Magellan International School
AUSTIN · TX · Private independent · K-12 combined
How Magellan International School compares for families
What families should know about Magellan International School.
- ▸ LocallyTX students outperform the US average on NAEP 8th-grade math (+4 points).
For Parents
Get alerts when Magellan International School's numbers change
New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.
Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.
Your state's public flagship
The University of Texas at Austin
The in-state tuition gap is the flagship's biggest draw — most in-state families pay far less than the out-of-state sticker. Average net price after aid runs about $19,857/yr. Admission odds depend on your student's GPA and test scores, not which high school they attend.
Source: IPEDS admissions, tuition & enrollment + College Scorecard net price. Flagship = the state's primary public research university.
Pay for college in Texas
Texas's public scholarships
Texas families have two big levers: a guaranteed-admission rule for the top of each graduating class, and the need-based TEXAS Grant that pairs with it. Class rank does more here than almost anywhere.
Graduate in the top 10% of your Texas public-HS class and finish the required curriculum for automatic admission to TX public universities (UT Austin caps at the top 5%). (Must finish the required college-prep curriculum (Distinguished plan).)
Official program details ↗Texas's flagship need-based grant — no GPA gate to qualify (a 3.0 or top-third rank just gives priority when funds run short). (Enroll within 16 months of HS, ≥¾ time, in a bachelor's program.)
Official program details ↗Graduate at least a semester early with the Distinguished plan plus a 3.0 GPA and an 80th-percentile test (or top-10% rank) for a TEXAS Grant-sized scholarship. (Graduate at least a semester early with the Distinguished plan.)
Official program details ↗Eligibility rules change yearly — confirm with the official program before relying on it. Amounts are recent published figures; awards cover tuition/fees, not housing or books unless noted. Verified 2026-06-14.
Their published college list
Colleges the school lists for its graduates
Magellan International School publishes a list of colleges for its graduates. What follows is copied from that document — 33 colleges, in the document's own order.
The document does not state a class year for this list.
and 3 more
These are the colleges the school published for its graduates.
Check your kid's odds at these colleges →We'll load 10 from the list above — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.
Independently verified As published by Magellan International School — Alumni page, 'Navigator College Choices' ↗. Found at: Main nav > Alumni page, section headed 'Navigator College Choices'.
About this listing
Magellan International School is listed by NAIS. It has not reported to the federal Private School Survey, which is voluntary, so enrollment figures are not available here — many of the country's oldest independent schools are in the same position. The school's own site: www.magellanschool.org ↗
Not enough enrollment history on file to chart a trend for this school yet.
Related reading
Dallas · August 26, 2026