By major · Urban Studies
Where can your student actually get into urban studies?
In 2022-23, 65 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in urban studies, 10 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of California-Irvine, with 50 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · California
- 11 colleges in California offer a bachelor's urban studies program: 10 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Irvine (50), University of California-Berkeley (35), University of California-San Diego (28).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Urban Studies, Fall 2025: 318 applied, 42 admitted (13%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Northridge — 92.5% (80 applied, 74 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-San Bernardino, $4,564 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 66 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Urban Studies, Fall 2025: 318 applied, 42 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Urban Studies, Fall 2025: 80 applied, 74 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Urban Studies
Fall 2025: 318 applied, 42 admitted · admit GPA 4.18–4.30
|
Urban Studies/Affairs
35 graduates
|
13% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Urban Studies
Fall 2025: 445 applied, 263 admitted · admit GPA 3.95–4.21
|
Urban Studies/Affairs
50 graduates
|
59% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Urban Studies
Fall 2025: 228 applied, 181 admitted
impacted
|
Urban Studies/Affairs
17 graduates
|
79.4% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Urban Studies
Fall 2025: 59 applied, 53 admitted
|
Urban Studies/Affairs
9 graduates
|
89.8% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Urban Studies
Fall 2025: 80 applied, 74 admitted
|
Urban Studies/Affairs
25 graduates
|
92.5% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | — |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Urban Studies/Affairs
28 graduates
|
— | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Urban Studies/Affairs
14 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Urban Studies/Affairs
8 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Urban Studies/Affairs
4 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Urban Studies/Affairs
3 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/urban-studies?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a urban studies applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 65 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359