By major · Electrical Engineering
Where can your student actually get into electrical engineering?
In California, 33 colleges report an electrical engineering program, and the admit rates at them are nothing alike. UCLA reported 3,053 applicants and 265 admitted students in electrical engineering, a 9% rate, while Sonoma State University reported 94.8%. The UC campuses report that rate by the major a student applied under, but a UC admits a student to the campus rather than to the major, so the major line tells you who applied and who was admitted, not what the major itself decided. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 33 colleges in California offer a bachelor's electrical engineering program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Berkeley (456), University of California-San Diego (189), California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo (159).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Electrical Engineering, Fall 2025: 3,053 applied, 265 admitted (9%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: Sonoma State University — 94.8% (252 applied, 239 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of California-Berkeley, $200,543.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
A college here that shows earnings but no first-year row is not missing a gate; its admissions simply are not part of the UC or CSU major reporting. Where a first-year row does exist, it counts the students who applied under electrical engineering at that campus, so read it against the other electrical engineering rows rather than against the campus admit rate. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 385 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Electrical Engineering, Fall 2025: 3,053 applied, 265 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Electrical Engineering, Fall 2025: 252 applied, 239 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 3,053 applied, 265 admitted · admit GPA 4.25–4.30
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
128 graduates
|
9% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $126,209 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 2,617 applied, 721 admitted · admit GPA 4.20–4.30
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
58 graduates
|
28% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $117,215 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,996 applied, 719 admitted
impacted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
159 graduates
|
36.0% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $125,240 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,351 applied, 528 admitted
impacted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
101 graduates
|
39.1% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $106,416 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,513 applied, 658 admitted
impacted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
113 graduates
|
43.5% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $103,075 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,548 applied, 729 admitted
impacted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
123 graduates
|
47.1% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $103,924 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 777 applied, 473 admitted
impacted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
108 graduates
|
60.9% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 2,429 applied, 1,797 admitted · admit GPA 3.86–4.22
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
29 graduates
|
74% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $118,290 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,651 applied, 1,327 admitted · admit GPA 3.70–4.18
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
58 graduates
|
80% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $102,630 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,049 applied, 896 admitted
impacted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
66 graduates
|
85.4% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $92,618 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 689 applied, 597 admitted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
21 graduates
|
86.6% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $97,998 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 530 applied, 466 admitted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
31 graduates
|
87.9% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $112,454 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Fall 2025: 318 applied, 282 admitted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
29 graduates
|
88.7% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 734 applied, 657 admitted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
67 graduates
|
89.5% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $104,065 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,086 applied, 993 admitted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
51 graduates
|
91.4% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $96,014 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Fall 2025: 562 applied, 517 admitted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
95 graduates
|
92.0% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $103,512 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 287 applied, 267 admitted
impacted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
12 graduates
|
93.0% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $108,038 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 689 applied, 647 admitted
impacted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
16 graduates
|
93.9% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Electrical Engineering
Fall 2025: 252 applied, 239 admitted
|
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
20 graduates
|
94.8% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $112,757 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
456 graduates
|
— | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $200,543 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Computer Engineering +1
65 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $131,532 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
189 graduates
|
— | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $118,150 |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
28 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | $110,314 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
96 graduates
|
— | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $106,871 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
99 graduates
|
— | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
30 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Southern California Institute of Technology
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
27 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Computer Engineering
18 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
17 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
16 graduates
|
— | 3% | $16,075 | $86,886 | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
13 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
10 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Electrical and Electronics Engineering
10 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/electrical-engineering?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a electrical engineering applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
An electrical engineering list needs campuses from across that range, because a student can only enroll where they are admitted and the reported rates run from 9% to 94.8% for the same major. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359