Boarding schools
Best boarding schools in the United States, ranked by published college outcomes
179 boarding schools in the United States have a profile page on Reach. 64 of them publish a college list with a count beside each college; those are ranked below by graduates enrolling at the Ivy+ twelve per class year, from each school's own list. 101 more publish a college list without counts. Boarding status comes from the TABS member directory.
Which boarding schools in the United States have the strongest published college outcomes?
Among the 64 boarding schools in the United States with a counted college list, Phillips Academy (Andover) sends the most graduates to the Ivy+ twelve, 83 per class year (83 over 1 class year), followed by Choate Rosemary Hall (63.4) and The Lawrenceville School (52.2).
| # | School | City | Grades | Ivy+ enrollments per class year |
Students on the list per class year |
Different colleges on the list |
Class years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Phillips Academy (Andover) Boarding | Andover, MA | 9–12 | 83.0 | 309.0 | 100 | Class of 2024 | School's list |
| 2 | Choate Rosemary Hall Boarding | Wallingford, CT | 9–12 | 63.4 | 198.2 | 87 | IN THE PAST FIVE YEARS, (CLASS OF 2022-2026) | School's list |
| 3 | The Lawrenceville School Boarding | Lawrenceville, NJ | 9–12 | 52.2 | 174.2 | 69 | the last five years | School's list |
| 4 | Milton Academy Boarding | Milton, MA | K–12 | 44.7 | 124.7 | 41 | 2024-2026 | School's list |
| 5 | The Hotchkiss School Boarding | Lakeville, CT | 9–12 | 44.5 | 108.2 | 40 | Classes of 2023, 2024, 2025, and 2026 | School's list |
| 6 | St. Paul's School (NH) Boarding | Concord, NH | 9–12 | 34.5 | 94.0 | 37 | College Matriculation for the Forms of 2025 and 2026 (combined two-year TOTAL column) | School's list |
| 7 | Groton School Boarding | Groton, MA | 8–12 | 31.0 | 52.2 | 22 | 2022–2026 | School's list |
| 8 | Peddie School Boarding | Hightstown, NJ | 9–12 | 25.0 | 131.0 | 81 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 9 | The Taft School Boarding | Watertown, CT | 9–12 | 24.4 | 124.2 | 60 | past five years (2020-2024) | School's list |
| 10 | Middlesex School Boarding | Concord, MA | 9–12 | 21.0 | 99.0 | 58 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 11 | Blair Academy Boarding | Blairstown, NJ | 9–12 | 20.0 | 130.0 | 78 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 12 | The Hun School of Princeton Boarding | Princeton, NJ | 6–12 | 19.0 | 153.0 | 79 | CLASS OF 2026 MATRICULATION | School's list |
| 13 | Concord Academy Boarding | Concord, MA | 9–12 | 18.4 | 63.8 | 75 | 2021 to 2025 | School's list |
| 14 | Northfield Mount Hermon Boarding | Mount Hermon, MA | 9–12 | 15.0 | 127.0 | 64 | the past four years | School's list |
| 15 | Woodside Priory School Boarding | Portola Valley, CA | 6–12 | 13.0 | 79.0 | 51 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 16 | Cate School Boarding | Carpinteria, CA | 9–12 | 13.0 | 67.6 | 103 | 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 17 | Episcopal High School Boarding | Alexandria, VA | 9–12 | 12.2 | 115.0 | 168 | Classes of 2022 through 2026 | School's list |
| 18 | The Webb Schools Boarding | Claremont, CA | 9–12 | 12.0 | 94.0 | 54 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 19 | Kent School Boarding | Kent, CT | 9–12 | 10.3 | 125.0 | 142 | College Matriculations 2023-2025 | School's list |
| 20 | Kamehameha Schools Kapalama Campus Boarding | Honolulu, HI | — | 9.7 | 173.6 | 124 | the last seven years, 2017-2023 | School's list |
| 21 | Western Reserve Academy Boarding | Hudson, OH | 9–12 | 9.0 | 275.0 | 235 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 22 | Robert L Stevenson High School Boarding | Pebble Beach, CA | — | 9.0 | 118.0 | 72 | Class of 2025 | School's list |
| 23 | St. Stephen's Episcopal School (Austin) Boarding | Austin, TX | 6–12 | 8.4 | 115.8 | 156 | Classes of 2021-2025 | School's list |
| 24 | Hawaii Preparatory Academy Boarding | Kamuela, HI | — | 7.8 | 77.0 | 114 | The classes of 2017 to 2020 | School's list |
| 25 | Emma Willard School Boarding | Troy, NY | 9–12 | 7.2 | 98.0 | 149 | Classes of 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026 | School's list |
| 26 | Suffield Academy Boarding | Suffield, CT | 9–12 | 7.0 | 114.0 | 74 | Class of 2025 | School's list |
