By major · Information Systems
Where can your student actually get into information systems?
Information systems is the computing major that sits closest to the business side of an organization, and in California the entry numbers are nowhere near the same from one campus to the next. UC Irvine reported 613 applied and 121 admitted in Business Information Management, a 20% rate, while Cal State Channel Islands admitted 52 of 53 applicants to information technology. Across the state, 42 colleges report a bachelor's program in this field, and the highest median pay among them four years after the degree belongs to Santa Clara University at $153,926. Every number below is the college systems' own reporting and the federal earnings data, put in one place.
At a glance · California
- 42 colleges in California offer a bachelor's information systems program: 31 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 7 more report an information systems admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 4 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Ashford University (228), University of California-San Diego (200), University of California-Irvine (151).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Irvine — Business Information Management, Fall 2025: 613 applied, 121 admitted (20%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Channel Islands — 98.1% (53 applied, 52 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Santa Clara University, $153,926.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
A missing first-year row for information systems does not mean the door is shut; it means the college has not published a separate admission rate for this major, so the number is not available even though the program is there. Where a rate is reported, read it next to the campus rate, because at the UCs the admission decision is made for the campus and not for the major at most programs. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 874 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Business Information Management, Fall 2025: 613 applied, 121 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Information Technology, Fall 2025: 53 applied, 52 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Business Information Management
Fall 2025: 613 applied, 121 admitted · admit GPA 4.09–4.28
Informatics: 35%
|
Informatics +1
151 graduates
|
20% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $108,038 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 542 applied, 146 admitted
impacted
Informatics: 40.5%
|
— | 26.9% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $76,664 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 455 applied, 125 admitted
impacted
|
— | 27.5% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 257 applied, 195 admitted
|
— | 75.9% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Technology And Information Management
Fall 2025: 556 applied, 425 admitted · admit GPA 3.79–4.15
|
Computer/Information Technology Services Administration and Management, Other
91 graduates
|
76% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $94,589 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 141 applied, 122 admitted
|
— | 86.5% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 24 applied, 21 admitted
|
— | 87.5% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 57 applied, 50 admitted
Management Information Systems: 87.2% · Production/Operations Information Systems: 89.5%
|
Information Technology
68 graduates
|
87.7% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 378 applied, 337 admitted
impacted
Information Science/Studies: 84.2%
|
Information Science/Studies
7 graduates
|
89.2% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Technology
Fall 2025: 43 applied, 39 admitted
Information Systems: 93.5%
|
Information Technology
19 graduates
|
90.7% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 222 applied, 202 admitted
|
Information Technology
86 graduates
|
91.0% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 167 applied, 153 admitted
|
Information Technology
43 graduates
|
91.6% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $88,999 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 291 applied, 270 admitted
|
Information Technology
129 graduates
|
92.8% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 396 applied, 376 admitted
|
— | 94.9% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Systems
Fall 2025: 249 applied, 237 admitted
|
— | 95.2% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | — |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Information Technology
Fall 2025: 53 applied, 52 admitted
|
Information Technology
30 graduates
|
98.1% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Management Information Systems, General
42 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | $153,926 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $93,047 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $76,482 |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology +2
228 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology
200 graduates
|
— | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Science/Studies
64 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Management Information Systems, General +1
60 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
DeVry University-California
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Systems Analysis/Analyst +2
41 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology +1
33 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology
13 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Informatics
12 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Science/Studies
10 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | — |
|
Laurus College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer Support Specialist
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Los Angeles Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Management Information Systems, General
7 graduates
|
— | — | $22,677 | — | — |
|
Platt College-Los Angeles
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information Assurance
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology
7 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
Alliant International University-San Diego
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Science/Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 3% | $16,075 | $86,886 | — |
|
University of Phoenix-California
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
United States University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Westcliff University
CA · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology
2 graduates
|
— | 45% | $35,426 | $44,210 | — |
|
Bethesda University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology
1 graduate
|
— | — | $11,097 | — | — |
|
Simpson University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Management Information Systems, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $27,817 | — | — |
|
University of Massachusetts Global
CA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Information Technology
1 graduate
|
— | — | $32,654 | — | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/information-systems?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a information systems applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A list for information systems needs both kinds of campus on it, the ones that publish an admission rate for the program and the ones that report no separate rate for it, so nothing rests on a single door. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359