Lynbrook High School

San Jose · Santa Clara County · Fremont Union High · Public

Public Santa Clara County Fremont Union High → ~420 seniors CDS 4369468…
Shareable scorecard →

Top 5% UC Reach in California Top 10% ELA & Math · SBAC (CA) 17 AP courses 97% 4-yr grad rate Top 5 Attendance (lowest chronic absenteeism) in Santa Clara Top 10% Attendance (lowest chronic absenteeism) in CA

A parent's read

  • Where graduates go: #1 feeder school to Purdue University (West Lafayette); top 10 for UC Berkeley and Carnegie Mellon. Lynbrook High School's own list (2022-2025), enrolled: Univ of California - Berkeley (94), Purdue-Main Campus (89), DeAnza College (85), Cal State Universities - San Jose (75), Univ of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (75). Feeder standing: #1 Purdue University (West Lafayette), #1 UC Berkeley, #1 Carnegie Mellon, #3 UCLA, #4 Case Western Reserve University, #9 Rice.
  • The UC pipeline here is real. 360 admissions to the top six UC campuses for a class of 420 seniors puts this school in the top handful of schools in California.
  • The UC surprise: most admits from the middle campuses — most enrollments at Berkeley. The middle campuses said yes far more often — 303 of this class's 360 UC admits came from San Diego, Santa Barbara, Irvine, and Davis. But the campus grads chose most is Berkeley: 25 of its 34 admits took the seat. Those offers are rare — and when kids from here win one, they keep it.
  • 9 in 10 graduates leave eligible for UC and CSU. 93% finish the A-G courses California's universities require before a student can even apply — most California schools manage about 6 in 10.
  • Worth asking about on a tour: counselor load. One counselor served about 547 students here in the 2020 federal count — above the 250-to-1 level counseling experts recommend. Ask what the ratio is today and how junior-year college advising actually gets covered.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Where graduates go — as published by the school

Lynbrook High School publishes where its graduates enrolled (2022-2025): 156 colleges with per-college counts — the largest counts enrolled at Univ of California - Berkeley (94), Purdue-Main Campus (89), DeAnza College (85). See the full list ↓

Top-10 feeder to 8 top colleges #1Purdue University (West Lafayette)22.2/yr #1University of California-Berkeley23.5/yr #1Carnegie Mellon University10.5/yr #3University of California-Los Angeles11.2/yr #3Massachusetts Institute of Technology4.5/yr #3University of Washington (Seattle)12.2/yr #5University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign18.8/yr #9Rice University3.0/yr

Feeder standing #1 feeder to Purdue University (West Lafayette), University of California-Berkeley, Carnegie Mellon University · #3 to University of California-Los Angeles, #3 to Massachusetts Institute of Technology, #3 to University of Washington (Seattle), #5 to University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign — from its own published counts, ranked per class year

At a glance

Programs & features
  • 17 AP courses offered — Elite
  • Dual-enrollment program (college credit while in HS)
  • 13 calculus classes · 18 physics · 17 chemistry
Academic signals
  • AP rigor: 73rd percentile nationally
  • SAT/ACT participation: 82nd percentile by test-taker volume
  • 4-yr grad rate: 97% in 2019 (90th percentile nationally)

Composed from federal CRDC offerings, EDFacts graduation data, and other public data. Full breakdowns below.

Their published matriculation list

Where their graduates enrolled

Lynbrook High School publishes where its graduates enrolled. What follows is copied from that document — 156 colleges, ordered by the number of students enrolled.

Years, as the document states them
2022-2025

The ten largest counts, enrolled

DeAnza College 85

Is my kid's college on this list?

