By major · Health Science
Where can your student actually study health science?
Health science is the general health-careers major, the one a student picks when the field is clear and the job title is not. In California it is mostly a CSU degree: 27 colleges in California report a bachelor's health science program in federal outcome data or a health science admit rate in the UC/CSU data, and the five CSU campuses that published a first-year admit rate for Fall 2025 admitted between 85.9% and 95.4% of applicants. The largest is Sacramento State, where 3,463 students applied and 3,261 were admitted. No UC campus reports a health science major of its own in this data, so the choice here runs through the CSUs and the private colleges.
At a glance · California
- 27 colleges in California offer a bachelor's health science program: 26 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: California State University-Sacramento (410), California State University-Long Beach (235), California State University-Channel Islands (208).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State University-East Bay — Health Science, Fall 2025: 382 applied, 328 admitted (85.9%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Dominguez Hills — 95.4% (348 applied, 332 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Dominican University of California, $82,911.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-San Bernardino, $4,564 per year.
A college on this page with no first-year row is not reporting a separate admit rate for health science, and that is a different thing from the door being closed. Where a CSU does report one, the figure is that campus's own count of first-year applicants and admits for the major. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 475 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Health Science, Fall 2025: 382 applied, 328 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Health Science, Fall 2025: 348 applied, 332 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Science
Fall 2025: 382 applied, 328 admitted
|
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
188 graduates
|
85.9% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $68,231 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Science
Fall 2025: 381 applied, 353 admitted
|
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
208 graduates
|
92.7% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $58,396 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Science
Fall 2025: 14 applied, 13 admitted
|
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
145 graduates
|
92.9% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $76,268 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Science
Fall 2025: 3,463 applied, 3,261 admitted
|
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
410 graduates
|
94.2% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $67,182 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Science
Fall 2025: 348 applied, 332 admitted
|
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
127 graduates
|
95.4% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $51,549 |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
16 graduates
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | $82,911 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
33 graduates
|
— | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $80,630 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $73,095 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
6 graduates
|
— | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $69,303 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
74 graduates
|
— | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $65,252 |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
31 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | $64,797 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
30 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $59,801 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
17 graduates
|
— | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $54,244 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
60 graduates
|
— | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $45,977 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
235 graduates
|
— | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
California Northstate University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
59 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Los Angeles Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
45 graduates
|
— | — | $22,677 | — | — |
|
CBD College
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
35 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other
28 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
19 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
Southern California University of Health Sciences
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
17 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Loma Linda University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
6 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Saint Katherine
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health and Wellness, General
5 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
5 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health and Wellness, General
3 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health and Wellness, General
3 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | — |
|
United States University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/health-science?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a health science applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A health science list should carry both kinds of college: the ones that publish an admit rate for the major, and the ones where the only public number is what graduates earn. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359