Garden School

Jackson Heights · NY · Private independent · K-12 combined

Private

You've seen Garden School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How Garden School compares for families

What families should know about Garden School.

  • LocallyNY sits right at the US average on NAEP 8th-grade math — local school quality will set your kid apart.

For Parents

Get alerts when Garden School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Your state's public flagship

Stony Brook University

49%
admit rate
$10,931
in-state tuition/yr · $32,741 out-of-state
1320–1490
SAT 25–75 · ACT 28–33

The in-state tuition gap is the flagship's biggest draw — most in-state families pay far less than the out-of-state sticker. Average net price after aid runs about $18,784/yr. Admission odds depend on your student's GPA and test scores, not which high school they attend.

See the full Stony Brook University profile → Estimate your odds with your scores →

Source: IPEDS admissions, tuition & enrollment + College Scorecard net price. Flagship = the state's primary public research university.

Pay for college in New York

New York's public scholarships

New York's Excelsior Scholarship makes SUNY and CUNY tuition-free for middle-income families — there's no GPA or test gate, but you commit to staying in New York after you graduate.

Promise Excelsior Scholarship
Free SUNY/CUNY tuition (last-dollar, up to $5,500/yr)
Income: Household AGI ≤ $125,000

Tuition-free SUNY/CUNY for NY families under $125k AGI — no GPA or test gate, but you must stay on track and live in New York after graduating. (Stay on-track (30 credits/yr); live & work in NY afterward for the years you received it.)

Official program details ↗

Eligibility rules change yearly — confirm with the official program before relying on it. Amounts are recent published figures; awards cover tuition/fees, not housing or books unless noted. Verified 2026-06-14.

Their published matriculation list

Where their graduates enrolled

Garden School publishes where its graduates enrolled. What follows is copied from that document — 9 colleges, in the document's own order.

The document does not state a class year for this list.

Barnard College Brown University Columbia University Drexel University Fordham University Princeton University UCLA University of California Berkeley Wesleyan University

These graduates went on to the colleges above.

Check your kid's odds at these colleges →

We'll load 9 from the list above — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.

Independently verified As published by Garden School — College Counseling page — 'College Matriculation' ↗. Found at: Academics > College Counseling > 'College Matriculation' (alumni, no class year given).

About this listing

Garden School is listed by NAIS. It has not reported to the federal Private School Survey, which is voluntary, so enrollment figures are not available here — many of the country's oldest independent schools are in the same position. The school's own site: www.gardenschool.org ↗

Not enough enrollment history on file to chart a trend for this school yet.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Garden School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →
What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next