✓ Stanford University · 11 ✓ New York University · 38 ✓ University of Southern California · 19 ✓ University of California, Los Angeles · 45 ✓ University of California, Berkeley · 94 ✓ University of Michigan · 12 ✓ Cornell University · 25 ✓ Boston University · 16 ✓ Northeastern University · 25 ✓ University of Texas at Austin · 32 ✓ Georgetown University · 10 ✓ Duke University · 3

#1of 173 feeder schools to Purdue University (West Lafayette) · 22.2/yrTop college#1of 169 feeder schools to University of California-Berkeley · 23.5/yrTop college#1of 167 feeder schools to Carnegie Mellon University · 10.5/yrTop college#3of 176 feeder schools to University of California-Los Angeles · 11.2/yrTop college#3of 117 feeder schools to Massachusetts Institute of Technology · 4.5/yrTop college#3of 111 feeder schools to University of Washington (Seattle) · 12.2/yrTop college

The school down the road: Monta Vista High School

CollegeLynbrook High SchoolMonta Vista High School
Boston College—✓ named
Boston University✓ named✓ named
Brown✓ named—
Carnegie Mellon✓ named✓ named
Columbia✓ named✓ named
Cornell✓ named✓ named
Duke✓ named—
Emory✓ named✓ named
Georgetown✓ named—
Georgia Institute of Tech✓ named✓ named
Harvard✓ named—
MIT✓ named✓ named

Both schools print names, not counts, so this shows which selective colleges each list names.

All 156 colleges, as the document prints them

College  ·  Students

DeAnza College 85
West Valley College 26
Cornell 25
MIT 18
and 126 more
Emory 14
Rice 12
Texas A & M College Station 6
Brown 4
Rensselaer Polytechnic 4
Univ of British Columbia 4
Yale 4
Duke 3
McGill University 3
RISD 3
Tufts 3
Cabrillo College 2
Drexel 2
Evergreen Valley College 2
Mission College 2
Simon Fraser University 2
Univ of Toronto 2
Univ of Victoria 2
Wheaton 2
Baylor 1
Carleton University 1
DePaul 1
Emory-Oxford 1
Franklin Olin College 1
Orange Coast College 1
Ritsumeikan University 1
San Francisco Conservatory 1
San Jose City College 1
Temple 1
The New England Conservatory 1
Tulane 1
United States Air Force 1
Univ of Oxford 1
Univ of Waterloo 1
Universiteit van Amsterdam 1

These graduates went on to the colleges above.

Check your kid's odds at these colleges →

We'll load the 10 colleges the class chose most often — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.

As published, source linked As published by Lynbrook High School — Lynbrook School Profile 2025-26 ↗. Found at: Page 2 of 2, lower two-thirds of the page, under the bold heading "Lynbrook Graduate Matriculation from 2022-2025 (list not exhaustive)". The list runs in four text columns (x≈176, 282, 384, 499 pt) with four bold group headers printed in the first column: "Community Colleges", "Cal State Universities", "Univ of California", "Private/Out of State". The "Private/Out of State" group begins in column 1 and continues alphabetically across columns 2, 3 and 4 (Amherst College → Brandeis | Brigham Young → New York Univ | Northeastern → Univ of British Columbia | Univ of Chicago → Yale). Page 1 carries no college list..

From the school

Lynbrook High School had 44 National Merit Finalists in the Class of 2025, the seniors who graduated in June 2025 (Lynbrook High School 2025-26 school profile). Source ↗ (page 2)

Keep this page current

Work at Lynbrook High School? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Your badges. Lynbrook High School has 28 badges it can post on its own site, free — each states one claim from this page and links back here. Get the badge code →

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Where grads go — and what it costs & pays

UC Reach Score
86
Excellent top 6% in California
Top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors in the Class of 2025 — counts each campus admit, so a student admitted to several UCs counts more than once (which is why a strong school can score over 100).

UC admits by campus · Class of 2025

UCB
34 admitted
25 enrolled
Net $13,481/yr avg
Grads earn $92,446 @10yr
UCLA
23 admitted
9 enrolled
Net $12,548/yr avg
Grads earn $82,511 @10yr
UCSD
44 admitted
10 enrolled
Net $12,470/yr avg
Grads earn $84,943 @10yr
UCSB
122 admitted
6 enrolled
Net $16,109/yr avg
Grads earn $74,915 @10yr
UCI
88 admitted
14 enrolled
Net $14,251/yr avg
Grads earn $80,735 @10yr
UCD
49 admitted
7 enrolled
Net $14,741/yr avg
Grads earn $80,838 @10yr

Getting in is step one. The cost above is the average aid-receiving family's net price — yours depends on whether you qualify for aid — and your child's odds depend on their GPA + scores. See your family's real numbers at these campuses:

Get my child's odds + our real costs →

Sources: UC Office of the President (admits); IPEDS net price + College Scorecard 10-yr earnings (cost & payoff). Full campus-by-campus breakdown below.

