Boarding schools
Best boarding schools in New England, ranked by published college outcomes
61 boarding schools in New England have a profile page on Reach. 26 of them publish a college list with a count beside each college; those are ranked below by graduates enrolling at the Ivy+ twelve per class year, from each school's own list. 31 more publish a college list without counts. Boarding status comes from the TABS member directory.
Which boarding schools in New England have the strongest published college outcomes?
Among the 26 boarding schools in New England with a counted college list, Phillips Academy (Andover) sends the most graduates to the Ivy+ twelve, 83 per class year (83 over 1 class year), followed by Choate Rosemary Hall (63.4) and Milton Academy (44.7).
| # | School | City | Grades | Ivy+ enrollments per class year |
Students on the list per class year |
Different colleges on the list |
Class years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Phillips Academy (Andover) Boarding | Andover, MA | 9–12 | 83.0 | 309.0 | 100 | Class of 2024 | School's list |
| 2 | Choate Rosemary Hall Boarding | Wallingford, CT | 9–12 | 63.4 | 198.2 | 87 | IN THE PAST FIVE YEARS, (CLASS OF 2022-2026) | School's list |
| 3 | Milton Academy Boarding | Milton, MA | K–12 | 44.7 | 124.7 | 41 | 2024-2026 | School's list |
| 4 | The Hotchkiss School Boarding | Lakeville, CT | 9–12 | 44.5 | 108.2 | 40 | Classes of 2023, 2024, 2025, and 2026 | School's list |
| 5 | St. Paul's School (NH) Boarding | Concord, NH | 9–12 | 34.5 | 94.0 | 37 | College Matriculation for the Forms of 2025 and 2026 (combined two-year TOTAL column) | School's list |
| 6 | Groton School Boarding | Groton, MA | 8–12 | 31.0 | 52.2 | 22 | 2022–2026 | School's list |
| 7 | The Taft School Boarding | Watertown, CT | 9–12 | 24.4 | 124.2 | 60 | past five years (2020-2024) | School's list |
| 8 | Middlesex School Boarding | Concord, MA | 9–12 | 21.0 | 99.0 | 58 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 9 | Concord Academy Boarding | Concord, MA | 9–12 | 18.4 | 63.8 | 75 | 2021 to 2025 | School's list |
| 10 | Northfield Mount Hermon Boarding | Mount Hermon, MA | 9–12 | 15.0 | 127.0 | 64 | the past four years | School's list |
| 11 | Kent School Boarding | Kent, CT | 9–12 | 10.3 | 125.0 | 142 | College Matriculations 2023-2025 | School's list |
| 12 | Suffield Academy Boarding | Suffield, CT | 9–12 | 7.0 | 114.0 | 74 | Class of 2025 | School's list |
| 13 | Tabor Academy Boarding | Marion, MA | 9–12 | 6.0 | 137.0 | 88 | Class of 2025 Matriculation | School's list |
| 14 | Brooks School Boarding | North Andover, MA | 9–12 | 6.0 | 84.0 | 51 | Class of 2024 | School's list |
| 15 | Berkshire School Boarding | Sheffield, MA | 9–12 | 5.0 | 111.0 | 76 | Class of 2021 | School's list |
| 16 | Dana Hall School Boarding | Wellesley, MA | 5–12 | 4.0 | 75.0 | 48 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 17 | Portsmouth Abbey School Boarding | Portsmouth, RI | 9–12 | 3.7 | 79.7 | 129 | 2024–2026 | School's list |
| 18 | Wilbraham & Monson Academy Boarding | Wilbraham, MA | 6–12 | 2.2 | 38.0 | 48 | 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 19 | The Cambridge School of Weston Boarding | Weston, MA | 9–12 | 1.8 | 74.6 | 127 | Classes of 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 20 | The Putney School Boarding | Putney, VT | 9–12 | 1.7 | 55.7 | 82 | (2023-2025) | School's list |
| 21 | Gould Academy Boarding | Bethel, ME | 9–12 | 0.7 | 47.5 | 141 | Matches made by Gould students from 2020 to 2025 | School's list |
| 22 | Dublin School Boarding | Dublin, NH | 9–12 | 0.5 | 37.8 | 87 | 2023-2026 | School's list |
| 23 | Vermont Academy Boarding | Saxtons River, VT | 9–12 | 0.3 | 48.7 | 164 | Matriculation List (2021-2026) | School's list |
| 24 | Tilton School Boarding | Tilton, NH | 9–12 | 0.2 | 55.8 | 159 | 2019-2023 | School's list |
| 25 | Ethel Walker School Boarding | Simsbury, CT | 6–12 | 0.0 | 52.0 | 42 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 26 | Pomfret School Boarding | Pomfret, CT | 9–12 | 0.0 | 36.0 | 15 | Class of 2022 | School's list |
Boarding schools in New England that publish a counted acceptances list
An acceptances list counts every college that admitted a graduate, so one student admitted to three of the twelve counts three times. It is a different document from a matriculation list and is never added to the table above.