| 27 | The Madeira School Boarding | Mclean, VA | 9–12 | 7.0 | 85.0 | 53 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 28 | The Masters School Boarding | Dobbs Ferry, NY | 5–12 | 7.0 | 66.0 | 24 | Class of 2024 | School's list |
| 29 | Tabor Academy Boarding | Marion, MA | 9–12 | 6.0 | 137.0 | 88 | Class of 2025 Matriculation | School's list |
| 30 | Georgetown Preparatory School Boarding | North Bethesda, MD | 9–12 | 6.0 | 96.0 | 30 | Class of 2025 | School's list |
| 31 | Brooks School Boarding | North Andover, MA | 9–12 | 6.0 | 84.0 | 51 | Class of 2024 | School's list |
| 32 | Shattuck-St. Marys School Boarding | Faribault, MN | 6–12 | 6.0 | 60.5 | 94 | Classes of 2024 and 2025 | School's list |
| 33 | Westtown School Boarding | West Chester, PA | — | 5.8 | 69.6 | 96 | 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 34 | Berkshire School Boarding | Sheffield, MA | 9–12 | 5.0 | 111.0 | 76 | Class of 2021 | School's list |
| 35 | Athenian School Boarding | Danville, CA | 6–12 | 5.0 | 81.5 | 124 | In the past four years, (2023-2026) | School's list |
| 36 | Dana Hall School Boarding | Wellesley, MA | 5–12 | 4.0 | 75.0 | 48 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 37 | Portsmouth Abbey School Boarding | Portsmouth, RI | 9–12 | 3.7 | 79.7 | 129 | 2024–2026 | School's list |
| 38 | Oregon Episcopal School Boarding | Portland, OR | — | 3.6 | 73.2 | 126 | Classes of 2022-26 | School's list |
| 39 | Lake Forest Academy Boarding | Lake Forest, IL | 9–12 | 3.5 | 34.5 | 13 | 2021 - 2024 | School's list |
| 40 | Asheville School Boarding | Asheville, NC | 9–12 | 3.4 | 71.2 | 144 | Classes of 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 41 | Wilbraham & Monson Academy Boarding | Wilbraham, MA | 6–12 | 2.2 | 38.0 | 48 | 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 42 | The Pennington School Boarding | Pennington, NJ | 6–12 | 2.0 | 105.0 | 68 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 43 | Thacher School the Boarding | Ojai, CA | 9–12 | 2.0 | 23.0 | 10 | Class of 2026 Matriculation | School's list |
| 44 | The Cambridge School of Weston Boarding | Weston, MA | 9–12 | 1.8 | 74.6 | 127 | Classes of 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 45 | The Putney School Boarding | Putney, VT | 9–12 | 1.7 | 55.7 | 82 | (2023-2025) | School's list |
| 46 | The Northwest School Boarding | Seattle, WA | 6–12 | 1.2 | 72.2 | 131 | classes of 2021-2025 | School's list |
| 47 | Northwood School Boarding | Lake Placid, NY | 9–12 | 1.2 | 49.2 | 130 | Classes of 2021-2025 | School's list |
| 48 | Dunn School Boarding | Los Olivos, CA | 6–12 | 1.2 | 28.6 | 95 | 2021-2025 | School's list |
| 49 | Millbrook School Boarding | Millbrook, NY | 9–12 | 1.0 | 71.0 | 55 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 50 | Foxcroft School Boarding | Middleburg, VA | 9–12 | 0.8 | 35.2 | 107 | CLASSES OF 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 51 | Thomas Jefferson School Boarding | Saint Louis, MO | 7–12 | 0.8 | 15.0 | 55 | 2021 - 2025 | School's list |
| 52 | Gould Academy Boarding | Bethel, ME | 9–12 | 0.7 | 47.5 | 141 | Matches made by Gould students from 2020 to 2025 | School's list |
| 53 | Dublin School Boarding | Dublin, NH | 9–12 | 0.5 | 37.8 | 87 | 2023-2026 | School's list |
| 54 | Santa Catalina School Boarding | Monterey, CA | PreK–12 | 0.4 | 32.6 | 47 | Classes of 2021-2025 | School's list |
| 55 | Vermont Academy Boarding | Saxtons River, VT | 9–12 | 0.3 | 48.7 | 164 | Matriculation List (2021-2026) | School's list |
| 56 | The Linsly School Boarding | Wheeling, WV | 5–12 | 0.2 | 63.0 | 122 | 2020-24 | School's list |
| 57 | Tilton School Boarding | Tilton, NH | 9–12 | 0.2 | 55.8 | 159 | 2019-2023 | School's list |
| 58 | Ethel Walker School Boarding | Simsbury, CT | 6–12 | 0.0 | 52.0 | 42 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 59 | Pomfret School Boarding | Pomfret, CT | 9–12 | 0.0 | 36.0 | 15 | Class of 2022 | School's list |
| 60 | Cotter Schools Boarding | Winona, MN | — | 0.0 | 31.0 | 22 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 61 | Chatham Hall Boarding | Chatham, VA | 9–12 | 0.0 | 21.0 | 19 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
2 more publish a counted list without a class-year window we can divide by, so they are listed with the published total rather than ranked.