California College-Going Rate

90.3% of the 2022-23 graduating class enrolled in college within a year.

The share of 2022-23 graduates who enrolled at a college anywhere in the U.S. within 12 months, per the National Student Clearinghouse match the California Department of Education publishes.

Within 12 months
90.3%
of 445 graduates

Give the same class four more months and 91.5% had enrolled — CDE publishes a 16-month window alongside the 12-month one, 407 students.

About the same as the 2021-22 class (89.8%).

Where the 2022-23 class enrolled

In California — 200 students (44.9%)

University of California 20.7% 92
California State University 7.9% 35
California Community College 12.6% 56
California private college 3.8% 17

Out of state — 202 students (45.4%)

Out-of-state 4-year 45.4% 202
Out-of-state 2-year 0.0% 0

CDE puts each graduate in one bucket only — whichever kind of college they were enrolled in longest — so these add up to the rate above. That is a different count from the UC Reach Score on this page, which counts a student at every UC campus that admitted them.

Source: California Department of Education, College-Going Rate (DataQuest) ↗, cohort 2022-23, posted 17-Sep-2025. Data file: cgr12mo23.txt ↗ (and the 16-month file ↗). CDE builds the rate by matching California high school completers to National Student Clearinghouse enrollment records; we publish CDE’s aggregates and hold no student-level data.

You've seen Lynbrook High School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How Lynbrook High School compares for families

One of California's strongest schools for college outcomes.

  • ▸ StatewideUC Reach Score of 86 — 67 points above the California median of 19. Ahead of 99% of California high schools.
  • ▸ Locally🧮 Top 1% in California on Math proficiency — plus 7 more top-ranks.
  • ▸ vs Similar SchoolsBeats the peer median (UC Reach Score 86 vs a 32 median) across the 5 most similar nearby schools.

For Parents

Get alerts when Lynbrook High School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Academic rigor

AP + advanced-course offerings

Elite — exceptional AP + advanced course breadth

73rd percentile nationally

50th 90th ↑ this school
Less rigorMore rigorMost rigor
AP courses offered
17
Subject breadth not reported
Students taking AP courses
966
≈57 per 100 students · uptake, not just offerings
Advanced math classes
46
13 calculus · 33 advanced
Lab science classes
35
18 physics · 17 chemistry
Other rigor signals
Dual-enrollment program

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). CRDC reports what's offered + enrolled — it doesn't collect AP exam pass rates (College Board owns that data and doesn't release it school-level).

SAT / ACT participation

CRDC federal data · 2020-21

82nd percentile by test-taker volume

50th 90th
SAT/ACT test-takers
273
11th-12th graders who took 1+ college admissions test
Test-taking intensity
16.0
takers per 100 students in grades 9-12
Compared against
18,426
US high schools reporting SAT/ACT participation

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). Volume — not score — is what's reported here. A higher count means more students at this school are entering the college admissions pipeline. Note: 2020-21 was COVID-disrupted; some districts (especially those that stayed remote longer) report unusually low or zero takers.

4-year graduation rate · federal EDFacts

What % of students graduate on time?

90th percentile nationally

50th 90th
4-year graduation rate
97%
Single-point estimate
4-year cohort size
443
Students in the 9th-grade entry class tracked over 4 years
Compared against
17,988
US high schools reporting 4-year ACGR

Source: federal EDFacts ACGR (Adjusted Cohort Graduation Rate), 2019 vintage via Urban Institute. EDFacts publishes a range (low-high) to preserve privacy on small cohorts; we display the midpoint.

Federal Title I context

Lower-need school

Not Title I eligible (FRPL < 25%)

6.5%
FRPL rate — % of students who qualify for the federal Free or Reduced-Price Lunch program. This is the underlying federal income-eligibility signal Title I designations are computed from (ESEA Sec. 1113).
0% (no FRPL) 35% TA · 40% Schoolwide 100% (universal FRPL)

<25% of students qualify for free/reduced lunch. Well below the Title I threshold; expect a higher-income student body on average.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, free/reduced-price lunch eligibility. The actual Title I designation is a district decision and may differ from eligibility — but the federal eligibility math is what we show here. We don't claim to assert whether the district formally chose to enroll this school in Title I.