| # | School | City | Grades | Ivy+ admits per class year |
Students on the list per class year |
Different colleges on the list |
Class years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Middlesex School Boarding | Concord, MA | 9–12 | 24.0 | 213.0 | 58 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
How many boarding schools in New England publish a college list?
26 of the 61 boarding schools in New England publish a college list with counts, 31 publish a list without counts, and 4 publish no list we have read.
| School | City | Grades | What the school published | Class years | Colleges named | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cushing Academy Boarding | Ashburnham, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2022-2026 | 225 | School's list |
| Stoneleigh-Burnham School Boarding | Greenfield, MA | 7–12 | College acceptances | 5-Year Acceptance List | 201 | School's list |
| Phillips Exeter Academy Boarding | Exeter, NH | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | COLLEGE MATRICULATION 2023-2025 | 193 | School's list |
| Worcester Academy Boarding | Worcester, MA | 6–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2024-2026 | 180 | School's list |
| Burr and Burton Academy Boarding | Manchester, VT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 3 Year Matriculation | 177 | School's list |
| Kents Hill School Boarding | Kents Hill, ME | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2022-2026 | 174 | School's list |
| Avon Old Farms School Boarding | Avon, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 171 | School's list |
| The Frederick Gunn School Boarding | Washington, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021 - 2024 | 162 | School's list |
| Lawrence Academy Boarding | Groton, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | currently enrolling | 160 | School's list |
| Forman School Boarding | Litchfield, CT | 9–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | 2026 | 158 | School's list |
| Hebron Academy Boarding | Hebron, ME | 6–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021-2025 | 155 | School's list |
| Miss Porter'S School Boarding | Farmington, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | The Past Five Years | 155 | School's list |
| The Governor's Academy Boarding | Byfield, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2024-2026 | 138 | School's list |
| Foxcroft Academy Boarding | Dover Foxcroft, ME | 9–12 | College acceptances | not stated | 122 | School's list |
| Landmark School Boarding | Prides Crossing, MA | K–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 116 | School's list |
| The Woodhall School Boarding | Bethlehem, CT | 9–12 | College acceptances | in recent years | 116 | School's list |
| St Mark'S School Boarding | Southborough, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2023-2025 | 109 | School's list |
| Oliverian School Boarding | Pike, NH | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 107 | School's list |
| Westover School Boarding | Middlebury, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021-2024 | 104 | School's list |
| St. Johnsbury Academy Boarding | Saint Johnsbury, VT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 98 | School's list |
| Deerfield Academy Boarding | Deerfield, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021 - 2025 | 92 | School's list |
| The Loomis Chaffee School Boarding | Windsor, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2025 | 80 | School's list |
| The Cheshire Academy Boarding | Cheshire, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 79 | School's list |
| Buxton School Boarding | Williamstown, MA | 9–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | not stated | 75 | School's list |
| The Marvelwood School Boarding | Kent, CT | 9–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | not stated | 70 | School's list |
| Hyde School Boarding | Bath, ME | 8–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 64 | School's list |
| Walnut Hill School for the Arts Boarding | Natick, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 52 | School's list |
| Lexington Christian Academy Boarding | Lexington, MA | 6–12 | College acceptances | Class of 2025 | 48 | School's list |
| Westminster School Boarding | Simsbury, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | classes of 2022-2026 | 45 | School's list |
| St. Thomas More School (Oakdale) Boarding | Oakdale, CT | 8–12 | College acceptances | the past 5 years | 29 | School's list |
| Holderness School Boarding | Plymouth, NH | 9–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | not stated | 21 | School's list |
Where are the boarding schools in New England?
