By major · Kinesiology
Where can your student actually get into kinesiology?
Kinesiology is one of the few majors where the public numbers are close to a straight answer, because most CSU campuses admit freshmen into the major itself. 47 colleges in California report a bachelor's kinesiology program in federal outcome data or a kinesiology admit rate in the UC/CSU data, and the reported admit rate runs from 12.1% at Cal Poly SLO to 97.7% at Cal State Monterey Bay. No University of California campus reports a kinesiology admit row in this data, so the public gates below are CSU ones, and the private colleges appear through their federal earnings rows instead. Every number here is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 47 colleges in California offer a bachelor's kinesiology program: 46 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: California State University-Fullerton (541), California State University-Northridge (397), San Diego State University (353).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo — Kinesiology/Physical Education, Fall 2025: 2,162 applied, 262 admitted (12.1%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Monterey Bay — 97.7% (910 applied, 889 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Chapman University, $75,108.
- Lowest average net price with aid: San Diego Christian College, $992 per year.
A missing first-year row belongs to a track, not to the whole major: Fresno State admits freshmen into kinesiology itself, and it is the narrower exercise physiology track there that reports admissions on the transfer side only, so a freshman starts as a kinesiology major and applies into exercise physiology later. Where the gate is real it shows up in the major's own first-year row, 12.1% at Cal Poly SLO and 33.5% at San Diego State, against 97.7% at Cal State Monterey Bay. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 866 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Kinesiology/Physical Education, Fall 2025: 2,162 applied, 262 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Kinesiology/Physical Education, Fall 2025: 910 applied, 889 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 2,162 applied, 262 admitted
impacted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
75 graduates
|
12.1% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $64,579 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 3,510 applied, 1,175 admitted
impacted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
353 graduates
|
33.5% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $59,914 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 3,479 applied, 1,418 admitted
impacted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
264 graduates
|
40.8% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $57,643 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 485 applied, 419 admitted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
80 graduates
|
86.4% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $53,553 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 1,321 applied, 1,143 admitted
impacted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
260 graduates
|
86.5% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 2,874 applied, 2,531 admitted
impacted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
541 graduates
|
88.1% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $51,787 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 789 applied, 708 admitted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
171 graduates
|
89.7% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $59,056 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 376 applied, 339 admitted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
152 graduates
|
90.2% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $56,938 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 1,270 applied, 1,149 admitted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
174 graduates
|
90.5% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $53,024 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 602 applied, 551 admitted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
58 graduates
|
91.5% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $55,222 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 1,551 applied, 1,419 admitted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
397 graduates
|
91.5% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $50,663 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 1,121 applied, 1,032 admitted
Exercise Physiology: 93.7%
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General +1
274 graduates
|
92.1% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $44,930 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 1,235 applied, 1,152 admitted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
316 graduates
|
93.3% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $59,142 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Exercise Physiology
Fall 2025: 233 applied, 218 admitted
Kinesiology/Physical Education: 95.8%
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
119 graduates
|
93.6% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $51,185 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Exercise Physiology
Fall 2025: 634 applied, 597 admitted
Kinesiology/Physical Education: 87.6%
|
Exercise Science and Kinesiology +1
179 graduates
|
94.2% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $52,978 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 1,714 applied, 1,622 admitted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
164 graduates
|
94.6% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $61,252 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Exercise Physiology
Fall 2025: 368 applied, 352 admitted
Kinesiology/Physical Education: 95.7%
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
80 graduates
|
95.7% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $67,351 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 222 applied, 215 admitted
Exercise Physiology: 100.0%
|
Exercise Science and Kinesiology +1
72 graduates
|
96.8% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $57,060 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 780 applied, 755 admitted
Exercise Physiology: 81.0% (transfer)
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
304 graduates
|
96.8% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $54,849 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Exercise Physiology
Fall 2025: 347 applied, 338 admitted
Kinesiology/Physical Education: 93.8%
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
192 graduates
|
97.4% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $54,944 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Kinesiology/Physical Education
Fall 2025: 910 applied, 889 admitted
|
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
132 graduates
|
97.7% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $47,736 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $75,108 |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology +1
23 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | $66,265 |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
31 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | $65,100 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology +1
157 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $60,816 |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
47 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | $59,820 |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology +1
30 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | $59,648 |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
49 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | $59,012 |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
41 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | $56,878 |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
12 graduates
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | $55,711 |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology +1
7 graduates
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | $51,624 |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
30 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | $47,719 |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
50 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
|
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
50 graduates
|
— | 65% | $21,241 | $52,665 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
46 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
33 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | — |
|
Lionel University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Physiology and Kinesiology
25 graduates
|
— | — | $29,453 | — | — |
|
Hope International University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
22 graduates
|
— | — | $29,310 | — | — |
|
The Master's University and Seminary
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
21 graduates
|
— | 76% | $32,647 | $54,845 | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
18 graduates
|
— | — | $28,062 | — | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
17 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
16 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
University of Saint Katherine
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
14 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Physiology and Kinesiology
12 graduates
|
— | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
San Diego Christian College
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
8 graduates
|
— | — | $992 | — | — |
|
Simpson University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Exercise Science and Kinesiology
8 graduates
|
— | — | $27,817 | — | — |
|
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, General
3 graduates
|
— | 42% | $41,008 | $49,404 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/kinesiology?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a kinesiology applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a kinesiology major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A kinesiology list needs one or two campuses where the major itself is the hard part, several where a freshman is admitted straight in, and an honest answer about what the degree is meant to lead to. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359