Sandhills School

Columbia · SC · Private independent · K-12 combined

Private

A parent's read

  • Where graduates go, as the school itself publishes it. Sandhills School publishes where its graduates go (not stated): 53 colleges, including Columbia College, Columbia International University, Emory & Henry College, University of North Carolina- Asheville.
  • Worth asking admissions: the school profile. Reach doesn't yet show this school's SAT/ACT or AP results. Every private school produces a counselor's "school profile" for colleges, and most post it online — ask admissions for it. How a school answers says as much as the numbers.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Where graduates go — as published by the school

Sandhills School publishes its college acceptances (not stated): 53 colleges. See the full list ↓

Their published college acceptances

College acceptances

Sandhills School publishes the colleges that admitted its graduates. What follows is copied from that document — 53 colleges, in the document's own order.

The document does not state a class year for this list.

Other California · 4

Loyola Marymount University · Pepperdine University · University of Redlands (CA) · Whittier College

Out of state · 36

Allegheny College · Arizona State University · Barton College · Berry College · Brevard College · Charleston Southern University · The Citadel · Clemson University · College of Charleston · Columbia International University · Converse College · Emory & Henry College · Erskine College · Furman University · and 22 more below

Not matched to a college page · 13

American College of Building Arts · Anderson University · California Maritime Academy · Clark University (MA) · Columbia College · Concordia Irvine University · Marymount California University · Midlands Technical College · New Mexico Institute of Mining & Technology · Queens College · Spartanburg Community College · Wake Forest University (PhD) · Waren Wilson College

Is my kid's college on this list?

— Stanford University — New York University — University of Southern California — University of California, Los Angeles — University of California, Berkeley — University of Michigan — Cornell University — Boston University — Northeastern University — University of Texas at Austin — Georgetown University — Duke University

The school down the road: Hammond School

CollegeSandhills SchoolHammond School
Carnegie Mellon University*—✓ named
Dartmouth College*—✓ named
Duke University*—✓ named
Georgia Institute of Technology—✓ named
Purdue University*—✓ named
University of Illinois—✓ named
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill—✓ named
University of Southern California*—✓ named
University of Virginia—✓ named
University of Wisconsin*—✓ named

Both schools print names, not counts, so this shows which selective colleges each list names.

All 53 colleges, as the document prints them
Allegheny College American College of Building Arts Anderson University Arizona State University Barton College Berry College Brevard College California Maritime Academy Charleston Southern University The Citadel Clark University (MA) Clemson University College of Charleston Columbia College Columbia International University Concordia Irvine University Converse College Emory & Henry College Erskine College Furman University Francis Marion University Gardner-Webb University Greenville Technical College Guilford College Hampden-Sydney College High Point University Huntingdon College Lander University Lees-McRae College Loyola Marymount University
and 23 more

These graduates were admitted to the colleges above.

Check your kid's odds at these colleges →

We'll load 10 from the list above — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.

Independently verified As published by Sandhills School — College Counseling page — 'Sandhills Bucks are College Bound!' section ↗. Found at: 'Sandhills Bucks are College Bound!' section, bare list of college names below the intro paragraph.

Keep this page current

Work at Sandhills School? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

You've seen Sandhills School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How Sandhills School compares for families

What families should know about Sandhills School.

  • ▸ LocallySC sits right at the US average on NAEP 8th-grade math — local school quality will set your kid apart.
  • ▸ vs Similar SchoolsThe closest comparables nearby: Hammond School, Glenforest School, Heathwood Hall Episcopal School and 5 more. See the sidebar to compare side-by-side.

For Parents

Get alerts when Sandhills School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Your state's public flagship

University of South Carolina-Columbia

62%
admit rate
$12,688
in-state tuition/yr · $35,972 out-of-state
1180–1380
SAT 25–75 · ACT 26–32

The in-state tuition gap is the flagship's biggest draw — most in-state families pay far less than the out-of-state sticker. Average net price after aid runs about $22,811/yr. Admission odds depend on your student's GPA and test scores, not which high school they attend.

See the full University of South Carolina-Columbia profile → Estimate your odds with your scores →

Source: IPEDS admissions, tuition & enrollment + College Scorecard net price. Flagship = the state's primary public research university.

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment went from 86 in 2018 to 113 in 2022 — over 4 years.
+31.4%
Why only 3 data points?

Private school enrollment comes from the NCES Private School Universe Survey (PSS), which is collected every other year — not annually like public-school data. The most recent published collection is 2021–22; NCES targeted spring 2026 for the 2023–24 release — we'll load it as soon as it's published.

If the recent trend holds…

At its recent rate of +7.1%/year, projecting from 2022's 113 students:

2023
121
2025
139
2027
159

An extrapolation of the recent trajectory, not a forecast of the school's plans; ignores one-off shocks.

Most similar nearby high schools

The schools most like this one — same type, blended on distance and size — and where their enrollment is heading. These are the schools families here weigh against each other.

SchoolTypeMilesHS enrollmentTrend
Hammond School
Columbia
Private 2.7 944 +37.8%
Glenforest School
West Columbia
Private 11.2 52 —
Heathwood Hall Episcopal School
Columbia
Private 5.9 631 -13.2%
Daniels Christian Schools
Columbia
Private 7.6 21 —
Cardinal Newman School
Columbia
Private 7.7 495 -10.3%
Grace Christian School
West Columbia
Private 9.5 177 +11.3%
Hope Christian Academy
Columbia
Private 9.6 9 —
Foundation Christian School
Gaston
Private 11.0 41 —

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Sandhills School is a private high school in Columbia, SC, enrolling 113 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

Enrollment is up 31% from 2018 to 2022.

Sandhills School publishes a college acceptances list for the not stated: 53 colleges. Source: College Counseling page — 'Sandhills Bucks are College Bound!' section.

Sources: National Center for Education Statistics (enrollment), the federal Civil Rights Data Collection and EDFacts, state education agencies where named, and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

Where do Sandhills School graduates go to college? Sandhills School publishes a college acceptances list for the not stated: 53 colleges. Source: College Counseling page — 'Sandhills Bucks are College Bound!' section.

How many students attend Sandhills School? Sandhills School is a private high school in Columbia, SC, enrolling 113 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about Sandhills School?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about Sandhills School, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send the admissions office a short report on what AI says about Sandhills School and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Sandhills School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →
What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next