By major · History
Where can your student study history, and what does the degree pay?
History is the major where the campus decides almost everything. 69 colleges in California report a bachelor's history program in federal outcome data or a history admit rate in the UC and CSU data, and the reported rates run from 138 admitted out of 1,065 applicants at UC Berkeley to 80 out of 81 at Sonoma State. At the UC campuses the decision is made by the campus rather than by the history department, so a hard number there is telling you about the school and not about the major. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 69 colleges in California offer a bachelor's history program: 68 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a history admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Los Angeles (222), University of California-Santa Barbara (142), California State University-Sacramento (135).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — History, Fall 2025: 1,065 applied, 138 admitted (13%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: Sonoma State University — 98.8% (81 applied, 80 admitted, Fall 2025).
- 1 CSU campus report history on the transfer side only: freshmen enter as another major or undeclared and apply into the program later.
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of Southern California, $79,940.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
Cal State Monterey Bay reports history on the transfer side only, which means it published no first-year row for the major: freshmen there start in another major or undeclared and declare history later, while transfer applicants apply straight into it. Everywhere else in this data history reports a first-year number, so the gate a family plans around is admission to the campus itself. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1173 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
History, Fall 2025: 1,065 applied, 138 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
History, Fall 2025: 81 applied, 80 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 1,065 applied, 138 admitted · admit GPA 4.17–4.30
|
History, General
90 graduates
|
13% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $64,755 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 849 applied, 312 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.26
|
History, General
63 graduates
|
37% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $53,481 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 1,005 applied, 391 admitted · admit GPA 4.10–4.29
|
History, General
60 graduates
|
39% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $61,745 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 1,154 applied, 468 admitted · admit GPA 4.07–4.27
History Of Public Policy And Law: 42%
|
History, General +1
142 graduates
|
41% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $59,342 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 470 applied, 260 admitted
impacted
|
History, General
131 graduates
|
55.3% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $52,423 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 581 applied, 323 admitted
impacted
|
History, General
53 graduates
|
55.6% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $66,518 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 797 applied, 471 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
|
History, General
101 graduates
|
59% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $57,734 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 602 applied, 419 admitted
impacted
|
History, General
80 graduates
|
69.6% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $57,861 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 684 applied, 489 admitted · admit GPA 3.83–4.22
|
History, General
93 graduates
|
71% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $60,519 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 33 applied, 26 admitted
|
History, General
34 graduates
|
78.8% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $65,217 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 142 applied, 117 admitted
impacted
|
History, General
54 graduates
|
82.4% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 98 applied, 82 admitted
|
History, General
57 graduates
|
83.7% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $56,081 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 117 applied, 103 admitted
|
History, General
46 graduates
|
88.0% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $49,351 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 365 applied, 323 admitted
impacted
|
History, General
115 graduates
|
88.5% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $48,309 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 166 applied, 149 admitted
|
History, General
61 graduates
|
89.8% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $58,717 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 359 applied, 326 admitted · admit GPA 3.54–4.10
|
History, General
14 graduates
|
91% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | $44,144 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 497 applied, 455 admitted · admit GPA 3.56–4.14
|
History, General +1
98 graduates
|
92% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $51,913 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 127 applied, 117 admitted
|
History, General
21 graduates
|
92.1% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $42,119 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 206 applied, 191 admitted
|
History, General
57 graduates
|
92.7% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $55,413 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 41 applied, 38 admitted
|
History, General
45 graduates
|
92.7% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $49,882 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 213 applied, 200 admitted
|
History, General
96 graduates
|
93.9% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $45,821 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 76 applied, 72 admitted
|
History, General
32 graduates
|
94.7% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $42,229 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 254 applied, 241 admitted
|
History, General
81 graduates
|
94.9% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $51,217 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 157 applied, 150 admitted
|
History, General
24 graduates
|
95.5% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 114 applied, 109 admitted
|
History, General
96 graduates
|
95.6% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $51,676 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 194 applied, 186 admitted
|
History, General
135 graduates
|
95.9% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $55,797 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 159 applied, 153 admitted
|
History, General
73 graduates
|
96.2% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $52,985 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 136 applied, 131 admitted
|
History, General +1
99 graduates
|
96.3% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $44,655 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 54 applied, 52 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as another major or undeclared
|
— | 96.3% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
History
Fall 2025: 81 applied, 80 admitted
|
History, General
50 graduates
|
98.8% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $56,819 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, Other +1
72 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $79,940 |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
222 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $59,555 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
16 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $54,239 |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
33 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
22 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
22 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
18 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | — |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
17 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
16 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
15 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
14 graduates
|
— | 65% | $21,241 | $52,665 | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
13 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
12 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
12 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
9 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | — |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
9 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
8 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
8 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
7 graduates
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | — |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
7 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
7 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
7 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
6 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
5 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
5 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
5 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
University of Saint Katherine
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
5 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
5 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
4 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
4 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | $28,062 | — | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
3 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
2 graduates
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | — |
|
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
2 graduates
|
— | 42% | $41,008 | $49,404 | — |
|
Simpson University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | $27,817 | — | — |
|
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
1 graduate
|
— | 3% | $16,075 | $86,886 | — |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | — |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | — |
|
The Master's University and Seminary
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
History, General
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $32,647 | $54,845 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/history?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a history applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as another major or undeclared, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
Because the campus is the gate, a history list should be built on what each school costs your family after aid and what its graduates earn four years out. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359