By major · Economics
Where can your student actually get into economics?
Economics shows up at 55 colleges in California, and the admit numbers behind that one word are nothing alike. Students who applied to UC Berkeley for economics were admitted at 5%; at Cal State Fresno the reported rate was 95.9%. A UC admits the student to the campus rather than to the major, so a percentage like Berkeley's describes how the year went for the applicants who named economics, not a separate door they had to pass. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 55 colleges in California offer a bachelor's economics program: 54 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Irvine (959), University of California-Los Angeles (772), University of California-Berkeley (753).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Economics, Fall 2025: 5,345 applied, 264 admitted (5%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fresno — 95.9% (97 applied, 93 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Claremont McKenna College, $146,524.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
A college here with no first-year admit row is not easier or harder than the rest; it means only that its system does not publish admissions by major, so a private college like Claremont McKenna appears through federal outcome data alone. Where a campus does report a rate, at a UC it is the campus decision for students who named economics, and at a CSU it is that campus's own reported decision for applicants to the major. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 772 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Economics, Fall 2025: 5,345 applied, 264 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Economics, Fall 2025: 97 applied, 93 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 5,345 applied, 264 admitted · admit GPA 4.13–4.28
|
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
753 graduates
|
5% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $135,050 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Business Economics
Fall 2025: 9,040 applied, 1,937 admitted · admit GPA 4.13–4.29
Economics: 31%
|
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics +1
323 graduates
|
21% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $87,307 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 1,665 applied, 539 admitted
impacted
|
Economics, General
58 graduates
|
32.4% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $98,927 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 2,307 applied, 758 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.23
Business Economics: 26% · Quantitative Economics: 34%
|
Business/Managerial Economics +2
959 graduates
|
33% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $83,937 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 7,758 applied, 3,020 admitted · admit GPA 4.05–4.28
Economics And Accounting: 35%
|
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
661 graduates
|
39% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $98,178 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Business Economics
Fall 2025: 678 applied, 382 admitted
impacted
Quantitative Economics: 44.9% · Economics: 73.3%
|
Economics, General +1
116 graduates
|
56.3% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $73,980 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 1,440 applied, 818 admitted
impacted
|
Economics, General
194 graduates
|
56.8% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $74,123 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 4,080 applied, 2,335 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.23
Managerial Economics: 81%
|
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
392 graduates
|
57% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $87,455 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 1,452 applied, 1,027 admitted · admit GPA 3.80–4.16
Global Economics: 71%
|
Business/Managerial Economics +3
436 graduates
|
71% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $82,064 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 24 applied, 20 admitted
|
Economics, General
15 graduates
|
83.3% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $78,029 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 30 applied, 25 admitted
|
Economics, General
8 graduates
|
83.3% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $69,967 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Business Economics
Fall 2025: 180 applied, 154 admitted
Economics: 87.0%
|
Economics, General
24 graduates
|
85.6% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $67,155 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Quantitative Economics
Fall 2025: 334 applied, 290 admitted
impacted
Economics: 82.4%
|
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics +1
99 graduates
|
86.8% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Business Economics
Fall 2025: 329 applied, 292 admitted
Economics: 85.3%
|
Economics, General
16 graduates
|
88.8% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $54,998 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 73 applied, 65 admitted
|
Economics, General
6 graduates
|
89.0% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $71,662 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 234 applied, 209 admitted
|
Economics, General
164 graduates
|
89.3% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $70,290 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 196 applied, 177 admitted
|
Economics, General
6 graduates
|
90.3% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $61,175 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 84 applied, 76 admitted
|
Economics, General
11 graduates
|
90.5% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $54,060 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 350 applied, 317 admitted
impacted
|
Economics, General
39 graduates
|
90.6% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $71,595 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 206 applied, 187 admitted
|
Economics, General
42 graduates
|
90.8% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $82,697 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 264 applied, 241 admitted
|
Economics, General
68 graduates
|
91.3% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $72,890 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 149 applied, 137 admitted
|
Economics, General
27 graduates
|
91.9% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $67,675 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Management And Business Economics
Fall 2025: 3,419 applied, 3,149 admitted · admit GPA 3.45–4.04
Economics: 93%
|
Economics, General
25 graduates
|
92% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | $67,692 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Business Economics
Fall 2025: 2,839 applied, 2,598 admitted · admit GPA 3.52–4.10
Economics: 90% · Economics/Administrative Studies: 92%
|
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics +1
299 graduates
|
92% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $66,682 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Quantitative Economics
Fall 2025: 518 applied, 479 admitted
|
Economics, General
55 graduates
|
92.5% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $61,084 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 162 applied, 150 admitted
|
Economics, General
50 graduates
|
92.6% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $83,339 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Economics
Fall 2025: 97 applied, 93 admitted
|
Economics, General
31 graduates
|
95.9% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $66,749 |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
98 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | $146,524 |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics +1
772 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $129,425 |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General +1
79 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | $121,307 |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
106 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | $112,700 |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General
31 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | $104,943 |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
63 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | $103,164 |
|
Northeastern University Oakland
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 16% | $25,181 | $85,418 | $101,423 |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
59 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | $96,702 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
159 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $94,435 |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
22 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | $93,712 |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
49 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | $88,682 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Business/Managerial Economics
57 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $84,978 |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Business/Managerial Economics
52 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | $84,815 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics +1
14 graduates
|
— | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $83,668 |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics +1
6 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | $79,510 |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
29 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | — |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Business/Managerial Economics
20 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Econometrics and Quantitative Economics
20 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General
19 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General
15 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General +1
14 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Business/Managerial Economics
9 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General
8 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General +1
8 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Development Economics and International Development
5 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General
2 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General
1 graduate
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Economics, General
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/economics?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a economics applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A list for economics needs campuses from both ends of that admit range and a look at what each one costs after aid, since 55 colleges in California offer the major. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359