Get your child's odds at Santa Monica College Free Family Decision Report — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + your real net price. Santa Monica College starts already on the list. Start →

Feeder high schools

Which high schools send graduates to Santa Monica College?

The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to Santa Monica College, from each school's own published list: Harvard-Westlake School (3), Blair Academy (1), California Academy of Mathematics & Science (1), McDonogh School (1), Santa Margarita Catholic High School (1). 12 high schools' lists name Santa Monica College.

Enrolled — from the schools' matriculation lists

The ten largest, per class year Enrolled per class year
1 Harvard-Westlake SchoolStudio City, CA 3.0
2 Blair AcademyBlairstown, NJ 1.0
4 McDonogh SchoolOwings Mills, MD 1.0
5 Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolRancho Santa Margarita, CA 1.0
6 Notre Dame High SchoolSherman Oaks, CA 0.8
8 Great Neck North High SchoolGreat Neck, NY 0.2
9 Lynbrook High SchoolSan Jose, CA 0.2
10 Polytechnic SchoolPasadena, CA 0.2
All 12 schools, with the class years each list covers
Harvard-Westlake School · BY THE CLASSES OF 2021-2025 · counted column: CLASS OF '25 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Blair Academy · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
California Academy of Mathematics & Science · Class of 2023 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
McDonogh School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Santa Margarita Catholic High School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Notre Dame High School · 2022 - 2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Mt Vernon Presbyterian School · 2014-2025 0.2 · 2 over 12 class years
Great Neck North High School · Classes of 2021–2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Lynbrook High School · 2022-2025 As published 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Polytechnic School · Class of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Bush School · 2020-2025 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
Urban School of San Francisco · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
How this is counted

12 high schools publish a numbered matriculation list — where their graduates actually enrolled, counted, in the school's own School Profile — and name Santa Monica College on it. Between them they printed 17 enrolled graduates. Ranked by graduates per class year enrolling at Santa Monica College, from each school's own published list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, so a one-year list and a five-year list can sit on the same page. A list whose class years we cannot read is not divided by a guess — it is listed below with its total instead.

Is my high school on this list?

Admitted — from the schools' acceptance lists

The ten largest, per class year Admitted per class year
1 Mira Costa High SchoolManhattan Beach, CA 8.0
2 Chaminade College PreparatoryWest Hills, CA 7.0
All 3 schools, with the class years each list covers
Mira Costa High School · 2022-2026 College Admission Data · counted column: The first column represents the number of students admitted from the Class of 2026 8.0 · 8 over 1 class year
Chaminade College Preparatory · Class of 2026 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
Mt Vernon Presbyterian School · 2014-2025 · counted column: Number of Acceptances 0.2 · 3 over 12 class years
How this is counted

3 high schools publish a numbered list of college acceptances — where their graduates were admitted, not where they enrolled — and name Santa Monica College on it. Between them they printed 18 admissions. Ranked by admissions per class year to Santa Monica College, from each school's own published acceptances list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. Admits are counted at each college a student was admitted to, the same way the UC Reach Score counts a student admitted to three UC campuses three times — so this is a count of admissions, not of students. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, and a list whose class years we cannot read is listed below with its total rather than divided by a guess.

All 14 feeder schools, ranked →

Counted from each school's own published document, linked on that school's page. A high school that is not here does not publish a numbered list we could read — that is all absence means, and it says nothing about its graduates. Where a school publishes both, the two lists are shown separately: an acceptances list is not a list of enrollments, and the two are never added together.

Odds at Santa Monica College

Put in your child's GPA and score — we'll show where they land here. Free, and nothing to sign up for.

Most families report the weighted one — it's the higher number, with honors and AP credit in it.

—

This reads the numbers — admit rate, scores, GPA. The real decision also weighs essays, recommendations, activities, and course rigor.

Get their full list — free Family Decision Report →

The free report adds every college on your list — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds, your real net price, and merit-scholarship eligibility. About a minute.

Live odds from each college's own published admissions data.

ℹ️ A note about this profile

Santa Monica College doesn't publish standardized-test bands or admit-rate data to IPEDS. That usually means the institution is open-admission (no selectivity gate), graduate-focused, or small enough that the federal survey suppresses the numbers. What we do have below: published tuition, enrollment, degrees awarded by major. If you had a different, more selective institution in mind, the search at the top of the page will find it.

Parent/student verdict

Selectivity unknown

Major value play for in-state residents.

Best for

  • In-state residents (tuition ~$1,156 — major value play)

The reality

  • Out-of-state tuition is 9.3× the in-state rate

Verdict is composed from this college's structured data (admit rate, SAT bands, net price with aid and at full price, Carnegie classification, scholarship grids) using transparent rule thresholds — not a chat-bot's opinion.

What are your child's odds here?

Enter their numbers once — this and every college page shows their verdict, and the UC campus cards on California school pages light up with it too. Free, no email.

Weighted is the higher GPA, with honors/AP credit in it — pick whichever your school reports. PSAT scores work in the SAT box.

Institutional snapshot

What kind of college is this?

