At a glance · California

  • 37 colleges in California offer a bachelor's marketing program: 18 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 13 more report a marketing admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 6 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: California State University-Northridge (175), Loyola Marymount University (144), Santa Clara University (99).
  • Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State University-Long Beach — Marketing, Fall 2025: 3,426 applied, 887 admitted (25.9%).
  • Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Stanislaus — 95.0% (119 applied, 113 admitted, Fall 2025).
  • Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Santa Clara University, $104,723.
  • Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.

A college on this list with no first-year admit row simply does not report marketing separately in this data, which says nothing about whether the door there is open or closed. Where marketing is reported on its own, the admit rate runs from 25.9% at Cal State Long Beach to 95.0% at Cal State Stanislaus. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 807 colleges nationwide →

Hardest reported gate

25.9%
California State University-Long Beach
Marketing, Fall 2025: 3,426 applied, 887 admitted

Highest reported admit rate

95.0%
California State University-Stanislaus
Marketing, Fall 2025: 119 applied, 113 admitted

Highest earnings, 4 yrs out

$104,723
Santa Clara University
median, graduates of this program

Lowest net price with aid

$3,967
California State University-Los Angeles
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 3,426 applied, 887 admitted
impacted
— 25.9% 47% $10,440 $22,679 $67,396
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 3,762 applied, 1,233 admitted
impacted
— 32.8% 34% $15,364 $27,780 $81,368
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 439 applied, 338 admitted
— 77.0% 88% $5,652 $19,522 —
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 1,168 applied, 976 admitted
impacted
— 83.6% 80% $13,760 $26,593 —
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 345 applied, 291 admitted
— 84.3% 97% $9,320 $22,850 —
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 948 applied, 838 admitted
— 88.4% 96% $12,278 $26,488 $71,691
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 1,318 applied, 1,193 admitted
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
175 graduates
90.5% 93% $7,021 $20,485 $64,373
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 808 applied, 735 admitted
— 91.0% 94% $14,480 $26,283 —
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 388 applied, 358 admitted
— 92.3% 99% $13,171 $25,170 —
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 1,616 applied, 1,492 admitted
— 92.3% 74% $11,531 $23,955 —
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 646 applied, 596 admitted
— 92.3% 91% $8,615 $23,191 —
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 417 applied, 389 admitted
— 93.3% 98% $4,564 $17,427 $57,157
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 439 applied, 410 admitted
— 93.4% 95% $12,885 $24,648 —
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
Marketing
Fall 2025: 119 applied, 113 admitted
— 95.0% 98% $6,067 $19,739 —
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
99 graduates
— 44% $50,062 $82,026 $104,723
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
73 graduates
— 51% $41,431 $80,141 $91,815
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
77 graduates
— 47% $30,365 $78,720 $83,562
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
144 graduates
— 40% $48,381 $83,943 $82,825
Menlo College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
46 graduates
— 68% $31,100 $72,020 $74,930
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 96% $10,229 $21,649 $73,290
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 96% $7,000 $20,095 $57,395
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
38 graduates
— 74% $26,285 $54,038 $56,350
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
10 graduates
— 93% $45,566 $51,459 $48,040
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Marketing, Other
89 graduates
— — $31,266 — —
FIDM-Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising
CA · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
26 graduates
— — — — —
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
26 graduates
— 82% $38,729 $60,488 —
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing, Other
16 graduates
— 80% $22,212 $56,313 —
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
10 graduates
— 65% $21,241 $52,665 —
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
9 graduates
— 58% $13,630 $44,249 —
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
5 graduates
— 69% $21,413 $66,726 —
Woodbury University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing/Marketing Management, General
4 graduates
— 73% $33,692 $58,010 —
The Master's University and Seminary
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Marketing, Other
1 graduate
— 76% $32,647 $54,845 —
University of Saint Katherine
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Digital Marketing
1 graduate
— — — — —
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 87% $6,555 $18,269 —
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 92% $3,967 $18,403 —
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 95% $13,663 $26,987 —
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 94% $9,338 $22,945 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/marketing?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a marketing applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

A marketing list needs both kinds of campus on it: the CSUs that report the major's own admit rate, and the private colleges that show up only in the earnings data, like Santa Clara University at $104,723. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359