SBAC academic outcomes — grade 11, 2025

Share of grade-11 students meeting or exceeding the California standard on Smarter Balanced ELA and Math. This is the academic-readiness signal that pairs with UC Reach (post-grad outcomes), stability (retention), and absenteeism (engagement). Note: statewide median Math is only ~20% — a school at 20% isn't an outlier; one at 45%+ genuinely is.

About 9 in 10 students read and write at grade level — the top 10% of California high schools.
About 9 in 10 students do math at grade level — the top 10% of California high schools.
ELA — met or exceeded
n = 412
92.0%
incl. 76.2% exceeded
★ Top 10% CA
+33.7 pts above Santa Clara County median (58.3%) · CA median 54.5% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 79.4%
Math — met or exceeded
n = 411
92.7%
incl. 78.8% exceeded
★ Top 10% CA
+58.0 pts above Santa Clara County median (34.7%) · CA median 21.4% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 53.6%

Source: California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Smarter Balanced research files. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥30 tested students.

Student composition — 2025-26

HS grades 9–12 racial/ethnic composition and program subgroups, from CDE Census Day Enrollment. Two-year shift shown when ≥1 pt — surfaces how the community served has changed since 2023-24.

Race / ethnicity

Asian 80%
White 6%
Two or more 6%
Hispanic / Latino 4%
Not reported 3%
American Indian 1%
Filipino 0%

Program subgroups

Students w/ disabilities 8%
Socioeconomically disadv. 6%
English learners 3%

Source: California Department of Education, Census Day Enrollment 2025-26 (HS grades 9–12). Δ shown when shift is ≥1 pt since 2023-24. Categories below 0.5% omitted.

Chronic absenteeism — 2024-25

Share of students missing 10% or more of expected attendance — the leading indicator that often precedes the demand decline shown above. Families disengaging tend to raise absenteeism first, then formally leave. Basis: grades 9–12.

Kids show up: 7% are chronically absent versus about 23% statewide — engagement most schools would envy.
Chronic absent
7.1%
122 of 1,721 students

Absenteeism is up 3.3 pp since 2016-17. A rising absenteeism trend often precedes formal departure — worth investigating which subgroups are driving it.

Santa Clara County median
19.0% · school is better than 95% of 60 HS
Statewide median
22.8%
Chronic absenteeism by year (raw %)

Source: California Department of Education, Chronic Absenteeism 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 eligible students. CDE didn't publish a usable 2019-20 file (COVID).

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment (9–12)
1,848 (2018) → 1,640 (2026)
-11.3%
Grade 12 (graduating class)
461 (2018) → 440 (2026)
-4.6%

If this trend holds (-1.9%/yr, Total enrollment)

At per-pupil funding of $ / student:

Horizon Projected Total enrollment Change Funding impact / yr
1 yr (2027) ~1,609 -31 $0
3 yr (2029) ~1,550 -90 $0
5 yr (2031) ~1,493 -147 $0

Straight-line extrapolation of the recent annual rate — a what-if, not a forecast of intent. Default = California's LCFF base grant for grades 9–12 ($12,423/ADA). Edit the figure to match your school.

How does Lynbrook High School really compare on getting kids to college?

We've ranked it #1 of 11 most similar nearby schools on UC Reach. Unlock the full snapshot to see the head-to-head — who's ahead, by how much, and where it's heading.

The full head-to-head table — every peer school's UC Reach, side by side.
Enrollment trend + 3-year projection — is this school growing or quietly shrinking?
The plain-English read on what it all means for your family.

Your similar-school group includes

Westmont High School · Prospect High School · Cupertino High School · Monta Vista High School · Abraham Lincoln High · Willow Glen High School · +4 more

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement. We'll email you the snapshot and a few alerts a year. Unsubscribe anytime.

Enrollment stability & demand — 2024-25

Two complementary signals: retention (do students stay once enrolled?) and demand (are families choosing the school?). Read against the Santa Clara County baseline — the demographic tide is moving every CA HS, so a school's gap vs. county is the actionable signal.

