By major · Animation and Visual Effects
Where can your student actually get into animation and visual effects?
In 2022-23, 93 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in animation and visual effects, 15 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Savannah College of Art and Design, with 519 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · California
- 15 colleges in California offer a bachelor's animation and visual effects program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Los Angeles Film School (85), Art Center College of Design (79), Academy of Art University (74).
- Lowest average net price with aid: California College of ASU, $17,683 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 93 colleges nationwide →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Los Angeles Film School
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
85 graduates
|
— | — | $30,980 | — | — |
|
Art Center College of Design
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
79 graduates
|
— | 75% | $48,661 | $75,649 | — |
|
Academy of Art University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
74 graduates
|
— | — | $40,613 | — | — |
|
California College of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
46 graduates
|
— | 73% | $53,909 | $79,776 | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
45 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
California Institute of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
35 graduates
|
— | 26% | $46,080 | $77,560 | — |
|
Laguna College of Art and Design
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
26 graduates
|
— | — | $42,505 | — | — |
|
University of Silicon Valley
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
26 graduates
|
— | — | $27,815 | — | — |
|
Woodbury University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
24 graduates
|
— | 73% | $33,692 | $58,010 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
14 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
12 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
California College of ASU
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
12 graduates
|
— | — | $17,683 | — | — |
|
Laurus College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
9 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Newschool of Architecture and Design
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
4 graduates
|
— | — | $52,570 | — | — |
|
New York Film Academy
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/animation-and-visual-effects?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a animation and visual effects applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 93 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359