| School | City | Grades | Ivy+ enrollments per class year |
Students on the list per class year |
Different colleges on the list |
Class years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| St Andrew'S School Boarding | Middletown, DE | 9–12 | 64 | 189 | 27 | Since 2023 | School's list |
| Garrison Forest School Boarding | Owings Mills, MD | PK–12 | 3 | 107 | 99 | Three-Year Survey | School's list |
Boarding schools in the United States that publish a counted acceptances list
An acceptances list counts every college that admitted a graduate, so one student admitted to three of the twelve counts three times. It is a different document from a matriculation list and is never added to the table above.
| # | School | City | Grades | Ivy+ admits per class year |
Students on the list per class year |
Different colleges on the list |
Class years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Middlesex School Boarding | Concord, MA | 9–12 | 24.0 | 213.0 | 58 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 2 | St Andrews School of Boca Raton Inc Boarding | Boca Raton, FL | — | 8.0 | 652.0 | 102 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 3 | Foxcroft School Boarding | Middleburg, VA | 9–12 | 0.0 | 79.0 | 28 | 2025 (from a 2023-2025 applications report) | School's list |
How many boarding schools in the United States publish a college list?
64 of the 179 boarding schools in the United States publish a college list with counts, 101 publish a list without counts, and 14 publish no list we have read.
| School | City | Grades | What the school published | Class years | Colleges named | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Brook Hill School Boarding | Bullard, TX | — | College acceptances | Class of 2002-Class of 2025 | 585 | School's list |
| Wyoming Seminary Upper School Boarding | Kingston, PA | — | College acceptances | 2022-2026 | 506 | School's list |
| Mercersburg Academy Boarding | Mercersburg, PA | 9–12 | College acceptances | the past two years | 380 | School's list |
| Asia Pacific International School Boarding | Hauula, HI | — | College acceptances | since 2012 | 311 | School's list |
| Army and Navy Academy Boarding | Carlsbad, CA | 7–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | Classes of 2022-2026 | 263 | School's list |
| King'S School Boarding | Seattle, WA | — | College acceptances | not stated | 260 | School's list |
| Idyllwild Arts Academy Boarding | Idyllwild, CA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 239 | School's list |
| Cushing Academy Boarding | Ashburnham, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2022-2026 | 225 | School's list |
| The Hill School Boarding | Pottstown, PA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Since 2022 | 223 | School's list |
| Fork Union Military Academy Boarding | Fork Union, VA | 7–12 | College acceptances | past five years | 219 | School's list |
| Img Academy Boarding | Bradenton, FL | 6–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2024-2025 | 219 | School's list |
| The Storm King School Boarding | Cornwall On Hudson, NY | 8–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2018–2026 | 217 | School's list |
| Shady Side Academy Boarding | Pittsburgh, PA | — | Where graduates enrolled | 2021–2025 | 201 | School's list |
| Stoneleigh-Burnham School Boarding | Greenfield, MA | 7–12 | College acceptances | 5-Year Acceptance List | 201 | School's list |
| George School Boarding | Newtown, PA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2023-2026 | 194 | School's list |
| Phillips Exeter Academy Boarding | Exeter, NH | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | COLLEGE MATRICULATION 2023-2025 | 193 | School's list |
| Christ School Boarding | Arden, NC | 8–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2020-26 | 188 | School's list |
| Worcester Academy Boarding | Worcester, MA | 6–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2024-2026 | 180 | School's list |
| Burr and Burton Academy Boarding | Manchester, VT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 3 Year Matriculation | 177 | School's list |
| Kents Hill School Boarding | Kents Hill, ME | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2022-2026 | 174 | School's list |
| Avon Old Farms School Boarding | Avon, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 171 | School's list |
| San Domenico School Boarding | San Anselmo, CA | K–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2022-2026 | 167 | School's list |
| The Frederick Gunn School Boarding | Washington, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021 - 2024 | 162 | School's list |
| Lawrence Academy Boarding | Groton, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | currently enrolling | 160 | School's list |
| Indian Springs School Boarding | Indian Springs, AL | 8–12 | Where graduates enrolled | College Matriculations 2022-2026 | 159 | School's list |