Families don't leave: 97% of students who start the year finish it here — top-tier retention statewide.
Healthy
Holding share of a shrinking market.

Lynbrook High School's enrollment is tracking Santa Clara County's baseline (-4.6% vs. -3.1%), and 96.8% stability is elite. The demographic tide is the headwind; you're holding your share.

-4.6%  senior class, grade 12 (2018–2026)
-3.1%  Santa Clara County baseline
-1.5pp  gap vs. county
96.8%  retention (county median 90.4%)
Senior class (grade 12) — indexed to 100 at 2018
Stability rate by year (raw %)
Stability rate
96.8%
1,676 of 1,731 students

55 of 1,731 students who enrolled at Lynbrook High School this year didn't maintain continuous enrollment (3.2% non-stability). Mid-year transfers, dropouts, and other exits are all counted.

Santa Clara County median
90.4% · school is in the 90th percentile of 62 HS
Statewide median
87.3% · in the 96th percentile of 1,734 HS

Stability by student group

Asian (1,394) 98.4%
Students w/ disabilities (149) 83.2%
Socio. disadvantaged (142) 88.7%
White (100) 88.0%
Two or more races (99) 89.9%
Hispanic / Latino (67) 88.1%

Nearest peer high schools

Westmont High School 93.3% Prospect High School 93.0% Cupertino High School 96.3% Monta Vista High School 97.2% Abraham Lincoln High 86.7%

Source: California Department of Education, Stability Rate 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 cumulative enrollees so by-design-high-churn continuation schools don't dominate the bottom of the distribution. Cumulative enrollment counts every student on the rolls during the year, so it can exceed peak-day enrollment.

District financial profile — Fremont Union High (FY2020)

From 4 years of NCES F-33 filings (the federally-mandated district finance survey). Public schools don't have their own books — the district does. These figures show the financial scale, revenue dependence, instruction-vs-overhead mix, and long-term debt that shape what a school can sustain.

Total revenue
$267.3M
+23.1% since FY2017
Per-pupil revenue
$24,667
10,836 students enrolled
Revenue mix
State: 11.5%
Local: 85.2%
Federal: 3.2%
Instruction share
55.8%
of current spending · $10,036/pupil
Long-term debt
$620.3M
+42.6% since FY2017
Total revenue by year ($M)
Total expenditure by year ($M)

Source: NCES F-33 Annual Survey of School System Finances (Urban Institute Education Data API). Latest year currently published: FY2020. F-33 is a district-level federal filing — it reflects the Fremont Union High as a whole, not this individual school's books. Revenue mix shows where the district's dollars come from (state aid dominates in CA via LCFF). Instruction share is current expenditure on instruction ÷ total current expenditure (national benchmark ~60%). Long-term debt is end-of-year outstanding (mostly facilities bonds).

Key takeaway · Class of 2025

Lynbrook High School sent 1,892 applications to the six most selective University of California campuses and 19.0% were admitted, producing a UC Reach Score of 86 (top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors, counting a student at each campus that admitted them) — 67 points above the California median of 19, higher than 99% of California high schools. The school produces 13.6 UCLA + UC Berkeley admits per 100 seniors.

UC Reach Score 86 ⓘ 360 admits (counted at each UC) / 420 seniors +54 pts above peer median (32) · #1 of 11 similar schools methodology
Where this sits on the California curve
CA median
19
Peer median
32
Top 10%
53
This school
86
050100
CA median 19 Top 10% ≥ 53 This school 86

Higher than 99% of California high schools (1105 ranked, ≥50 seniors)

What this number means

Lynbrook High School's UC Reach Score of 86 clears the statewide top-10% cutoff (53) — meaning roughly 85 top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors, well above what most California schools achieve.

In Santa Clara County — a competitive market where the median is already 33 — this still clears the county top-10% bar (84).

Against similar schools, Lynbrook High School stands out clearly — the peer-group median is 32.

For context, the elite tier (top 1%) clears 95 — a gap of 9 pp from where this school sits.

Overall, Lynbrook High School's UC Reach is higher than 99% of California high schools (1105 ranked).

