By major · Criminal Justice and Criminology
Where can your student actually get into criminal justice?
In California, criminal justice is mostly a Cal State major, and the same degree name means very different odds from one campus to the next. For Fall 2025, Cal State Long Beach admitted 1,101 of 3,544 first-year applicants to criminal justice, or 31.1%, while Cal State Fresno admitted 95.5% of the freshmen who applied to its criminal justice major. Sonoma State reports the highest median pay four years after the degree, $66,892, and San Diego Christian College the lowest average net price, $992 a year. All 44 California colleges below come from the college systems' own reporting and the federal earnings data, gathered in one place.
At a glance · California
- 44 colleges in California offer a bachelor's criminal justice program: 43 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: California State University-Sacramento (536), California State University-Northridge (436), San Diego State University (402).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State University-Long Beach — Criminal Justice, Fall 2025: 3,544 applied, 1,101 admitted (31.1%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fresno — 95.5% (779 applied, 744 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Sonoma State University, $66,892.
- Lowest average net price with aid: San Diego Christian College, $992 per year.
A college with no first-year row here is not reporting its admissions by major, so the campus admit rate is the number to plan around and the department's own requirements are worth asking about directly. Where a Cal State does report the major, the major is its own gate, and San Diego State admitted 35.5% of first-year applicants to criminal justice for Fall 2025. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1043 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Criminal Justice, Fall 2025: 3,544 applied, 1,101 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Criminal Justice, Fall 2025: 779 applied, 744 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 3,544 applied, 1,101 admitted
impacted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
286 graduates
|
31.1% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $58,513 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 2,496 applied, 886 admitted
impacted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
402 graduates
|
35.5% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $57,510 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 847 applied, 670 admitted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
167 graduates
|
79.1% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $53,715 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 2,161 applied, 1,744 admitted
impacted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
331 graduates
|
80.7% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $57,135 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 825 applied, 697 admitted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
143 graduates
|
84.5% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $58,464 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 925 applied, 787 admitted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
196 graduates
|
85.1% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $63,764 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 473 applied, 406 admitted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
162 graduates
|
85.8% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $64,835 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminology
Fall 2025: 1,381 applied, 1,202 admitted
|
Criminology
92 graduates
|
87.0% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminology
Fall 2025: 620 applied, 541 admitted
impacted
Criminology and Criminal Justice Studies: 79.1%
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
201 graduates
|
87.3% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 1,336 applied, 1,194 admitted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
436 graduates
|
89.4% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $54,169 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminology
Fall 2025: 571 applied, 518 admitted
|
Criminology
24 graduates
|
90.7% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $55,174 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 2,248 applied, 2,064 admitted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
367 graduates
|
91.8% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $54,695 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 1,217 applied, 1,118 admitted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
536 graduates
|
91.9% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $62,583 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 777 applied, 717 admitted
Law Enforcement Intelligence Analysis: 92.1%
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
317 graduates
|
92.3% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $54,275 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminology
Fall 2025: 1,229 applied, 1,135 admitted
|
Criminology
226 graduates
|
92.4% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $55,418 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 1,180 applied, 1,099 admitted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
170 graduates
|
93.1% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $57,727 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminology and Criminal Justice Studies
Fall 2025: 536 applied, 501 admitted
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
56 graduates
|
93.5% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $66,892 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 513 applied, 488 admitted
Criminology: 100.0% · Corrections: 94.1%
|
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
179 graduates
|
95.1% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $51,740 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Criminal Justice
Fall 2025: 779 applied, 744 admitted
Criminology: 95.6% · Corrections: 94.5%
|
Criminology
346 graduates
|
95.5% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $53,438 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
59 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $65,603 |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminology
39 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | $63,433 |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
23 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | $59,183 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminology
367 graduates
|
— | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $57,935 |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
61 graduates
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | $53,902 |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminology
35 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | $47,273 |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies +1
374 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
103 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
University of Massachusetts Global
CA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
39 graduates
|
— | — | $32,654 | — | — |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminology +1
36 graduates
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration +1
24 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
University of Phoenix-California
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
18 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
DeVry University-California
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
12 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminology
12 graduates
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | — |
|
Platt College-Ontario
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
11 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Antelope Valley
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
10 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Hope International University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
8 graduates
|
— | — | $29,310 | — | — |
|
Humphreys University-Stockton and Modesto Campuses
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
7 graduates
|
— | — | $5,524 | — | — |
|
Los Angeles Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
6 graduates
|
— | — | $22,677 | — | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
5 graduates
|
— | — | $28,062 | — | — |
|
Platt College-Riverside
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Woodbury University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Safety Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 73% | $33,692 | $58,010 | — |
|
Abraham Lincoln University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
1 graduate
|
— | — | $28,584 | — | — |
|
San Diego Christian College
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
1 graduate
|
— | — | $992 | — | — |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/criminal-justice?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a criminal justice applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A criminal justice list needs campuses from both ends of that range, since the same degree name can admit 31.1% of first-year applicants at one Cal State and 95.5% at another. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359