Co. Top 10% ≥ 129 · higher than 1% of CA HS.
UC Admit Rate
N/A
— / 6 applications
UC Yield Rate
N/A
— enrolled of — admitted
Yield vs. Enrollment Reach: Yield answers "of UC admits, what % chose UC?" — denominator is just the admits. A small admitted cohort can post a low yield even when the school sends a healthy share of its class to UC.
UC Enrollment Reach Score
N/A
— enrollees / 56 seniors
Enrollment Reach vs. Yield: Reach answers "of the whole senior class, what share ended up at UC?" — denominator is everyone. High Yield with low Enrollment Reach is common at elite privates: most admits matriculate, but the school sends most of its class to non-UC selective colleges.
Student-Counselor Ratio
About 303 students per counselor — typical for California, though well above the 250 experts recommend.
303:1
3.0 FTE counselors · 908 students
In context: CA median 337:1 · 34 fewer students per counselor · ASCA target 250:1.
A-G Completion
Most graduates leave here ready to apply to UC and CSU — 2 in 3 finish the required courses, versus about 6 in 10 statewide.
67%
34 of 51 graduates · 2024-25 cohort
In context: CA median 55.9% · +10.8 pp above · San Bernardino Co. 52.6%.
Selective UC Reach (UCB, UCLA, UCSD, UCSB, UCI — incl. the Elite two)
N/A
Elite UC Reach (UCB + UCLA)
N/A
Senior Class Size
56
CDE grade 12 (exact)
Total School Enrollment
901
All grades · CDE Census Day
Avg. Applicant GPA · top-6 UCs
4.03

UC Outcomes Trend — 2024–2025

UC Admit Rate %
UC Reach Score (where available)
UC Admits (count, right axis)

Class size from CDE grade 12 enrollment. Campus-level data: applicant and admit totals count a student once at EACH campus. A senior admitted to UCLA and UC San Diego adds 2 to the admit total, so the total can exceed the senior class — that is the metric working as defined, not an error. The admit RATE is unaffected: both its numerator and denominator are campus-level.

Campus Breakdown — 2025

Campus Applicants Admits Enrollees Admit Rate UC Reach Score Yield Avg GPA (App) Avg GPA (Adm)
UCLA → Elite 6 4.03
= UCOP-suppressed (count below 3 students, hidden for privacy — actual value is 0, 1, or 2, not necessarily zero). Campus-level totals may count one student admitted to multiple UC campuses more than once; Admit Volume metrics are not the same as UC Reach, which is measured against the whole senior class. See methodology →

What This Means

A relatively small share of the senior class is entering the UC application pipeline. This may signal limited A-G completion, UC awareness gaps, or counseling capacity constraints. Broadening access is the highest-leverage opportunity for this school.
Note: the UC Reach Score sums campus-level admits across the top-six UC campuses, so a student admitted to both UCLA and UCSD is counted at each. It reflects competitive admit volume relative to class size — admit-events, not distinct students — which is why a Score can exceed 100.
Compare with other schools → See San Bernardino County rankings →

For School Admins

The full Reach Report for Lakeview Leadership Academy

A board- and LCAP-ready intelligence brief: your enrollment retention and college outcomes, benchmarked against your closest competitors, with a 5-year forecast, concrete steps to act on, and the rigor + outcomes story you can share with your families. Built from primary public data — prepared for you, not auto-generated.

  • Student-retention benchmarking vs your county median — and the LCAP evidence to back your goals
See a sample report →

Related reading

The data Newsom asked for already exists — school by school

UC testing review · August 25, 2026

Nursing at NYU is harder to get into than Brown

College admissions · August 21, 2026

All stories from the data →

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Lakeview Leadership Academy?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →

For School Admins looking at enrollment trends: request a Reach Report →

What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next