UC Application Reach Score ⓘ
450
1892 applications
Exceptionally ambitious student body. The typical senior is applying to about 5 of the 6 most selective UCs — a culture of pursuing every major UC option.
In context: CA median 81 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 240 · Santa Clara Co. Top 10% ≥ 374 · higher than 99% of CA HS.
UC Admit Rate ⓘ
19.0%
360 / 1892 applications
In context: CA median 26.1% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 40.4% · higher than 12% of CA HS.
UC Yield Rate ⓘ
19.7%
71 enrolled of 360 admitted
Yield vs. Enrollment Reach: Yield answers "of UC admits, what % chose UC?" — denominator is just the admits. A small admitted cohort can post a low yield even when the school sends a healthy share of its class to UC.
UC Enrollment Reach Score ⓘ
17
71 enrollees / 420 seniors
Enrollment Reach vs. Yield: Reach answers "of the whole senior class, what share ended up at UC?" — denominator is everyone. High Yield with low Enrollment Reach is common at elite privates: most admits matriculate, but the school sends most of its class to non-UC selective colleges.
Student-Counselor Ratio ⓘ
Each counselor juggles about 547 students — above the level experts recommend. Ask how junior-year college advising is handled.
547:1
3.0 FTE counselors · 1,640 students
In context: CA median 337:1 · 210 more students per counselor · ASCA target 250:1.
A-G Completion ⓘ
Most graduates leave here ready to apply to UC and CSU — 9 in 10 finish the required courses, versus about 6 in 10 statewide.
93%
370 of 397 graduates · 2024-25 cohort
In context: CA median 55.9% · +37.3 pp above · Santa Clara Co. 67.2%.
UC 6-Yr Grad Rate ⓘ
Kids from here finish what they start: 98% of its UC entrants earn the degree within six years — above the norm for CA schools.
98%
90% finished in 4 yrs · N=123 entered 2019
In context: CA median 88.6% · +9.0 pp above.
Selective UC Reach (UCB, UCLA, UCSD, UCSB, UCI — incl. the Elite two) ⓘ
74.0
per 100 seniors · campus-level total
In context: CA median 16.0 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 42.2 · higher than 99% of CA HS.
Elite UC Reach (UCB + UCLA) ⓘ
13.6
per 100 seniors · campus-level total
In context: CA median 3.4 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 10.2 · higher than 96% of CA HS.
Senior Class Size ⓘ
420
CDE grade 12 (exact)
Total School Enrollment ⓘ
1,702
All grades · CDE Census Day
Economic Connectedness ⓘ
1.87
100th percentile in CA · cross‑class friendships
Avg. Applicant GPA · top-6 UCs ⓘ
4.07
Avg. Admitted GPA · top-6 UCs ⓘ
4.26

UC funnel — which kids are getting in at what GPA

Combining the school's applicant pool GPA, admit pool GPA, actual admit rate, and statewide CA admit rates by individual GPA band, we can read which GPA tiers tend to get in — and which don't.

Who's actually getting into UC from Lynbrook High School
Campus 4.00+ GPA 3.70–3.99 GPA 3.30–3.69 GPA < 3.30 GPA
UC Berkeley Real shot Long odds Filtered out Filtered out
UCLA Real shot Long odds Filtered out Filtered out
UC San Diego Strong shot Moderate Long odds Filtered out
UC Santa Barbara Strong shot Real shot Long odds Filtered out
UC Irvine Strong shot Real shot Long odds Filtered out
UC Davis Strong shot Strong shot Real shot Filtered out
Strong shot = ≥30% statewide admit rate at this band · Real shot = 10–29% · Moderate = 5–9% · Long odds = 1–4% · Filtered out = under 1%. Tiers map this school's likely outcomes by GPA tier using statewide CA admit rates from UCOP 2025.

