At a glance · California

  • 50 colleges in California offer a bachelor's accounting program: 31 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 14 more report an accounting admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 5 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: California State University-Northridge (243), Ashford University (162), Santa Clara University (84).
  • Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): San Diego State University — Accountancy, Fall 2025: 1,476 applied, 413 admitted (28.0%).
  • Highest reported admit rate into the program: Sonoma State University — 96.5% (172 applied, 166 admitted, Fall 2025).
  • Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Santa Clara University, $130,087.
  • Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-San Bernardino, $4,564 per year.

A blank first-year rate is not an open door: the CSU campuses without an accountancy row are not reporting accounting as a separate first-year major, and the data holds no admit rates by major for private colleges. Where a campus does report a rate, like San Diego State's 28.0%, that is the number your student is actually applying against. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1127 colleges nationwide →

Hardest reported gate

28.0%
San Diego State University
Accountancy, Fall 2025: 1,476 applied, 413 admitted

Highest reported admit rate

96.5%
Sonoma State University
Accountancy, Fall 2025: 172 applied, 166 admitted

Highest earnings, 4 yrs out

$130,087
Santa Clara University
median, graduates of this program

Lowest net price with aid

$4,564
California State University-San Bernardino
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 1,476 applied, 413 admitted
impacted
— 28.0% 34% $15,364 $27,780 $80,011
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 1,741 applied, 584 admitted
impacted
— 33.5% 47% $10,440 $22,679 $74,839
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 544 applied, 419 admitted
impacted
Accounting Information Systems: 86.4%
— 77.0% 80% $13,760 $26,593 —
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 1,152 applied, 920 admitted
— 79.9% 74% $11,531 $23,955 —
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 383 applied, 313 admitted
— 81.7% 88% $5,652 $19,522 —
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 173 applied, 159 admitted
— 91.9% 97% $9,320 $22,850 —
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 451 applied, 419 admitted
Accounting
243 graduates
92.9% 93% $7,021 $20,485 $92,329
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 327 applied, 304 admitted
— 93.0% 94% $14,480 $26,283 $85,612
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 475 applied, 442 admitted
— 93.1% 96% $12,278 $26,488 $81,587
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 15 applied, 14 admitted
— 93.3% 95% $13,663 $26,987 —
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 105 applied, 98 admitted
— 93.3% 98% $6,067 $19,739 —
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 279 applied, 263 admitted
— 94.3% 98% $4,564 $17,427 $59,367
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 521 applied, 497 admitted
— 95.4% 91% $8,615 $23,191 —
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 397 applied, 381 admitted
— 96.0% 94% $9,338 $22,945 —
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Accountancy
Fall 2025: 172 applied, 166 admitted
— 96.5% 95% $12,885 $24,648 —
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting +1
84 graduates
— 44% $50,062 $82,026 $130,087
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system — — 10% $32,740 $90,300 $121,101
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
40 graduates
— 40% $48,381 $83,943 $111,733
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
57 graduates
— 47% $30,365 $78,720 $109,142
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
16 graduates
— 89% $30,378 $77,659 $107,570
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
48 graduates
— 56% $46,555 $83,146 $102,147
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
23 graduates
— 51% $41,431 $80,141 $95,973
Menlo College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
24 graduates
— 68% $31,100 $72,020 $93,619
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
15 graduates
— 60% $31,495 $62,757 $91,330
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
28 graduates
— 89% $30,109 $68,426 $89,573
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 96% $10,229 $21,649 $86,318
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
29 graduates
— 74% $26,285 $54,038 $81,150
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
5 graduates
— 81% $30,031 $76,630 $79,833
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
22 graduates
— 48% $20,161 $62,278 $77,520
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
6 graduates
— 69% $21,413 $66,726 $74,449
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 96% $7,000 $20,095 $65,200
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
4 graduates
— 93% $45,566 $51,459 $59,153
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
162 graduates
— — $31,266 — —
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
50 graduates
— — $22,878 — —
Touro University Worldwide
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Accounting and Business/Management
43 graduates
— — $19,058 — —
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
20 graduates
— 82% $38,729 $60,488 —
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
18 graduates
— 80% $22,212 $56,313 —
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
16 graduates
— 50% $58,098 $93,512 —
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
15 graduates
— 95% $25,447 $71,515 —
University of Phoenix-California
CA · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Accounting +1
14 graduates
— — — — —
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
10 graduates
— 11% $28,849 $86,500 —
Golden Gate University
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
6 graduates
— — — — —
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
5 graduates
— 65% $21,241 $52,665 —
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
3 graduates
— 58% $13,630 $44,249 —
Humphreys University-Stockton and Modesto Campuses
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
3 graduates
— — $5,524 — —
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
2 graduates
— 17% $34,191 $86,466 —
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
1 graduate
— 34% $36,294 $87,564 —
Woodbury University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Accounting
1 graduate
— 73% $33,692 $58,010 —
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 30% $16,665 $32,265 —
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system — — 87% $6,555 $18,269 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/accounting?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a accounting applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

Aerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

A workable accounting list has campuses spread across that admit-rate range and a net price you have looked up for each one, not just for the school at the top. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359