The New Community School

Richmond · VA · Private independent · K-12 combined

Private

A parent's read

  • Where graduates go, as the school itself publishes it. The New Community School publishes where its graduates go (not stated): 123 colleges, including Emory & Henry College, Purdue University, University of North Carolina Greensboro, University of Virginia.
  • Worth asking admissions: the school profile. Reach doesn't yet show this school's SAT/ACT or AP results. Every private school produces a counselor's "school profile" for colleges, and most post it online — ask admissions for it. How a school answers says as much as the numbers.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Where graduates go — as published by the school

The New Community School publishes the colleges its graduates attend (not stated): 123 colleges. See the full list ↓

Their published college list

Colleges the school lists for its graduates

The New Community School publishes a list of colleges for its graduates. What follows is copied from that document — 123 colleges, in the document's own order.

The document does not state a class year for this list.

Out of state · 112

Allegheny College · American University · Appalachian State University · Arcadia University · Belmont University · Berry College · Bridgewater College · Brigham Young University · Bucknell University · Campbell University · The Catholic University of America · Christopher Newport University · Clemson University · Coastal Carolina University · and 98 more below

Not matched to a college page · 11

American College of Building Arts · Anderson University · The Apprentice School · Florida Institute of Recording, Sound and Technology · John Tyler Community College · Pennsylvania State University - Altoona · Pennsylvania State University - Abington · Reynolds Community College · Richard Bland College of William & Mary · VCU School of the Arts · West Virginia Wesleyan

Is my kid's college on this list?

— Stanford University — New York University — University of Southern California — University of California, Los Angeles — University of California, Berkeley — University of Michigan — Cornell University — Boston University — Northeastern University — University of Texas at Austin — Georgetown University — Duke University

The school down the road: The Steward School

CollegeThe New Community SchoolThe Steward School
New York University—✓ named
Northeastern University—✓ named
Northwestern University—✓ named
Purdue University✓ named✓ named
University of California (Berkeley)—✓ named
University of California (Los Angeles)—✓ named
University of Florida—✓ named
University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign)—✓ named
University of Michigan—✓ named
University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill)—✓ named
University of Pennsylvania—✓ named
University of Southern California—✓ named

Both schools print names, not counts, so this shows which selective colleges each list names.

All 123 colleges, as the document prints them
Allegheny College American College of Building Arts American University Anderson University Appalachian State University The Apprentice School Arcadia University Belmont University Berry College Bridgewater College Brigham Young University Bucknell University Campbell University The Catholic University of America Christopher Newport University Clemson University Coastal Carolina University College of Charleston The College of William and Mary College of Wooster Colorado Mountain College Converse College Culinary Institute of America Drew University Drexel University East Carolina University Elon University Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Emerson College Emory & Henry College
and 93 more
Ferrum College Flagler College Florida Institute of Recording, Sound and Technology Furman University George Mason University Guilford College Hampden-Sydney College Hampton University High Point University Hollins University Hood College James Madison University John Tyler Community College Juniata College La Salle University Lenoir-Rhyne University Liberty University Longwood University Loyola University Maryland Lynn University Marshall University Mary Baldwin University Marymount University McDaniel College Miami University: Oxford Milwaukee School of Engineering Morehead State University Morehouse College Mount Saint Mary College Mount St. Mary's University Neumann University New England Institute of Technology The New School Norfolk State University North Carolina A & T State University Old Dominion University Pennsylvania State University Pennsylvania State University - Altoona Pennsylvania State University - Abington Pratt Institute Purdue University Radford University Randolph College Randolph-Macon College Reynolds Community College Richard Bland College of William & Mary Rider University Roanoke College Rochester Institute of Technology Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Rowan University Saint Joseph's University Samford University Savannah College of Art and Design Seton Hall University Shenandoah University St. Lawrence University St. Louis University St. Mary's College of Maryland St. Vincent College Sweet Briar College Syracuse University Texas Christian University The University of Alabama University of Cincinnati University of Kentucky University of Lynchburg University of Mary Washington University of Mississippi The University of Montana University of North Carolina Greensboro University of Northwestern Ohio University of Pittsburgh University of South Carolina University of Vermont The University of Virginia's College at Wise University of Virginia Ursinus College VCU School of the Arts Virginia Commonwealth University Virginia Military Institute Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Virginia State University Virginia Wesleyan University Wagner College Warren Wilson College Wentworth Institute of Technology West Virginia University West Virginia University Institute of Technology West Virginia Wesleyan Wingate University Wofford College York College of Pennsylvania

These are the colleges the school published for its graduates.

