Which private high schools in East Bay require the HSPT?

9 of the 23 private high schools in Alameda and Contra Costa counties with an entrance-exam entry use the HSPT: Berean Christian High School, Bishop O'Dowd High School, Carondelet High School, De La Salle High School, Holy Names High School, Moreau Catholic High School, Saint Joseph-Notre Dame High School, Saint Mary's College High School, and Salesian College Preparatory.

Which private high schools in East Bay take the ISEE or SSAT?

6 of the 23 private high schools in Alameda and Contra Costa counties with an entrance-exam entry take the ISEE or the SSAT: The Head-Royce School, Athenian School, BASIS Independent Fremont Upper School, Bentley School, College Preparatory School, and Quarry Lane School.

Which private high schools in East Bay require no entrance exam?

Every one of the 23 private high schools in Alameda and Contra Costa counties with an entrance-exam entry names a test. 4 give its own placement test: Averroes High School, Contra Costa Christian High School, Cristo Rey De La Salle East Bay High School, and Fremont Christian High School.

When are the entrance exams and application deadlines at private high schools in East Bay?

7 of the 23 schools post their test dates, printed beside each school below. 14 have an upcoming application deadline on file; the earliest is The Head-Royce School on Dec 4, 2026.

Preparing for one of these? Reach has a guide to the HSPT and a guide to the ISEE, each with the test's structure, dates and the schools that use it.

HSPT (9 schools)

School City Grades What the school says Test dates as posted Application deadline Source
Berean Christian High School Walnut Creek 9–12 HSPT (school-administered High School Placement Test; required only for applicants… — — —
Bishop O'Dowd High School Oakland 9–12 HSPT HSPT: January 9, 2027. Prep events on the school's page: 8th-grade HSPT prep workshop Saturday, December 13, 2025 (2026 date to be announced); 7th-grade… Jan 5, 2027 Admissions page
Carondelet High School Concord 9–12 HSPT HSPT: Saturday, January 9, 2027, 8:30-11:30 AM. Extended-time accommodation requests due Friday, December 11. Carondelet also runs an optional 8th-grade prep… Dec 11, 2026 Admissions page
De La Salle High School Concord 9–12 HSPT HSPT: Saturday, January 9, 2027. Results emailed to parents March 12, 2027. Students testing at another site must notify the De La Salle admissions team by… Dec 11, 2026 Admissions page
Holy Names High School Oakland 9–12 HSPT — required of all applicants; free, taken once, at any of the nine Oakland-diocese… — Jan 5, 2027 —
Moreau Catholic High School Hayward 9–12 HSPT (required; administered on campus) — Jan 5, 2027 —
Saint Joseph-Notre Dame High School Alameda 9–12 HSPT required of all prospective students by the Diocese of Oakland; administered at SJND… — Jan 6, 2027 —
Saint Mary's College High School Berkeley 9–12 HSPT (required for 9th-grade applicants; offered at any of the nine Oakland Diocese… — Jan 5, 2027 —
Salesian College Preparatory Richmond 9–12 HSPT — Dec 7, 2026 —

ISEE (1 school)

School City Grades What the school says Test dates as posted Application deadline Source
The Head-Royce School Oakland K–12 ISEE No ISEE test dates are published on the school's page; registration and scheduling run through Ravenna and ERB. Dec 4, 2026 Admissions page

ISEE or SSAT (5 schools)

School City Grades What the school says Test dates as posted Application deadline Source
Athenian School Danville 6–12 ISEE or SSAT No school-hosted test dates. The page states scores accepted must be from tests taken no earlier than Spring 2026, and recommends registering promptly if no… Jan 8, 2027 Admissions page
BASIS Independent Fremont Upper School Fremont 9–12 ISEE or SSAT required for grade 2-9 applicants (standardized entrance exam registered… — Jan 27, 2027 —
Bentley School Lafayette K–12 ISEE or SSAT No fixed dates published; the ISEE and SSAT are scheduled with ERB and EMA. The Test Innovators essay option has been retired. Jan 7, 2027 Admissions page
College Preparatory School Oakland 9–12 ISEE or SSAT Test must be completed by February 1, 2027 (the page notes most students test in December). College Prep hosts ISEE sittings on Sunday, January 3, 2027 at 9:00… Jan 5, 2027 Admissions page
Quarry Lane School Dublin Preschool–12 SSAT (code 5955) or ISEE (code 054297) accepted for grades 6-12; not stated as required — — —

School's own test (4 schools)

School City Grades What the school says Test dates as posted Application deadline Source
Averroes High School Berkeley 9–12 Own academic assessment in English, Writing, Math, and Arabic (given by Averroes High… — Mar 31, 2027 —
Contra Costa Christian High School Walnut Creek Preschool–12 Own assessment - student assessment administered after the family interview (no… — — —
Cristo Rey De La Salle East Bay High School Oakland 9–12 School-administered High School Placement Test + interview, scheduled after applying via… — — —
Fremont Christian High School Fremont 9–12 Own placement test, administered only if required — depends on the entering grade and the… — — —

None posted (4 schools)

School City Grades What the school says Test dates as posted Application deadline Source
Alsion Montessori Middle/High Fremont 7–12 No entrance exam posted — — —
California Crosspoint High School Alameda -1–12 Not specified by name on official pages; a non-refundable $75 'Applicant Testing Fee' is… — — —
Maybeck High School Berkeley 9–12 No entrance exam posted — — —
Tilden Preparatory School Albany 6–12 No entrance exam posted — — —

The same schools ranked by college outcomes, with tuition and deadlines, are on the the East Bay private high schools page; tuition for every California private school is ranked on the tuition page.

Each exam entry is read from the school's own admissions page and shown only where the school posts one; the wording in "What the school says" is the school's, lightly shortened, and the source link is that page. Test dates and deadlines are as posted for the season the school's page describes and may change; a deadline already past is omitted. A school with no entry here did not state an exam on the pages we read. The list excludes nonclassroom-based online schools and schools the California Department of Education records with no 12th grade.