Buxton School

Williamstown · MA · Private independent

Private

A parent's read

  • Where graduates go, as the school itself publishes it. Buxton School publishes where its graduates go (not stated): 75 colleges, including Amherst College, Carnegie Mellon University, Cornell University, Emory University.
  • Worth asking admissions: the school profile. Reach doesn't yet show this school's SAT/ACT or AP results. Every private school produces a counselor's "school profile" for colleges, and most post it online — ask admissions for it. How a school answers says as much as the numbers.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Where graduates go — as published by the school

Buxton School publishes the colleges its graduates attend (not stated): 75 colleges. See the full list ↓

Their published college list

Colleges the school lists for its graduates

Buxton School publishes a list of colleges for its graduates. What follows is copied from that document — 75 colleges, in the document's own order.

The document does not state a class year for this list.

Ivy+ and most selective · 1

Cornell University

Other California · 6

Occidental College · Pitzer College · Pomona College · Scripps College · University of the Pacific · Whittier College

Out of state · 50

Alfred University · Amherst College · Bard College · Barnard College · Bennington College · Berklee College of Music · Bryant University · Bryn Mawr College · Carleton College · Carnegie Mellon University · Clark University · Colby-Sawyer College · College of the Atlantic · College of Wooster · and 36 more below

Not matched to a college page · 18

Brooklyn College · Case Western University · Corcoran College of Art · Evergreen State College · Farleigh Dickinson University · Glasgow School of Art · Johnson & Wales College · McGill University · Pratt Institute of Art · School of the Visual Arts · Trent University-Canada · Tyler School of Art · University of the Arts · University of CA- Santa Cruz · and 4 more below

Is my kid's college on this list?

— Stanford University ✓ New York University — University of Southern California — University of California, Los Angeles — University of California, Berkeley — University of Michigan ✓ Cornell University — Boston University — Northeastern University — University of Texas at Austin — Georgetown University — Duke University

The school down the road: Miss Hall's School

CollegeBuxton SchoolMiss Hall's School
Boston College—✓ named
Carnegie Mellon University✓ named—
Cornell University✓ named✓ named
Emory University✓ named—
New York University✓ named✓ named
Tufts University—✓ named
University of Washington—✓ named

Both schools print names, not counts, so this shows which selective colleges each list names.

All 75 colleges, as the document prints them
Alfred University Amherst College Bard College Barnard College Bennington College Berklee College of Music Brooklyn College Bryant University Bryn Mawr College Carleton College Carnegie Mellon University Case Western University Clark University Colby-Sawyer College College of the Atlantic College of Wooster Corcoran College of Art Cornell University Emerson College Emory University Evergreen State College Farleigh Dickinson University Gettysburg College Glasgow School of Art Hampshire College Haverford College Indiana University Ithaca College Johnson & Wales College Kenyon College
and 45 more
Lewis & Clark College Macalester College McGill University Middlebury College Morehouse College Mount Holyoke College New York University Oberlin College Occidental College Pitzer College Pomona College Pratt Institute of Art Reed College Rhode Island School of Design Rochester Institute of Technology Roger Williams University Rutgers University Sarah Lawrence College Savannah College of Art and Design School of the Art Institute of Chicago School of the Visual Arts Scripps College Skidmore College Spelman College Smith College St. Lawrence University Swarthmore College Syracuse University Trent University-Canada Tulane University Tyler School of Art University of the Arts University of CA- Santa Cruz University of Michigan at Ann Arbor University of the Netherlands University of the Pacific University of Vermont Vassar College Wellesley College Wells College Wesleyan University Wheaton College Whittier College Williams College Worcester Polytechnic Institute

These are the colleges the school published for its graduates.

Check your kid's odds at these colleges →

We'll load 10 from the list above — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.

Independently verified As published by Buxton School — Experience page — 'Recent Institutions Selected by Our Students Include' ↗. Found at: Experience page, College Advising section, bare list.

Keep this page current

Work at Buxton School? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

You've seen Buxton School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How Buxton School compares for families

What families should know about Buxton School.

  • ▸ LocallyMA students outperform the US average on NAEP 8th-grade math (+14 points).
  • ▸ vs Similar SchoolsThe closest comparables nearby: Miss Hall's School, The Academy At Charlemont, Hillcrest Educational Foundation and 5 more. See the sidebar to compare side-by-side.

For Parents

Get alerts when Buxton School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Your state's public flagship

University of Massachusetts-Amherst

58%
admit rate
$17,772
in-state tuition/yr · $40,449 out-of-state
1300–1480
SAT 25–75 · ACT 29–33

The in-state tuition gap is the flagship's biggest draw — most in-state families pay far less than the out-of-state sticker. Average net price after aid runs about $22,383/yr. Admission odds depend on your student's GPA and test scores, not which high school they attend.

See the full University of Massachusetts-Amherst profile → Estimate your odds with your scores →

Source: IPEDS admissions, tuition & enrollment + College Scorecard net price. Flagship = the state's primary public research university.

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment went from 90 in 2018 to 60 in 2022 — over 4 years.
-33.3%
Why only 3 data points?

Private school enrollment comes from the NCES Private School Universe Survey (PSS), which is collected every other year — not annually like public-school data. The most recent published collection is 2021–22; NCES targeted spring 2026 for the 2023–24 release — we'll load it as soon as it's published.

If the recent trend holds…

At its recent rate of -9.6%/year, projecting from 2022's 60 students:

2023
54
2025
44
2027
36

A small or specialty program — naive trend math doesn't capture the school's full picture. Read the trend as directional, not predictive.

An extrapolation of the recent trajectory, not a forecast of the school's plans; ignores one-off shocks.

Most similar nearby high schools

The schools most like this one — same type, blended on distance and size — and where their enrollment is heading. These are the schools families here weigh against each other.

SchoolTypeMilesHS enrollmentTrend
Miss Hall's School
Pittsfield
Private 19.3 212 —
The Academy At Charlemont
Charlemont
Private 20.5 78 +20.0%
Hillcrest Educational Foundation
Pittsfield
Private 21.6 328 +113.0%
Berkshire Waldorf High School
Great Barrington
Private 29.3 37 —
Stoneleigh-Burnham School
Greenfield
Private 32.4 129 -15.1%
Northfield Mount Hermon
Mount Hermon
Private 37.0 645 -0.6%
Cutchins Program
Northampton
Private 40.0 22 —
The Williston Northampton School
Easthampton
Private 40.9 520 +7.0%

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Buxton School is a private high school in Williamstown, MA, enrolling 60 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

Enrollment is down 33% from 2018 to 2022.

Buxton School publishes a list of colleges its graduates attend for the not stated: 75 colleges. Source: Experience page — 'Recent Institutions Selected by Our Students Include'.

Sources: National Center for Education Statistics (enrollment), the federal Civil Rights Data Collection and EDFacts, state education agencies where named, and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

Where do Buxton School graduates go to college? Buxton School publishes a list of colleges its graduates attend for the not stated: 75 colleges. Source: Experience page — 'Recent Institutions Selected by Our Students Include'.

How many students attend Buxton School? Buxton School is a private high school in Williamstown, MA, enrolling 60 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about Buxton School?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about Buxton School, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send the admissions office a short report on what AI says about Buxton School and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Buxton School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →
What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next