| Forman School Boarding | Litchfield, CT | 9–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | 2026 | 158 | School's list |
| Fountain Valley School of Colorado Boarding | Colorado Springs, CO | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | CLASS OF 2020 - CLASS OF 2024 | 156 | School's list |
| Hebron Academy Boarding | Hebron, ME | 6–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021-2025 | 155 | School's list |
| Miss Porter'S School Boarding | Farmington, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | The Past Five Years | 155 | School's list |
| Tallulah Falls School Boarding | Tallulah Falls, GA | 5–12 | College acceptances | Class of 2026 | 155 | School's list |
| The Grier School Boarding | Tyrone, PA | 7–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 145 | School's list |
| Iolani School Boarding | Honolulu, HI | — | Where graduates enrolled | COLLEGE ATTENDANCE: FOUR YEAR HISTORY (2022-2025) | 138 | School's list |
| The Governor's Academy Boarding | Byfield, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2024-2026 | 138 | School's list |
| Boys Latin School of Maryland Boarding | Baltimore, MD | — | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2023-2026 | 134 | School's list |
| Oldfields School Boarding | Sparks Glencoe, MD | 8–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2019-2023 | 128 | School's list |
| Hackley School Boarding | Tarrytown, NY | K–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2023-2026 | 125 | School's list |
| Foxcroft Academy Boarding | Dover Foxcroft, ME | 9–12 | College acceptances | not stated | 122 | School's list |
| Buffalo Seminary Boarding | Buffalo, NY | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes 2020 - 2024 | 120 | School's list |
| Woodberry Forest School Boarding | Woodberry Forest, VA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2024–2026 | 118 | School's list |
| La Lumiere School Boarding | Laporte, IN | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2022-2025 | 117 | School's list |
| St James School Boarding | Hagerstown, MD | 8–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | Classes of 2023-2026 | 117 | School's list |
| Landmark School Boarding | Prides Crossing, MA | K–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 116 | School's list |
| The Woodhall School Boarding | Bethlehem, CT | 9–12 | College acceptances | in recent years | 116 | School's list |
| Solebury School Boarding | New Hope, PA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2022-2026 | 115 | School's list |
| North Cross School Boarding | Roanoke, VA | — | Where graduates enrolled | 2022-2026 | 109 | School's list |
| St Mark'S School Boarding | Southborough, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2023-2025 | 109 | School's list |
| Oliverian School Boarding | Pike, NH | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 107 | School's list |
| The Gow School Boarding | South Wales, NY | 6–12 | College acceptances | Class of 2021 Acceptances | 106 | School's list |
| Trinity-Pawling School Boarding | Pawling, NY | 7–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2007 to 2018 | 104 | School's list |
| Westover School Boarding | Middlebury, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021-2024 | 104 | School's list |
| Interlochen Arts Academy Boarding | Interlochen, MI | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Graduates of 2026 | 101 | School's list |
| Woodlands Academy of the Sacred Heart Boarding | Lake Forest, IL | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021-2025 | 101 | School's list |
| Riverside Preparatory Academy Boarding | Gainesville, GA | 6–12 | College acceptances | Class of 2026 | 98 | School's list |
| St. Johnsbury Academy Boarding | Saint Johnsbury, VT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 98 | School's list |
| Deerfield Academy Boarding | Deerfield, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021 - 2025 | 92 | School's list |
| Ojai Valley School Boarding | Ojai, CA | — | Colleges attended, unlabeled | Class of 2026 | 89 | School's list |
| Perkiomen School Boarding | Pennsburg, PA | 6–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 85 | School's list |
| The Loomis Chaffee School Boarding | Windsor, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2025 | 80 | School's list |
| The Cheshire Academy Boarding | Cheshire, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 79 | School's list |
| Buxton School Boarding | Williamstown, MA | 9–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | not stated | 75 | School's list |
| Verde Valley School Boarding | Sedona, AZ | 9–12 | College acceptances | not stated | 74 | School's list |
| Think Global School Boarding | New York, NY | 10–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2020 - 2025 | 73 | School's list |
| Colorado Rocky Mountain School Boarding | Carbondale, CO | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 70 | School's list |
