By major · Anthropology
Where can your student actually get into anthropology?
Anthropology is offered at most of California's public universities, so the admit numbers on this page say more about the campus than about the major. 47 colleges in California report a bachelor's anthropology program or an anthropology admit rate, and the reported rates run from 9% at UCLA to 100.0% at Fresno State. A UC admits to the campus and not to the major, so the UCLA figure is mostly a measure of UCLA. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 47 colleges in California offer a bachelor's anthropology program: 45 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 2 more report an anthropology admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Los Angeles (167), University of California-Santa Cruz (125), University of California-Santa Barbara (114).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Anthropology, Fall 2025: 1,081 applied, 92 admitted (9%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fresno — 100.0% (31 applied, 31 admitted, Fall 2025).
- 1 CSU campus report anthropology on the transfer side only: freshmen enter as a related social science major and apply into the program later.
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of California-Berkeley, $64,359.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
A campus that reports anthropology on the transfer side only has published no first-year row for the major; a freshman there starts in a related social science major and moves into it later. At the campuses that do report a first-year row, that row is the whole reported gate for anthropology, and at a UC it reflects the campus admission decision rather than a separate decision by the anthropology department. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 485 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Anthropology, Fall 2025: 1,081 applied, 92 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Anthropology, Fall 2025: 31 applied, 31 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 1,081 applied, 92 admitted · admit GPA 4.21–4.32
|
Anthropology, General
167 graduates
|
9% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $54,905 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 765 applied, 128 admitted · admit GPA 4.16–4.29
|
Anthropology, General
67 graduates
|
17% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $64,359 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 1,225 applied, 435 admitted · admit GPA 4.07–4.27
|
Anthropology, General
114 graduates
|
36% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $56,238 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 382 applied, 149 admitted · admit GPA 4.02–4.25
Biological Anthropology: 44%
|
Anthropology, General +1
58 graduates
|
39% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $56,982 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology and Geography
Fall 2025: 276 applied, 133 admitted
impacted
|
— | 48.2% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 594 applied, 322 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.24
|
Anthropology, General
51 graduates
|
54% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $50,850 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 326 applied, 229 admitted
impacted
|
Anthropology, General
46 graduates
|
70.2% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $53,991 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 17 applied, 12 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
14 graduates
|
70.6% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 453 applied, 322 admitted · admit GPA 3.85–4.20
|
Anthropology, General +1
125 graduates
|
71% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $52,315 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 600 applied, 466 admitted · admit GPA 3.89–4.22
|
Anthropology, General
96 graduates
|
78% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $56,836 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 78 applied, 63 admitted
impacted
|
Anthropology, General
22 graduates
|
80.8% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 129 applied, 109 admitted
impacted
|
Anthropology, General
35 graduates
|
84.5% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $54,092 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 194 applied, 165 admitted
impacted
|
Anthropology, General
70 graduates
|
85.1% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $47,166 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 103 applied, 89 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
32 graduates
|
86.4% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 333 applied, 292 admitted · admit GPA 3.50–4.05
|
Anthropology, General +1
89 graduates
|
88% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $45,821 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 51 applied, 46 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
10 graduates
|
90.2% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $51,951 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 31 applied, 28 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
28 graduates
|
90.3% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $62,674 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 147 applied, 133 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
23 graduates
|
90.5% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $49,848 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 138 applied, 125 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
23 graduates
|
90.6% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $41,464 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 62 applied, 57 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
22 graduates
|
91.9% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $61,300 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 72 applied, 67 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
49 graduates
|
93.1% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $48,367 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 15 applied, 14 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
11 graduates
|
93.3% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $46,321 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 60 applied, 56 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
43 graduates
|
93.3% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $43,153 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 33 applied, 31 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
18 graduates
|
93.9% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $40,417 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 60 applied, 57 admitted
Applied Archaeology: 92.3%
|
Anthropology, General
36 graduates
|
95.0% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $37,443 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 75 applied, 72 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
57 graduates
|
96.0% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $43,192 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 25 applied, 24 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
7 graduates
|
96.0% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 47 applied, 46 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as a related social science major
|
— | 97.9% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Anthropology
Fall 2025: 31 applied, 31 admitted
|
Anthropology, General
15 graduates
|
100.0% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $49,187 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
21 graduates
|
— | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General +1
16 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General +1
10 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cultural Anthropology
9 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General +1
8 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
7 graduates
|
— | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
7 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
6 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
5 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, Other
4 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
4 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
4 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
3 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
2 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
1 graduate
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Anthropology, General
1 graduate
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Archeology
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/anthropology?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a anthropology applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a related social science major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A useful anthropology list is built on the things that do vary from school to school: how selective the campus is, what a family actually pays after aid, and what graduates earn four years later. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359