By major · Art History
Where can your student study art history, and what will it cost?
Art history is one major, but the reported numbers are not close to each other. At UCLA, 526 students applied naming art history and 46 were admitted, 9%; at Cal State Channel Islands, 28 applied and 28 were admitted, 100.0%. In all, 39 colleges in California report a bachelor's art history program in federal outcome data or an art history admit rate in the UC/CSU data, and the lowest price after aid among them is $4,564 a year at Cal State San Bernardino. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 39 colleges in California offer a bachelor's art history program: 30 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 9 more report an art history admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Los Angeles (68), University of California-Santa Barbara (41), University of California-Santa Cruz (30).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Art History, Fall 2025: 526 applied, 46 admitted (9%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-San Bernardino — 100.0% (14 applied, 14 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-San Bernardino, $4,564 per year.
A college here with no first-year number is not reporting art history separately, so there is no admit rate for the major to read and the campus decision is the one that applies. At the UC campuses the row shows what happened to students who named art history on the application rather than a decision made by an art history department, and the reported rates run from 9% at UCLA to 88% at UC Riverside. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 338 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Art History, Fall 2025: 526 applied, 46 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Art History, Fall 2025: 14 applied, 14 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 526 applied, 46 admitted · admit GPA 4.22–4.30
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
68 graduates
|
9% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 270 applied, 105 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
24 graduates
|
39% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 917 applied, 400 admitted · admit GPA 4.04–4.26
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
41 graduates
|
44% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 236 applied, 158 admitted · admit GPA 3.88–4.21
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
14 graduates
|
67% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 81 applied, 55 admitted
impacted
|
— | 67.9% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 26 applied, 18 admitted
impacted
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
4 graduates
|
69.2% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 95 applied, 72 admitted
impacted
|
— | 75.8% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 216 applied, 165 admitted · admit GPA 3.75–4.19
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
30 graduates
|
76% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 84 applied, 71 admitted
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
12 graduates
|
84.5% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 55 applied, 47 admitted
impacted
|
— | 85.5% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | — |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 14 applied, 12 admitted
|
— | 85.7% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 47 applied, 41 admitted
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
23 graduates
|
87.2% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 161 applied, 141 admitted · admit GPA 3.50–4.03
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
14 graduates
|
88% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 20 applied, 18 admitted
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
8 graduates
|
90.0% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 21 applied, 19 admitted
|
— | 90.5% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 48 applied, 44 admitted
|
— | 91.7% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 23 applied, 22 admitted
|
— | 95.7% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 14 applied, 14 admitted
|
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
7 graduates
|
100.0% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | — |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 28 applied, 28 admitted
|
— | 100.0% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Art History
Fall 2025: 25 applied, 25 admitted
|
— | 100.0% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
30 graduates
|
— | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
13 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
9 graduates
|
— | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
7 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
7 graduates
|
— | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
6 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
6 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
4 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
4 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
3 graduates
|
— | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
3 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Academy of Art University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
2 graduates
|
— | — | $40,613 | — | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
2 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
2 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
2 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
2 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
1 graduate
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/art-history?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a art history applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A list for art history needs the reported rate where a campus publishes one, the price after aid, and a look at what each department gives students to work with, which lives on the department's own page rather than in this data. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359