The numbers behind it

Campus Applicant GPA Admit GPA Lift ⓘ Admit rate vs peer schools @ same GPA ⓘ
UC Berkeley 4.08 4.25 +0.16 10.8% Peers +0.19 · matches
UCLA 4.09 4.26 +0.17 7.4% Peers +0.22 · wider
UC San Diego 4.06 4.29 +0.22 13.5% Peers +0.23 · matches
UC Santa Barbara 4.07 4.27 +0.20 39.9% Peers +0.24 · wider
UC Irvine 4.06 4.24 +0.18 27.8% Peers +0.19 · matches
UC Davis 4.07 4.21 +0.15 15.3% Peers +0.18 · matches
Statewide CA admit rates by individual GPA band, 2025 (for reference)
GPA band UCB UCLA UCSD UCSB UCI UCD
4.00+ 17.0% 15.1% 45.2% 62.3% 46.3% 65.9%
3.70–3.99 3.1% 1.6% 9.3% 17.6% 17.0% 31.1%
3.30–3.69 0.8% 0.5% 1.5% 2.8% 2.4% 10.3%
3.00–3.29 0.4% 0.3% 0.2% 0.4% 0.3% 1.9%
< 3.00 0.7% 0.4% 0.3% 0.2% 0.1% 0.7%
How we infer the tier labels: Each tier comes from the statewide CA admit rate at that GPA band at that UC. The "vs peers" column compares this school's lift (admit GPA − applicant GPA) to the average lift at ~100–300 other CA schools with similar applicant pool GPA. What this isn't: a guarantee. UC comprehensive review weighs essays, course rigor, demographics, and context-of-opportunity beyond GPA. A 3.9 with strong context can land an admit; a 4.0 with weak essays can be denied. Use as a baseline expectation, not a verdict. Per-campus year is shown when it differs from the headline year (UCOP doesn't always publish admit-GPA for every campus every year).

Where Lynbrook High School sits vs. all California schools ⓘ

Overall, this school admits its UC applicants in line with what their GPAs predict (19.0% actual vs. 23.7% expected).

UC Outcomes Trend — 2018–2025

UC Admit Rate %
UC Reach Score (where available)
UC Admits (count, right axis)

Class size from CDE grade 12 enrollment. Campus-level data: applicant and admit totals count a student once at EACH campus. A senior admitted to UCLA and UC San Diego adds 2 to the admit total, so the total can exceed the senior class — that is the metric working as defined, not an error. The admit RATE is unaffected: both its numerator and denominator are campus-level.

Campus Breakdown — 2025

Campus Applicants Admits Enrollees Admit Rate UC Reach Score Yield Avg GPA (App) Avg GPA (Adm)
UC Berkeley → Elite 314 34 25 10.8% 8 73.5% 4.08 4.25
UCLA → Elite 311 23 9 7.4% 5 39.1% 4.09 4.26
UC San Diego → Selective 325 44 10 13.5% 10 22.7% 4.06 4.29
UC Santa Barbara → Selective 306 122 6 39.9% 29 4.9% 4.07 4.27
UC Irvine → Selective 316 88 14 27.8% 21 15.9% 4.06 4.24
UC Davis → 320 49 7 15.3% 12 14.3% 4.07 4.21
† = UCOP-suppressed (count below 3 students, hidden for privacy — actual value is 0, 1, or 2, not necessarily zero). Campus-level totals may count one student admitted to multiple UC campuses more than once; Admit Volume metrics are not the same as UC Reach, which is measured against the whole senior class. See methodology →

What This Means

A large share of the senior class applies to UC, indicating strong college-going culture and UC pipeline development.
A large share of the class applies to UC, so the admit rate runs lower than the application volume alone might suggest — expected when many students apply broadly, including to reach campuses. UC Reach (which credits every admit relative to the class) is the truer read of how the class fares: a strong Reach alongside a moderate admit rate is healthy, not a contradiction.
UC Reach is very strong — more than 86% of seniors are earning UC admission. This places the school among California's highest-performing high schools on this metric.
Strong UC Reach paired with low yield: students are earning UC admission at high rates and then enrolling elsewhere. The pattern is characteristic of competitive college-preparatory schools where many students choose more selective private colleges or out-of-state flagships over UC — UC functions as a strong backup option rather than a first choice.
UC Reach has improved meaningfully compared to the prior year — a positive trajectory worth monitoring and reinforcing.
Note: the UC Reach Score sums campus-level admits across the top-six UC campuses, so a student admitted to both UCLA and UCSD is counted at each. It reflects competitive admit volume relative to class size — admit-events, not distinct students — which is why a Score can exceed 100.
Compare with other schools → See Santa Clara County rankings →

For School Admins

The full Reach Report for Lynbrook High School

A board- and LCAP-ready intelligence brief: your enrollment retention and college outcomes, benchmarked against your closest competitors, with a 5-year forecast, concrete steps to act on, and the rigor + outcomes story you can share with your families. Built from primary public data — prepared for you, not auto-generated.