Carnegie classification
Special Focus 4-Year: Other
Undergraduates
21,440
20,000 and above including graduate students
In-state tuitionThe published full price before any aid. Families who don't qualify for need-based aid at a given college pay this, minus any merit scholarships — whether you qualify depends on the college's price and policies, not on any fixed income line.
$1,156
sticker, before aid
Out-of-state tuition
$10,708
+$9,552 vs in-state

Sticker price isn't every family's price. Lower- and middle-income families often pay materially less after grants — and there's no income cutoff for need-based aidGrant money based on your family's finances (via FAFSA and the college's own forms), not your student's stats., so at expensive schools even families earning $150–200K can qualify. Where need aid thins out, merit scholarships (where offered) bring the price down instead. Check the school's own net-price calculator for your number.

Source: federal IPEDS Admissions 2023 for scores + admit rate; federal College Scorecard for earnings + outcomes. SAT/ACT bands are the 25th–75th percentile of enrolled submitters.

The real cost

What Santa Monica College actually costs

The federal file doesn't carry net-price figures for Santa Monica College, so the published tuition above is the only price we can show you — and it's the price before any aid. That's a gap in the government's data, not a sign this college is expensive or stingy.

Get your family's number — Santa Monica College's Net Price Calculator ↗ 10–15 minutes; have a tax return handy. Federal law requires every college to publish one, and for a college like this it's the best cost answer available.
Start your Family Decision Report →

Your odds + estimated cost across your whole college list, side by side.

Source: federal IPEDS (published tuition) and College Scorecard, which reports net price only for colleges meeting its cohort-size and Title-IV reporting thresholds.

What students study here

Most popular majors at Santa Monica College

Top 5 fields of study by bachelor's degrees awarded (most recent IPEDS Completions). Use this to see what Santa Monica College actually graduates — not just what it markets.

1. Visual & Performing Arts
27 degrees · 100.0%
Highly variable. Steady-pay roles cluster in design, illustration, production. Performance careers have very wide income distributions.

Sources: IPEDS Completions (C2023_a; bachelor's-level first majors, 2-digit CIP family — share is of the top 5 only). Full college-vs-major comparison: /college-outcomes →

Student body & economic mobility

Who attends here — and what the campus adds.

Opportunity Insights data. It measures two things at once: how many lower-income students a college enrols, and how many of them reach the top earnings quintile later. A high rate says the college does both — it does not establish that the campus caused the earnings, because the students it admits differ from the students it doesn't. Read it as a signal about access and destination, not as proof of value added.

Top-1% access
1.9%
from top-1% households
Mobility rateThe share of ALL students who arrived from the bottom 20% of family incomes AND reached the top 20% themselves by their early 30s — access and lift in one number, and a sign the campus itself adds earnings power.
4.4%
bottom 20% → top 20% by age 32
Upward rate
19.3%
of lower-income students who reach the top 20%

Full leaderboards: /college-mobility →

AI program signal

AI + computing education at Santa Monica College

CS degrees (annual)
46
CIP 11.0701 + 11.0101

Full multi-lens comparison: /ai-colleges →

Compare side-by-side

Santa Monica College vs. another college

Deciding on Santa Monica College?

Get the full picture in one free report — your child's Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds and your real net price, for Santa Monica College and every other college on your list.

Get your child's odds at Santa Monica College →

Score-odds calculator · Improve the score first · Find merit aid

For Parents

Get alerts when Santa Monica College's numbers change

New admit rates, costs, and outcomes — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Santa Monica College is a public four-year college in CA.

Tuition: $1,156 in-state, $10,708 out-of-state (net price with aid not reported).

Economic mobility (Opportunity Insights): 23% of students came from families in the bottom fifth of income, and 19% of those reached the top fifth as adults.

High schools that publish a numbered matriculation list and name Santa Monica College: 12, 17 enrolled students between them — ranked by graduates per class year, most often Harvard-Westlake School (3.0 per class year, 3 over 1 class year, BY THE CLASSES OF 2021-2025, counted column "CLASS OF '25"); Blair Academy (1.0 per class year, 1 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); California Academy of Mathematics & Science (1.0 per class year, 1 over 1 class year, Class of 2023). Each figure is the number that school printed divided by the class years its own list covers; the totals and years are shown. These are the schools that publish such a list, not every school that sends students; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/santa-monica-college.

High schools that publish a numbered list of college acceptances naming Santa Monica College: 3, 18 admissions between them — ranked by admissions per class year, most often Mira Costa High School (8.0 per class year, 8 over 1 class year, 2022-2026 College Admission Data, counted column "The first column represents the number of students admitted from the Class of 2026"); Chaminade College Preparatory (7.0 per class year, 7 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); Mt Vernon Presbyterian School (0.2 per class year, 3 over 12 class years, 2014-2025, counted column "Number of Acceptances"). Admits are counted at each college, so this counts admissions, not students. These are a different set of documents from the matriculation lists above and the two are never added together; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/santa-monica-college.

Machine-readable version of this page: https://highschoolreach.com/colleges/santa-monica-college.json

Questions families ask

How much does Santa Monica College cost? Tuition: $1,156 in-state, $10,708 out-of-state (net price with aid not reported).

Which high schools send the most graduates to Santa Monica College? The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to Santa Monica College, from each school's own published list: Harvard-Westlake School (3), Blair Academy (1), California Academy of Mathematics & Science (1), McDonogh School (1), Santa Margarita Catholic High School (1). 12 high schools' lists name Santa Monica College.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

Get your child's odds →

What families ask next