| The Marvelwood School Boarding | Kent, CT | 9–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | not stated | 70 | School's list |
| Steamboat Mountain School Boarding | Steamboat Springs, CO | — | Where graduates enrolled | 2022-2025 | 66 | School's list |
| Archbishop Riordan High School Boarding | San Francisco, CA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2025 | 64 | School's list |
| Hyde School Boarding | Bath, ME | 8–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 64 | School's list |
| St Anne'S-Belfield School Boarding | Charlottesville, VA | — | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 63 | School's list |
| Darlington School Boarding | Rome, GA | — | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 62 | School's list |
| Admiral Farragut Academy Boarding | St Petersburg, FL | — | College acceptances | not stated | 61 | School's list |
| Cranbrook Schools Boarding | Bloomfield Hills, MI | — | Where graduates enrolled | Cranbrook Student College Attendance 2021-2025 | 60 | School's list |
| Darrow School Boarding | New Lebanon, NY | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2021-2025 | 59 | School's list |
| St Timothy'S School Boarding | Stevenson, MD | 9–12 | College acceptances | Over the past few years | 58 | School's list |
| Miller School of Albemarle Boarding | Charlottesville, VA | 8–12 | College acceptances | not stated | 57 | School's list |
| St. John's Northwestern Academies Boarding | Delafield, WI | 6–12 | College acceptances | Recent Years | 56 | School's list |
| The Kiski School Boarding | Saltsburg, PA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Since 2019 | 53 | School's list |
| Walnut Hill School for the Arts Boarding | Natick, MA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 52 | School's list |
| Monte Vista Christian High School Boarding | Watsonville, CA | 4–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2022 | 49 | School's list |
| Sun Valley Community School-Upper Boarding | Sun Valley, ID | — | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2025+2026 | 49 | School's list |
| Lexington Christian Academy Boarding | Lexington, MA | 6–12 | College acceptances | Class of 2025 | 48 | School's list |
| Wayland Academy Boarding | Beaver Dam, WI | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 47 | School's list |
| Stuart Hall School Boarding | Staunton, VA | 5–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2022-2025 | 46 | School's list |
| Saint Mary'S School Boarding | Raleigh, NC | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2021 | 45 | School's list |
| Westminster School Boarding | Simsbury, CT | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | classes of 2022-2026 | 45 | School's list |
| Culver Academies Boarding | Culver, IN | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | past five years | 39 | School's list |
| St. Mary's School Boarding | Medford, OR | 8–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 36 | School's list |
| Wasatch Academy Boarding | Mount Pleasant, UT | 7–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2025 | 34 | School's list |
| Delphian School Boarding | Sheridan, OR | 1–12 | College acceptances | not stated | 32 | School's list |
| Ross School Boarding | East Hampton, NY | — | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 32 | School's list |
| St. Thomas More School (Oakdale) Boarding | Oakdale, CT | 8–12 | College acceptances | the past 5 years | 29 | School's list |
| Principia School Boarding | Saint Louis, MO | — | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 27 | School's list |
| Riverstone International School Boarding | Boise, ID | — | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 25 | School's list |
| Black Mountain Academy Boarding | Black Mountain, NC | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 24 | School's list |
| Subiaco Academy Boarding | Subiaco, AR | 7–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2017 | 24 | School's list |
| Holderness School Boarding | Plymouth, NH | 9–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | not stated | 21 | School's list |
| Scattergood Friends School Boarding | West Branch, IA | 6–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 21 | School's list |
| Christchurch School Boarding | Christchurch, VA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | most recent graduates | 20 | School's list |
| School for Ethical and Global Leadership Boarding | Washington, DC | 11–12 | Where graduates enrolled | last year's graduates | 17 | School's list |
| Midland School Boarding | Los Olivos, CA | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2025 | 15 | School's list |
| New Mexico Military Institute Boarding | Roswell, NM | 9–12 | College acceptances | not stated | 13 | School's list |
| Salem Academy Boarding | Winston Salem, NC | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2023 | 8 | School's list |
Where are the boarding schools in the United States?