The 61 boarding schools in New England are in 6 states: Massachusetts 24; Connecticut 18; Maine 7; New Hampshire 7; Vermont 4; Rhode Island 1.
Which boarding schools in New England are religiously affiliated?
On the federal Private School Survey, 3 of the 61 boarding schools in New England are Catholic, 6 have another religious affiliation and 43 are nonsectarian; the survey lists no affiliation for the rest.
What families are also choosing at a boarding school
Parents are not only shopping for college outcomes. The tables above count where graduates enrolled, and a high school is also four years of a teenager's days: who they spend them with, what the school asks them to value, and whether the adults know them.
- Community and values fit. A private school sets its own mission and expectations, and the application, the entrance exam and the interview work as a fit signal in both directions. On the federal Private School Survey, 3 of these schools are Catholic, 6 have another religious affiliation and 43 are nonsectarian.
- Residential life. Living on campus is the point of a boarding school: the dorm, the dining hall, weekend programs and the adults on duty are part of the education, not an add-on.
- Class size. Class size is a fair question for each school's admissions office; we hold no student–teacher ratio for the schools listed here.
- Advising. Each private school builds its own college-advising model, so the useful question is how many students each counselor carries and how early the work starts.
- Arts and athletics access. A smaller school can mean more students on each team and in each production; ask each school what participation looks like.
Public schools are a great choice when a family cannot afford a private school, and a published college list is one of the few outcome measures a private school and a public school can be read on side by side.
Every other boarding school in New England with a page on Reach (4)
Listed alphabetically. These schools publish no college list we have read; that is all their absence from the tables above means.
| School | City | Grades | Affiliation | State |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applewild School | Fitchburg | PK–12 | — | MA |
| John Bapst Memorial High School | Bangor | 9–12 | Nonsectarian | ME |
| Kimball Union Academy | Meriden | 9–12 | Nonsectarian | NH |
| North Yarmouth Academy | Yarmouth | — | Nonsectarian | ME |
Other metros are on the private high schools by metro index. The same arithmetic across every state is the Ivy+ enrollment board and the boarding-school board; for one college at a time, see which private schools send the most students to each college.
Ivy+ means these twelve: Harvard University, Yale University, Princeton University, Columbia University in the City of New York, University of Pennsylvania, Brown University, Dartmouth College, Cornell University, Stanford University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Chicago, Duke University. A graduate is counted once, at the college the school says they enrolled at; the per-class-year figure is the published total divided by the class years the school's own document covers, and both are shown. A school that is not on this page did not publish a numbered matriculation list we could read — that is all absence means here. It is never a statement about a school's graduates. Lists of acceptances (where students were admitted, not where they enrolled) are never counted in this ranking: an acceptances list runs about three times an enrollment list, so counting the two together would compare different things. Those lists are ranked on their own, separately. Grades and religious affiliation are from the National Center for Education Statistics' Private School Survey. Boarding is read from the TABS member directory — The Association of Boarding Schools' 2026 list of its US member schools — matched onto our school pages by exact or town-confirmed name (173 of them). A school that directory does not list is not called a boarding school on a guess, so it waits for the next directory pass rather than appearing here.