By major · Political Science
Where can your student actually get into political science?
Political science is a major where the campus does most of the sorting, not the department. In Fall 2025 the same major shows 11% admitted at UC Berkeley and 93.0% at Cal State LA, and at most UC campuses a student is admitted to the campus rather than to a particular major. The name moves around too, so UC Santa Cruz calls it Politics and the CSU reports it as Political Science/Government. Every number below is the college system's own reporting and the federal earnings data, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 67 colleges in California offer a bachelor's political science program: 66 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a political science admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Los Angeles (601), University of California-Davis (413), University of California-Berkeley (395).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Political Science, Fall 2025: 4,295 applied, 477 admitted (11%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Monterey Bay — 100.0% (20 applied, 20 admitted, Fall 2025).
- 1 CSU campus report political science on the transfer side only: freshmen enter as a pre-major and apply into the program later.
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Claremont McKenna College, $96,520.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
At the UC, admission at most programs is to the campus rather than to the major, so the number next to political science mostly tells you how hard that campus was to enter. A campus with no first-year row is not closed to freshmen: the CSU reported the major on the transfer side only, which means a freshman enters as a pre-major and applies into it later. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1079 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Political Science, Fall 2025: 4,295 applied, 477 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Political Science/Government, Fall 2025: 20 applied, 20 admitted (transfer path)
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science
Fall 2025: 4,295 applied, 477 admitted · admit GPA 4.16–4.29
|
Political Science and Government, General
395 graduates
|
11% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $75,128 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 2,113 applied, 734 admitted
impacted
|
Political Science and Government, General
84 graduates
|
34.7% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $81,843 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science
Fall 2025: 1,961 applied, 696 admitted · admit GPA 4.09–4.28
Political Science - Public Law: 27% · Political Science - International Relations: 38% · Political Science - Public Policy: 39% · Political Science - American Politics: 24% · Political Science - Comparative Politics: 25%
|
Political Science and Government, General +2
351 graduates
|
35% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $67,713 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science
Fall 2025: 3,030 applied, 1,125 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.26
|
Political Science and Government, General
252 graduates
|
37% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $63,318 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science
Fall 2025: 4,448 applied, 1,779 admitted · admit GPA 4.09–4.28
|
Political Science and Government, General
282 graduates
|
40% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $70,384 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 1,899 applied, 936 admitted
impacted
|
Political Science and Government, General
197 graduates
|
49.3% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $59,787 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science
Fall 2025: 1,976 applied, 1,053 admitted · admit GPA 4.03–4.26
Political Science - Public Service: 54% · International Relations: 68%
|
Political Science and Government, General +2
413 graduates
|
53% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $67,759 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 2,451 applied, 1,307 admitted
impacted
|
Political Science and Government, General +1
204 graduates
|
53.3% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $64,824 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Politics
Fall 2025: 1,699 applied, 1,284 admitted · admit GPA 3.85–4.21
|
Political Science and Government, General
110 graduates
|
76% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $65,890 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 651 applied, 541 admitted
impacted
|
Political Science and Government, General
69 graduates
|
83.1% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 293 applied, 258 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
22 graduates
|
88.1% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $51,882 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 264 applied, 235 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
48 graduates
|
89.0% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $71,022 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 477 applied, 431 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General +1
68 graduates
|
90.4% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $61,293 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 198 applied, 181 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
24 graduates
|
91.4% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $58,306 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 1,136 applied, 1,039 admitted
impacted
|
Political Science and Government, General
114 graduates
|
91.5% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $53,966 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science
Fall 2025: 1,529 applied, 1,416 admitted · admit GPA 3.55–4.14
|
Political Science and Government, General +2
313 graduates
|
93% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $56,740 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 674 applied, 627 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
106 graduates
|
93.0% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $56,063 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 445 applied, 414 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
27 graduates
|
93.0% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $41,994 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 383 applied, 359 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
36 graduates
|
93.7% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $59,558 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 465 applied, 441 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
62 graduates
|
94.8% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $50,857 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 869 applied, 825 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
188 graduates
|
94.9% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $57,527 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 668 applied, 635 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
168 graduates
|
95.1% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $60,278 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 602 applied, 573 admitted
International Relations/International Affairs: 92.2%
|
Political Science and Government, General +1
142 graduates
|
95.2% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $65,775 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 947 applied, 902 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
92 graduates
|
95.2% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $61,712 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science
Fall 2025: 1,786 applied, 1,708 admitted · admit GPA 3.57–4.15
|
Political Science and Government, General
100 graduates
|
96% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | $62,815 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 277 applied, 266 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
54 graduates
|
96.0% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $62,298 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 234 applied, 228 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
60 graduates
|
97.4% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $53,378 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 193 applied, 189 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
46 graduates
|
97.9% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $65,009 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 90 applied, 89 admitted
|
Political Science and Government, General
26 graduates
|
98.9% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $56,330 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Political Science/Government
Fall 2025: 20 applied, 20 admitted
transfer path only · freshmen enter as a pre-major
|
— | 100.0% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
37 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | $96,520 |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
77 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | $93,518 |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
International Relations and Affairs +1
112 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | $91,075 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International Relations and Affairs +2
255 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $84,866 |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
38 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | $75,954 |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
601 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $74,202 |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International Relations and Affairs +1
61 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | $72,441 |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
112 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | $72,375 |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International Relations and Affairs +1
71 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | $72,263 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
60 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $68,856 |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
29 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | $68,831 |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
10 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | $65,558 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
19 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $64,605 |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
28 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | $64,353 |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
14 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | $63,107 |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
15 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | $62,651 |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
97 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | $62,301 |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
28 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | $60,243 |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
7 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | $55,853 |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
14 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | $50,827 |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
39 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
25 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
18 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
17 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
13 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General +1
11 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
The Master's University and Seminary
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
8 graduates
|
— | 76% | $32,647 | $54,845 | — |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
7 graduates
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | — |
|
Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
International Relations and Affairs
6 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
5 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
5 graduates
|
— | — | $28,062 | — | — |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
3 graduates
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | — |
|
Simpson University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
3 graduates
|
— | — | $27,817 | — | — |
|
Woodbury University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
3 graduates
|
— | 73% | $33,692 | $58,010 | — |
|
Notre Dame de Namur University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
2 graduates
|
— | 42% | $41,008 | $49,404 | — |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Political Science and Government, General
1 graduate
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/political-science?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a political science applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A political science list is really a list of campuses, so it needs enough range that the same major is realistic at more than one of them. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359