By major · English
Where can your student actually get into English?
72 colleges in California report a bachelor's English program in this data, and the admit numbers behind them are nowhere near each other. UCLA reported 1,858 first-year applicants to English and 184 admitted, 10%, while Cal State LA admitted 91.9% of the students who applied to its English program. At most UC campuses the decision belongs to the campus rather than the department, so a UC figure here describes students who got in while naming English, not a separate English review. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, gathered in one place.
At a glance · California
- 72 colleges in California offer a bachelor's English program: 70 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 2 more report an English admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: California State University-Long Beach (259), University of California-Berkeley (256), University of California-Los Angeles (234).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — English, Fall 2025: 1,858 applied, 184 admitted (10%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Monterey Bay — 100.0% (54 applied, 54 admitted, Fall 2025).
- 1 CSU campus report English on the transfer side only: freshmen enter as another major at the campus and apply into the program later.
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Stanford University, $82,036.
- Lowest average net price with aid: San Diego Christian College, $992 per year.
1 CSU campus reports English on the transfer side only. That means the campus published no first-year admit row for the program, so freshmen enter as another major at the campus and apply into English later, not that first-year students are shut out. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1276 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
English, Fall 2025: 1,858 applied, 184 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
English, Fall 2025: 54 applied, 54 admitted (transfer path)
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 1,858 applied, 184 admitted · admit GPA 4.20–4.30
|
English Language and Literature, General +1
234 graduates
|
10% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $55,346 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 1,413 applied, 501 admitted · admit GPA 4.08–4.29
|
English Language and Literature, General +1
256 graduates
|
35% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $69,373 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 1,023 applied, 401 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.26
|
English Language and Literature, General
142 graduates
|
39% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $54,299 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 1,267 applied, 521 admitted · admit GPA 4.07–4.29
|
English Language and Literature, General
175 graduates
|
41% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $59,334 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 986 applied, 584 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.26
|
English Language and Literature, General
141 graduates
|
59% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $59,012 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 617 applied, 393 admitted
impacted
|
English Language and Literature, General
48 graduates
|
63.7% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $63,413 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 564 applied, 360 admitted
impacted
Creative Writing: 60.3%
|
English Language and Literature, General
259 graduates
|
63.8% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $49,804 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Literature
Fall 2025: 839 applied, 635 admitted · admit GPA 3.85–4.23
|
— | 76% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 694 applied, 534 admitted
impacted
English Composition: 86.7%
|
English Language and Literature, General +1
112 graduates
|
76.9% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $49,406 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 281 applied, 239 admitted
impacted
Technical and Professional Writing: 80.0%
|
English Language and Literature, General
87 graduates
|
85.1% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Creative Writing
Fall 2025: 121 applied, 108 admitted
English Literature: 96.5% · English: 85.0% · Technical and Professional Writing: 94.6%
|
English Language and Literature, General +1
127 graduates
|
89.3% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $59,032 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 115 applied, 104 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
60 graduates
|
90.4% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $52,420 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 77 applied, 70 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
47 graduates
|
90.9% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $53,200 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 417 applied, 379 admitted
impacted
|
English Language and Literature, General
137 graduates
|
90.9% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $51,845 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 247 applied, 227 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
87 graduates
|
91.9% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $52,259 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Literatures In English
Fall 2025: 333 applied, 311 admitted · admit GPA 3.50–4.13
|
English Language and Literature, General
24 graduates
|
93% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | $58,623 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 347 applied, 325 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
164 graduates
|
93.7% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $47,660 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 48 applied, 45 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
59 graduates
|
93.8% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $54,501 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 508 applied, 480 admitted · admit GPA 3.56–4.12
Creative Writing: 91%
|
English Language and Literature, General +1
162 graduates
|
94% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $50,712 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 194 applied, 183 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
54 graduates
|
94.3% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $49,189 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Creative Writing
Fall 2025: 73 applied, 69 admitted
English: 88.6%
|
English Language and Literature, General
69 graduates
|
94.5% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $53,147 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Creative Writing
Fall 2025: 94 applied, 89 admitted
English Literature: 92.0% · English Composition: 100.0%
|
English Language and Literature, General
122 graduates
|
94.7% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $43,648 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English Literature
Fall 2025: 100 applied, 95 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
49 graduates
|
95.0% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $57,245 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 201 applied, 191 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
138 graduates
|
95.0% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $50,680 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 133 applied, 127 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
74 graduates
|
95.5% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $54,985 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English Literature
Fall 2025: 156 applied, 149 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
103 graduates
|
95.5% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $47,721 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Creative Writing
Fall 2025: 71 applied, 68 admitted
English Literature: 97.9%
|
English Language and Literature, General
76 graduates
|
95.8% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $47,223 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 166 applied, 160 admitted
|
English Language and Literature, General
40 graduates
|
96.4% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $43,310 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Creative Writing
Fall 2025: 73 applied, 72 admitted
English: 94.0% · English Literature: 97.6%
|
English Language and Literature, General
75 graduates
|
98.6% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $59,418 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
English
Fall 2025: 54 applied, 54 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as another major at the campus
Creative Writing: 100.0% (transfer)
|
— | 100.0% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
51 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | $82,036 |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
29 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | $68,752 |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
42 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | $66,806 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Creative Writing +1
54 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $59,345 |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
11 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | $58,459 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Creative Writing +1
54 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $58,055 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other +1
87 graduates
|
— | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $57,900 |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
13 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | $57,651 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General +1
19 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $56,656 |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
11 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | $55,536 |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
9 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | $52,428 |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General +1
29 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | $50,810 |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
24 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | $49,684 |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
21 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | $43,154 |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
28 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
26 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
24 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
19 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General +1
19 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Creative Writing +2
16 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
13 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General +1
12 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
11 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
9 graduates
|
— | — | $28,062 | — | — |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
7 graduates
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
6 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General +1
6 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General +1
6 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
6 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
6 graduates
|
— | 65% | $21,241 | $52,665 | — |
|
The Master's University and Seminary
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
5 graduates
|
— | 76% | $32,647 | $54,845 | — |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | — |
|
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
4 graduates
|
— | 42% | $41,008 | $49,404 | — |
|
University of Saint Katherine
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Hope International University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
3 graduates
|
— | — | $29,310 | — | — |
|
California College of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Creative Writing
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $53,909 | $79,776 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
2 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
Woodbury University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Professional, Technical, Business, and Scientific Writing
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $33,692 | $58,010 | — |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | — |
|
San Diego Christian College
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $992 | — | — |
|
Simpson University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $27,817 | — | — |
|
University of the West
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
English Language and Literature, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $6,845 | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/english?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a English applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as another major at the campus, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
An English list needs both kinds of campus on it, a few where the reported number is as small as the 10% at UCLA, and several like Cal State LA at 91.9%, where nearly everyone who applied to the program was admitted. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359