By major · Nursing (BSN)
Where can your student actually get into nursing?
Nursing is the major where the campus admit rate tells you the least. The same degree admits about 1 in 100 at UC Irvine and more than 8 in 10 at Cal State LA, and at most CSU campuses a freshman is not admitted into nursing at all — they enter as pre-nursing and compete for the program later, while transfer applicants apply straight to it. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 59 colleges in California offer a bachelor's nursing program: 58 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a nursing admit rate in the UC/CSU data or a state licensing-board program record.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: West Coast University-Los Angeles (981), West Coast University-Orange County (973), West Coast University-Ontario (874).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Irvine — Nursing Science, Fall 2025: 7,079 applied, 57 admitted (1%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: San Francisco State University — 100.0% (41 applied, 41 admitted, Fall 2025).
- 7 CSU campuses report nursing on the transfer side only: freshmen enter as pre-nursing and apply into the program later.
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: California State University-East Bay, $150,921.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
- Of the 43 programs in California with a published admission path, 15 admit freshmen directly into nursing, 25 start freshmen as pre-nursing, and 3 admit only students who already hold a bachelor's degree.
- NCLEX-RN first-time pass rates (2024/2025, California Board of Registered Nursing) run from 65.7% at Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science to 100.0% at William Jessup University.
A nursing program that reports no first-year row is not 'easy'; it is a program families should plan around the pre-nursing gate, which is often harder than the campus. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1167 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Nursing Science, Fall 2025: 7,079 applied, 57 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Nursing Pre-Licensure, Fall 2025: 41 applied, 41 admitted (transfer path)
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Science
Fall 2025: 7,079 applied, 57 admitted · admit GPA 4.27–4.34
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 91.3% (2024/2025)
|
Nursing Science
47 graduates
|
1% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $119,502 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 1,373 applied, 39 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as pre-nursing
impacted
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 42.3% (for licensed nurses, not a first-degree path)
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 98.8% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
157 graduates
|
2.8% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $111,681 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 8,620 applied, 306 admitted
impacted
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 100.0% (for licensed nurses, not a first-degree path)
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 91.0% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
195 graduates
|
3.5% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $120,799 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 241 applied, 19 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as pre-nursing
impacted
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 86.0% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
90 graduates
|
7.9% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $112,691 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 310 applied, 51 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as pre-nursing
impacted
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 66.7% (for licensed nurses, not a first-degree path)
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 94.7% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
142 graduates
|
16.5% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $111,278 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 343 applied, 64 admitted
impacted
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 48.9% (for licensed nurses, not a first-degree path)
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 94.9% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
333 graduates
|
18.7% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $119,353 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 133 applied, 81 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as pre-nursing
impacted
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 86.8% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
107 graduates
|
60.9% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $150,921 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 90 applied, 66 admitted
impacted
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 55.4% (for licensed nurses, not a first-degree path)
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 95.2% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
278 graduates
|
73.3% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $120,196 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 2,024 applied, 1,746 admitted
impacted
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 100.0% (for licensed nurses, not a first-degree path)
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 96.1% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
147 graduates
|
86.3% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $116,182 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 41 applied, 41 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as pre-nursing
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 81.8% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
196 graduates
|
100.0% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $150,102 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 20 applied, 20 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as pre-nursing
impacted
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 92.5% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
135 graduates
|
100.0% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $126,959 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Nursing Pre-Licensure
Fall 2025: 92 applied, 92 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as pre-nursing
second-degree entry only
NCLEX 85.5% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
132 graduates
|
100.0% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $116,613 |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 78.2% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
120 graduates
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | $149,622 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Only a RN-to-BSN (licensed nurses) row reported — no first-degree gate published
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 37 applied, 34 admitted (91.9%), Fall 2025
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 95.7% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
54 graduates
|
— | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $143,886 |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 89.5% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
227 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | $143,356 |
|
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 92.4% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
41 graduates
|
— | 42% | $41,008 | $49,404 | $140,542 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Only a RN-to-BSN (licensed nurses) row reported — no first-degree gate published
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 71 applied, 19 admitted (26.8%), Fall 2025
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
59 graduates
|
— | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $134,489 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 96.6% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
180 graduates
|
— | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $129,960 |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 84.1% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
172 graduates
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | $119,050 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Only a RN-to-BSN (licensed nurses) row reported — no first-degree gate published
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 234 applied, 186 admitted (79.5%), Fall 2025
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
185 graduates
|
— | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $118,588 |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 92.2% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Other
49 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $118,566 |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 82.2% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
558 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | $118,549 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 93.2% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
113 graduates
|
— | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $117,543 |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 96.3% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
111 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | $114,919 |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 79.3% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
1 graduate
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | $112,178 |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 90.5% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
55 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | $111,200 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Only a RN-to-BSN (licensed nurses) row reported — no first-degree gate published
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 40 applied, 38 admitted (95.0%), Fall 2025
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 94.1% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
161 graduates
|
— | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $109,499 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 86.6% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
179 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $108,157 |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
second-degree entry only
NCLEX 95.1% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
123 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | $105,657 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 93.8% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
87 graduates
|
— | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $102,298 |
|
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 96.2% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
39 graduates
|
— | 65% | $21,241 | $52,665 | $102,239 |
|
West Coast University-Los Angeles
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 90.0% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
981 graduates
|
— | — | $53,020 | — | — |
|
West Coast University-Orange County
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
973 graduates
|
— | — | $32,879 | — | — |
|
West Coast University-Ontario
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
874 graduates
|
— | — | $49,590 | — | — |
|
Samuel Merritt University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 79.2% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
511 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 87.8% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
243 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Only a RN-to-BSN (licensed nurses) row reported — no first-degree gate published
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 84 applied, 20 admitted (23.8%), Fall 2025
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 92.9% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
217 graduates
|
— | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
Loma Linda University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system
NCLEX 91.4% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
160 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Chamberlain University-California
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 79.8% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
151 graduates
|
— | — | $36,559 | — | — |
|
Unitek College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 86.3% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
118 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 93.4% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
91 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
American University of Health Sciences
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 91.0% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
76 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Massachusetts Global
CA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
65 graduates
|
— | — | $32,654 | — | — |
|
Simpson University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 95.3% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
53 graduates
|
— | — | $27,817 | — | — |
|
United States University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
42 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Pacific College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 95.8% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
34 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
21 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 65.7% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
18 graduates
|
— | — | $35,558 | — | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Only a RN-to-BSN (licensed nurses) row reported — no first-degree gate published
Nursing (RN-to-Nursing Degree): 31 applied, 23 admitted (74.2%), Fall 2025
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
12 graduates
|
— | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
Glendale Career College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
9 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
second-degree entry only
NCLEX 92.3% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
8 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
Stanbridge University
CA · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system
freshman direct admit
NCLEX 95.2% (2024/2025)
|
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
7 graduates
|
— | 11% | — | — | — |
|
World Mission University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Nursing Science
7 graduates
|
— | — | $15,785 | — | — |
|
Angeles College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
6 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
The Chicago School at Los Angeles
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Phoenix-California
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Integrity College of Health
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Other
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system
pre-nursing first
NCLEX 100.0% (2024/2025)
|
— | — | — | $28,062 | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/nursing?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a nursing applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as pre-nursing, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A nursing list has a gate at almost every school on it, and the gate is usually a GPA, a science sequence and a test. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359