Check your kid's odds at these colleges →

We'll load 10 from the list above — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.

Independently verified As published by The New Community School — College & Career Counseling page — "Where Our Graduates Go" (full expanded list) ↗. Found at: "Where Our Graduates Go" section, full "VIEW ALL COLLEGES" list.

Keep this page current

Work at The New Community School? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

You've seen The New Community School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How The New Community School compares for families

What families should know about The New Community School.

  • ▸ LocallyVA sits right at the US average on NAEP 8th-grade math — local school quality will set your kid apart.
  • ▸ vs Similar SchoolsThe closest comparables nearby: Metropolitan Day School, Geara Group/Educational Developmental Center, Northstar Academy and 5 more. See the sidebar to compare side-by-side.

For Parents

Get alerts when The New Community School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Your state's public flagship

University of Virginia-Main Campus

17%
admit rate
$21,803
in-state tuition/yr · $59,512 out-of-state
1410–1530
SAT 25–75 · ACT 32–34

The in-state tuition gap is the flagship's biggest draw — most in-state families pay far less than the out-of-state sticker. Average net price after aid runs about $21,565/yr. Admission odds depend on your student's GPA and test scores, not which high school they attend.

See the full University of Virginia-Main Campus profile → Estimate your odds with your scores →

Source: IPEDS admissions, tuition & enrollment + College Scorecard net price. Flagship = the state's primary public research university.

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment went from 178 in 2018 to 220 in 2022 — over 4 years.
+23.6%
Why only 3 data points?

Private school enrollment comes from the NCES Private School Universe Survey (PSS), which is collected every other year — not annually like public-school data. The most recent published collection is 2021–22; NCES targeted spring 2026 for the 2023–24 release — we'll load it as soon as it's published.

If the recent trend holds…

At its recent rate of +5.4%/year, projecting from 2022's 220 students:

2023
232
2025
258
2027
287

An extrapolation of the recent trajectory, not a forecast of the school's plans; ignores one-off shocks.

Revenue upside

At tuition per student, the 67 students projected to be gained by 2027 represent ≈ $1,072,000/year in tuition upside.

Tuition is an editable estimate (PSS doesn't publish tuition) — set it to your school's figure.

Most similar nearby high schools

The schools most like this one — same type, blended on distance and size — and where their enrollment is heading. These are the schools families here weigh against each other.

SchoolTypeMilesHS enrollmentTrend
Metropolitan Day School
Richmond
Private 2.4 9 —
Geara Group/Educational Developmental Center
Richmond
Private 3.3 37 —
Northstar Academy
Henrico
Private 4.3 82 +2.5%
John G Wood School
Richmond
Private 5.1 28 —
John G. Wood School
Henrico
Private 5.1 27 —
Collegiate School
Richmond
Private 6.8 1,626 -0.3%
The Steward School
Richmond
Private 8.8 683 +15.8%
Veritas School
Richmond
Private 1.3 625 +18.1%

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

The New Community School is a private high school in Richmond, VA, enrolling 220 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

Enrollment is up 24% from 2018 to 2022.

The New Community School publishes a list of colleges its graduates attend for the not stated: 123 colleges. Source: College & Career Counseling page — "Where Our Graduates Go" (full expanded list).

Sources: National Center for Education Statistics (enrollment), the federal Civil Rights Data Collection and EDFacts, state education agencies where named, and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

Where do The New Community School graduates go to college? The New Community School publishes a list of colleges its graduates attend for the not stated: 123 colleges. Source: College & Career Counseling page — "Where Our Graduates Go" (full expanded list).

How many students attend The New Community School? The New Community School is a private high school in Richmond, VA, enrolling 220 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about The New Community School?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about The New Community School, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send the admissions office a short report on what AI says about The New Community School and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at The New Community School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →
What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next