Colorado Rocky Mountain School

Carbondale · CO · Private independent

Private

A parent's read

  • Where graduates go, as the school itself publishes it. Colorado Rocky Mountain School publishes where its graduates go (not stated): 70 colleges, including Boston University, Bowdoin College, Brown University, Dartmouth College.
  • Worth asking admissions: the school profile. Reach doesn't yet show this school's SAT/ACT or AP results. Every private school produces a counselor's "school profile" for colleges, and most post it online — ask admissions for it. How a school answers says as much as the numbers.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Where graduates go — as published by the school

Colorado Rocky Mountain School publishes where its graduates enrolled (not stated): 70 colleges. See the full list ↓

Their published matriculation list

Where their graduates enrolled

Colorado Rocky Mountain School publishes where its graduates enrolled. What follows is copied from that document — 70 colleges, in the document's own order.

The document does not state a class year for this list.

Ivy+ and most selective · 4

Brown University · Dartmouth College · University of Pennsylvania · Yale University

University of California · 3

University of California-Berkeley · University of California-Santa Barbara · University of California-Santa Cruz

Other California · 7

Chapman University · Occidental College · Pitzer College · Pomona College · Santa Clara University · Scripps College · University of Southern California

Out of state · 50

Alcorn State University · American University · Barnard College · Bates College · Baylor University · Berklee College of Music · Boston University · Bowdoin College · Carleton College · Colby College · Colgate University · Colorado College · Colorado School of Mines · Davidson College · and 36 more below

Not matched to a college page · 6

CA Polytechnic State Univ.-San Luis Obispo · McGill University · Quest University Canada · St. John’s College · University of British Columbia · University of St Andrews

Is my kid's college on this list?

— Stanford University ✓ New York University ✓ University of Southern California — University of California, Los Angeles ✓ University of California, Berkeley ✓ University of Michigan — Cornell University ✓ Boston University ✓ Northeastern University — University of Texas at Austin ✓ Georgetown University — Duke University

The school down the road: The Peak School

CollegeColorado Rocky Mountain SchoolThe Peak School
Boston University✓ named—
Brown University✓ named—
Dartmouth College✓ named—
Georgetown University✓ named—
New York University✓ named✓ named
Northeastern University✓ named✓ named
Tufts University✓ named—
University of California-Berkeley✓ named—
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor✓ named—
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill✓ named—
University of Pennsylvania✓ named—
University of Southern California✓ named—

Both schools print names, not counts, so this shows which selective colleges each list names.

All 70 colleges, as the document prints them
Alcorn State University American University Barnard College Bates College Baylor University Berklee College of Music Boston University Bowdoin College Brown University CA Polytechnic State Univ.-San Luis Obispo Carleton College Chapman University Colby College Colgate University Colorado College Colorado School of Mines Dartmouth College Davidson College Georgetown University George Washington University Gonzaga University Grinnell College Hamilton College Hobart William Smith Colleges Indiana University-Bloomington Lewis & Clark College McGill University Middlebury College Montana State University Mount Holyoke College
and 40 more
New York University Northeastern University Oberlin College Occidental College Oregon State University Pitzer College Pomona College Quest University Canada Reed College Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Rhode Island School of Design Santa Clara University Savannah College of Art & Design Scripps College Skidmore College St. John’s College St. Lawrence University The New School Tufts University University of British Columbia University of California-Berkeley University of California-Santa Barbara University of California-Santa Cruz University of Colorado Boulder University of Colorado Denver University of Denver University of Miami University of Michigan-Ann Arbor University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill University of Oregon University of Pennsylvania University of Southern California University of St Andrews University of Vermont University of Virginia University of Washington University of Wisconsin-Madison Whitman College Willamette University Yale University

These graduates went on to the colleges above.

Check your kid's odds at these colleges →

We'll load 10 from the list above — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.

Independently verified As published by Colorado Rocky Mountain School — College Counseling page -- "College Acceptances" list ↗. Found at: "College Acceptances" list on the College Counseling page; college_names = only the names the page prints in italics.

Keep this page current

Work at Colorado Rocky Mountain School? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

You've seen Colorado Rocky Mountain School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How Colorado Rocky Mountain School compares for families

What families should know about Colorado Rocky Mountain School.

  • ▸ LocallyCO students outperform the US average on NAEP 8th-grade math (+4 points).
  • ▸ vs Similar SchoolsThe closest comparables nearby: Liberty Classical Academy, Paonia Experiential Leadership Academy, High Mountain Institute and 5 more. See the sidebar to compare side-by-side.

For Parents

Get alerts when Colorado Rocky Mountain School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Your state's public flagship

University of Colorado Boulder

83%
admit rate
$15,666
in-state tuition/yr · $44,918 out-of-state
1230–1420
SAT 25–75 · ACT 28–33

The in-state tuition gap is the flagship's biggest draw — most in-state families pay far less than the out-of-state sticker. Average net price after aid runs about $25,346/yr. Admission odds depend on your student's GPA and test scores, not which high school they attend.

See the full University of Colorado Boulder profile → Estimate your odds with your scores →

Source: IPEDS admissions, tuition & enrollment + College Scorecard net price. Flagship = the state's primary public research university.

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment went from 167 in 2018 to 182 in 2022 — over 4 years.
+9.0%
Why only 3 data points?

Private school enrollment comes from the NCES Private School Universe Survey (PSS), which is collected every other year — not annually like public-school data. The most recent published collection is 2021–22; NCES targeted spring 2026 for the 2023–24 release — we'll load it as soon as it's published.

If the recent trend holds…

At its recent rate of +2.2%/year, projecting from 2022's 182 students:

2023
186
2025
194
2027
203

An extrapolation of the recent trajectory, not a forecast of the school's plans; ignores one-off shocks.

Most similar nearby high schools

The schools most like this one — same type, blended on distance and size — and where their enrollment is heading. These are the schools families here weigh against each other.

SchoolTypeMilesHS enrollmentTrend
Liberty Classical Academy
New Castle
Private 20.0 117 +14.7%
Paonia Experiential Leadership Academy
Paonia
Private 43.4 26 —
High Mountain Institute
Leadville
Private 47.2 96 +0.0%
Vail Mountain School
Vail
Private 51.1 444 +3.0%
The Peak School
Frisco
Private 61.1 83 +33.9%
Steamboat Mountain School
Steamboat Springs
Private 77.4 158 —
Telluride Mountain School
Telluride
Private 107.0 108 +9.1%
September School
Boulder
Private 110.7 74 —

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Colorado Rocky Mountain School is a private high school in Carbondale, CO, enrolling 182 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

Enrollment is up 9% from 2018 to 2022.

Colorado Rocky Mountain School publishes a matriculation list (where its graduates enrolled) for the not stated: 70 colleges. Source: College Counseling page -- "College Acceptances" list.

Sources: National Center for Education Statistics (enrollment), the federal Civil Rights Data Collection and EDFacts, state education agencies where named, and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

Where do Colorado Rocky Mountain School graduates go to college? Colorado Rocky Mountain School publishes a matriculation list (where its graduates enrolled) for the not stated: 70 colleges. Source: College Counseling page -- "College Acceptances" list.

How many students attend Colorado Rocky Mountain School? Colorado Rocky Mountain School is a private high school in Carbondale, CO, enrolling 182 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about Colorado Rocky Mountain School?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about Colorado Rocky Mountain School, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send the admissions office a short report on what AI says about Colorado Rocky Mountain School and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Colorado Rocky Mountain School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →
What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next