  • ✓Your UC Reach Score (86) ranked head-to-head against your closest competitor schools
  • ✓Your 5-year enrollment forecast (currently -1.9%/yr) with the revenue at stake
  • ✓Student-retention benchmarking vs your county median — and the LCAP evidence to back your goals
See a sample report →

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Lynbrook High School is a public high school in San Jose, Santa Clara County, California with 420 seniors in the Class of 2025.

Its UC Reach Score is 86 (Excellent, top 6% in California): 360 UC admits (counted at each UC) from a senior class of 420, so a student admitted to several campuses counts at each. That is higher than 99% of California high schools.

In 2025 its students filed 1,892 UC applications and received 360 offers, a UC admit rate of 19.0% (counted at each campus); 71 enrolled.

More of its graduates enrolled at UC Berkeley than at any other UC campus (25 in 2025); UC Berkeley and UCLA together admitted 57.

93% of its graduates completed the A-G courses required for UC and CSU eligibility (California median 56%).

90% of its 2022-23 graduates enrolled in college within 12 months (California Department of Education College-Going Rate).

Of its graduates who enrolled at a UC, 98% earned a degree within six years (cohort entering 2019).

It has about 547 students per school counselor.

Enrollment was 1,640 students in 2026, down 11% since 2018.

Lynbrook High School publishes a matriculation list (where its graduates enrolled) for the 2022-2025: 156 colleges, with per-college counts; the largest counts are Univ of California - Berkeley (94), Purdue-Main Campus (89), DeAnza College (85), Cal State Universities - San Jose (75), Univ of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (75). Source: Lynbrook School Profile 2025-26.

Lynbrook High School's feeder standing, from the schools' own published counts: #1 Purdue University (West Lafayette), #1 UC Berkeley, #1 Carnegie Mellon, #3 UCLA, #4 Case Western Reserve University, #9 Rice.

Lynbrook High School had 44 National Merit Finalists in the Class of 2025, the seniors who graduated in June 2025 (Lynbrook High School 2025-26 school profile).

Sources: University of California Office of the President (admissions), California Department of Education (enrollment, A-G, college-going), and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

What is Lynbrook High School's UC Reach Score? Lynbrook High School's UC Reach Score is 86 (Excellent, top 6% in California): 360 UC admits (counted at each UC) from a senior class of 420, so a student admitted to several campuses counts at each. That is higher than 99% of California high schools.

How many students from Lynbrook High School got into a UC? In 2025 its students filed 1,892 UC applications and received 360 offers, a UC admit rate of 19.0% (counted at each campus); 71 enrolled.

Which UC campus do Lynbrook High School graduates attend most? More of Lynbrook High School's graduates enrolled at UC Berkeley than at any other UC campus (25 in 2025); UC Berkeley and UCLA together admitted 57.

What percentage of Lynbrook High School graduates complete the A-G requirements? 93% of its graduates completed the A-G courses required for UC and CSU eligibility (California median 56%).

What percentage of Lynbrook High School graduates go to college? 90% of its 2022-23 graduates enrolled in college within 12 months (California Department of Education College-Going Rate).

Where do Lynbrook High School graduates go to college? Lynbrook High School publishes a matriculation list (where its graduates enrolled) for the 2022-2025: 156 colleges, with per-college counts; the largest counts are Univ of California - Berkeley (94), Purdue-Main Campus (89), DeAnza College (85), Cal State Universities - San Jose (75), Univ of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (75). Source: Lynbrook School Profile 2025-26.

Which colleges is Lynbrook High School a top feeder school to? Lynbrook High School's feeder standing, from the schools' own published counts: #1 Purdue University (West Lafayette), #1 UC Berkeley, #1 Carnegie Mellon, #3 UCLA, #4 Case Western Reserve University, #9 Rice.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about Lynbrook High School?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about Lynbrook High School, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send your school a short report on what AI says about Lynbrook High School and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Lynbrook High School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →

For School Admins looking at enrollment trends: request a Reach Report →

What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next