The 179 boarding schools in the United States are in 38 states: Massachusetts 24; Connecticut 18; California 17; New York 15; Virginia 13; Pennsylvania 10; Maine 7; New Hampshire 7; Maryland 6; North Carolina 5; New Jersey 5; Hawaii 4.
Which boarding schools in the United States are religiously affiliated?
On the federal Private School Survey, 8 of the 179 boarding schools in the United States are Catholic, 35 have another religious affiliation and 102 are nonsectarian; the survey lists no affiliation for the rest.
What families are also choosing at a boarding school
Parents are not only shopping for college outcomes. The tables above count where graduates enrolled, and a high school is also four years of a teenager's days: who they spend them with, what the school asks them to value, and whether the adults know them.
- Community and values fit. A private school sets its own mission and expectations, and the application, the entrance exam and the interview work as a fit signal in both directions. On the federal Private School Survey, 8 of these schools are Catholic, 35 have another religious affiliation and 102 are nonsectarian.
- Residential life. Living on campus is the point of a boarding school: the dorm, the dining hall, weekend programs and the adults on duty are part of the education, not an add-on.
- Class size. Class size is a fair question for each school's admissions office; we hold no student–teacher ratio for the schools listed here.
- Advising. Each private school builds its own college-advising model, so the useful question is how many students each counselor carries and how early the work starts.
- Arts and athletics access. A smaller school can mean more students on each team and in each production; ask each school what participation looks like.
Public schools are a great choice when a family cannot afford a private school, and a published college list is one of the few outcome measures a private school and a public school can be read on side by side.
Every other boarding school in the United States with a page on Reach (14)
Listed alphabetically. These schools publish no college list we have read; that is all their absence from the tables above means.
| School | City | Grades | Affiliation | State |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applewild School | Fitchburg | PK–12 | — | MA |
| Bard Academy & Bard College at Simon's Rock | Barrytown | 9–12 | — | NY |
| Besant Hill School of Happy Valley | Ojai | 9–12 | — | CA |
| Fishburne Military School | Waynesboro | 7–12 | Nonsectarian | VA |
| Grand River Academy | Austinburg | 8–12 | Nonsectarian | OH |
| Hargrave Military Academy | Chatham | 7–12 | Other religious | VA |
| John Bapst Memorial High School | Bangor | 9–12 | Nonsectarian | ME |
| Kimball Union Academy | Meriden | 9–12 | Nonsectarian | NH |
| Maplebrook School | Amenia | 7–12 | Nonsectarian | NY |
| North Yarmouth Academy | Yarmouth | — | Nonsectarian | ME |
| The Mount Academy | Esopus | 9–12 | Other religious | NY |
| The Webb School | Bell Buckle | 6–12 | Nonsectarian | TN |
| Tmi Episcopal | San Antonio | 6–12 | Other religious | TX |
| Villanova Preparatory School | Ojai | 6–12 | — | CA |
Other metros are on the private high schools by metro index. The same arithmetic across every state is the Ivy+ enrollment board and the boarding-school board; for one college at a time, see which private schools send the most students to each college.
Ivy+ means these twelve: Harvard University, Yale University, Princeton University, Columbia University in the City of New York, University of Pennsylvania, Brown University, Dartmouth College, Cornell University, Stanford University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Chicago, Duke University. A graduate is counted once, at the college the school says they enrolled at; the per-class-year figure is the published total divided by the class years the school's own document covers, and both are shown. A school that is not on this page did not publish a numbered matriculation list we could read — that is all absence means here. It is never a statement about a school's graduates. Lists of acceptances (where students were admitted, not where they enrolled) are never counted in this ranking: an acceptances list runs about three times an enrollment list, so counting the two together would compare different things. Those lists are ranked on their own, separately. Grades and religious affiliation are from the National Center for Education Statistics' Private School Survey. Boarding is read from the TABS member directory — The Association of Boarding Schools' 2026 list of its US member schools — matched onto our school pages by exact or town-confirmed name (173 of them). A school that directory does not list is not called a boarding school on a guess, so it waits for the next directory pass rather than appearing here.